We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic- First Rate Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #17 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic- First Rate Service”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Upon reputation I booked myself in for 2 nights for a refresh and rejuvenation and was absolutely delighted. My rate included valet parking and breakfast, and the valet parking was quick and convenient. Right from then through to the minute I left the service was first rate. Having stayed in numerous 5 star hotels throughout Europe this year, this one had the best service of them all.

The pool and bubble pool are fantastic and quiet, the gym is open 24 hours and really well equipped. Room service was really quick and although expensive, totally worth it. Breakfast was wonderful and the cleanliness and servicing of the rooms top notch. A 1 min walk from Federation square and 10 mins to Southbank I will be returning again when the bank balance allows it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you made the most of our unbeatable location and that you recognized the instinctive level of service that we strive to uphold at our hotel. Westin now offers a unique Gear Lending program, providing guests with the opportunity to hire our New Balance work out clothing and running shoes in your size for a small fee of $5. We look forward to welcoming you back. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,222
    497
    128
    51
    31
See reviews for
243
804
132
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Nice looking hotel in a good location; however, by North American luxury hotel standards it was far too expensive for what you get. A valet parking charge of at least $50 for a hotel guest is unheard of, but I was told that this is normal in Australia. (A Ritz or Four Seasons hotel in the U.S. or Canada rarely charges more than $35 for valet service and in some cases as little as $15 or even free.) Unfortunately, my most memorable experience at this hotel was my sleep - or lack of.

I have stayed in many dozens of hotels round the world that span the spectrum of standards, but I have never had a difficult time falling asleep due to being in an uncomfortable bed, but this is what happened at the Westin Melbourne. I even considered sleeping on the floor to avoid the extremely soft, unsupportive bed. And it wasn't just me, my girlfriend felt the same way. Fortunately, it was just one night, so it didn't matter too much. I understand that these beds are called "heavenly" beds and I did enjoy my sleep on one at the Westin Maui, but the one I had at this hotel was far from heavenly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thanks for sharing your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our central location. In regards to valet parking we are in line with many other hotels in the city. After 6pm you can self-park your car for the price of $10 overnight in the car park below the hotel. Apologies that you didn’t have a good night’s sleep. For your next stay the Westin signature Heavenly Bed is available in a firmer option, you just need to request this when making a booking. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne for a much more satisfying stay in every way. We do hope you will return. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect location in the heart of the city. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is stunning and extremely well maintained. Our new favourite hotel in Melbourne CBD. Didn't dine at the hotel but cocktails in the lobby lounge were lovely. We will be back.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Reviewer. We are very pleased to read that The Westin Melbourne is your new favourite hotel in Melbourne. Thank you for your feedback. During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues
(T& C’s apply) even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. Simply visit spg.com. We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne some time soon. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york ny usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Travelling for business and wish I could have stayed longer. Great location and such comfortable, well done rooms. Bell staff, desk and lobby bar staff were thoughtful and attentive. I enjoyed the selections for the breakfast and the service was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerioke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments, your feedback is valuable to us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the Westin Melbourne. Our converted Collins street address does place our guests amongst the city’s finest dinning and shopping precinct and Melbourne’s finest attractions. We are well known for our large and well appointed rooms with signature Westin features such as the Heavenly Bed (the name truly says it all). We will pass on your kind feedback to our associates. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne sometime soon. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Gorgeous hotel and excellent location. Room service is outstanding as everything about this hotel. Upgraded to a King room which is so much nicer. I stayed with my daughter and another family for a school dance trip. I love staying here so friendly and helpful. The restaurant is very expensive but lovely.

Room Tip: King Rooms are much nicer than standard ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doyletv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear reviewer. We are delighted to hear that you had such a fulfilling stay. Glad you enjoyed our very large and well appointed rooms with signature Westin features that enable us to offer our guests a rejuvenating stay each and every time. During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. Simply visit spg.com. We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne some time soon. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stay here quite frequently for business and have always found it extremely pleasant. Came down last weekend with my husband and another couple and stayed for two nights - really can't speak highly enough. Rooms were ready and next-door to each other as requested on arrival. Lovely service in the downstairs lobby. No trouble arranging a hire car which was delivered to us the next day and taken care of when we were finished with it. Requested a late checkout which was no problem at all - the lovely staff even asked if there was anything they could do for me as I was clearly not well on the Sunday. Fabulous breakfast in the restaurant, rooms perfectly made up and prepared, lovely deep bath. Most of all a fabulous position for a Melbourne weekend getaway. If I was going to be super-picky I would say that there was a bit of street noise as we were on L2, the lighting in the bathrooms is not great for make-up and the TV remote is a little slow. However these are minor inconveniences that you would find at most hotels and are more than made up for by the rest. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your feedback, it is very valuable to us. We are pleased you returned to The Westin Melbourne during your personal time. Our associates aim to deliver instinctive and personal service to all our guests. We will pass on your kind comments regarding breakfast to the chefs and team in Allegro. Sorry you heard some street noise as our windows are double glazed. We will look into the lighting in the bathrooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect, easy walking distance to pretty much anywhere you want to go.
As an SPG gold we were upgraded to a deluxe room, the view onto Swanston street is absolutely amazing. The staff are super friendly and the rooms are clean and extremely spacious.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, and could hear the protest march that was happening outside on one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maishirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel’s unbeatable Collins street address in the middle of Melbourne City and our high levels of service which the associates take pride in offering guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,347 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,048 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing