We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hardly heavenly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #18 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hardly heavenly”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Firstly, the Westin Melbourne is in a great location and service is mostly professional. But for what you pay, the room amenities are just ok. Certainly the third floor room I stayed in could hardly be classified as "heavenly". The heavenly bed bore more of a resemblance to a heavenly brick ... as did the pillow. The room deal came with Wifi, but I spent 15 minutes on the phone to the Westin's outsourced internet vendor trying to sort out laptop login issues while contending with language barriers and a poor phone connection. When you're trying to work, this is just sub-standard.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirazle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Reviewer.Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our unbeatable location and recognized the instinctive level of service we strive to uphold at our hotel. We are regretful you did not enjoy our heavenly bed however we do have a slection of pillows available through Service Express. We have contacted the third party service we have with our Wifi to understand what they issue was and to provide feedback on your experience for immediate improvements. We do hope we can welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    498
    128
    53
    31
See reviews for
245
810
132
503
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our 1 - night stay at this classy hotel was certainly not long enough and if we had a chance, we would extend our stay.
It's a 5 star all the way!
Very professional, fast and friendly check-in and check- out. Concierge service was also great and very welcoming.
Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the wall of the neighbouring building which we weren't too impressed with but after speaking with polite receptionist we were told that that's how it is with our deal. Anyway, we didn't make any fuss and we just pulled the drapes together and enjoyed "the great indoors".
Room was large and comfortable, lots of space, large warderobe with mirror doors, very comfortable bed, peaceful and quiet. Complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates were a bonus.
Nice bathroom, everything spotless clean. Couldn't find any slippers, in such 5 star hotel I would expect the slippers in every room.
Shopping is at your doorstep, walking distance to train station, trams, Crown Casino is a short walk away as well. So is the Art Center and Melbourne Aquarium.
Buffet breakfast was great, lots of variety of food, great selection and a good quality fresh food. Very good service indeed.
We can't wait to return for a longer stay and highly recommend this fantastic accommodation in the heart of Melbourne city.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a city view - it's more expensive but it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your uplifting review. It certainly sounds like you made the most of our enviable location, amongst all the best that Melbourne city has to offer. We are well known for our large and well appointed rooms and our signature Heavenly Bed provides a comfortable and revitalizing night’s sleep. Apologies that you could not locate the slippers which are located in the bottom draw of the wardrobe.
If you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Westin has been my favourite hotel to stay in Melbourne ever since it opened and I wanted my parents to experience luxury to the nth degree. When I booked, I made sure to advise that it was for them, to celebrate their 35th wedding anniversary, in the hope that they would perhaps get upgraded to a room with Swanston Street views. Within minutes of getting to their room, I get a call from my mother, advising that they had been upgraded to a corner suite! My parents were beyond thrilled and as this was their first stay, their first impressions were off the chart.

We had dinner for 6 at Allegro that night and the food was fantastic but the service was average which we all agreed was the only disappointment during this stay. We had made dinner reservations days before and specifically advised as this was a wedding anniversary celebration of hotel guests, if possible, could some sort of dessert/cake marking this occasion be provided as a lovely touch and a great Kodak moment. Unfortunately, not once was this acknowledged throughout the dinner (i.e. at the very least as we were being seated). After clearing our dinner plates, dessert/dessert menu or another (alcoholic) drink was even offered to anyone at the table. As a result of our experience, service at this restaurant could definitely improve.

The rooms in the suite were impeccable in cleanliness, luxurious and classy in decor, size and layout. And the views at night were just magnificent. Thank you so much Westin for the amazing upgrade and experience for my parents. You have set the bar high and my mum is already looking forward to their 36th anniversary hopefully at The Westin again :) Cheers Vanessa

Room Tip: be sure to advise if this stay is to mark a special occassion
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessasg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your uplifting review. We are pleased to learn your stay parents stay was so memorable for their wedding anniversary as 35 years is certainly a milestone to celebrate. We sincerely apologise for no recognition in Allegro as it appears this is not typical level of the service we offer at The Westin Melbourne and will investigate the situation further with our Director of Food & Beverage. At Westin, if we can personalize a stay, this is what we are here for. We look forward to welcoming your parents back for their special occasion next year. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel, the room was large, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was lovely. The location is right in the middle of town, easy access to Melbourne's tourist sites. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel when staying in Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your positive comments regarding your last visit to our hotel. We are delighted you made the most of our hotel’s brilliant location and the quiet spacious rooms together with the comfortable Westin Heavenly Bed.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was planning a business breakfast with overseas visitors so I checked out (solo) several top hotels.
For the class of this hotel (5*), I was extremely disappointed:
the variety of food was what I would expect from 3*
the staff were very busy polishing glasses which came from the kitchen dishwasher & were not paying much attention to the guests around them
No repeat business from me!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veetold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. We sincerely apologise for the disappointing experience you encountered. We would like to discuss and or connect with you further so may we request if you can contact our Director of Food and Beverage at your convenience however in the interim we will share your comments with our teams. We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The location is perfect, the staff consistently excellent, the decor is luxurious yet comfortable and the overall result is that The Westin Melbourne is one of my favourite hotels anywhere in the world.
I have stayed numerous times over the last few years and it has never disappointed. When my wife took our daughter to Melbourne for a reward weekend, I booked them into The Westin. The little extra efforts by the staff at The Westin helped to create a memorable time for them both.

Room Tip: Book a City View room for a view of Swanston Street and downtown Melbourne
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJR308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you and we are thrilled to be one of your favourite hotels in the world. We are pleased to provide a refreshing sanctuary in an unbeatable location. We are delighted we delivered instinctive service and that you had time to enjoy our spacious rooms and luxurious in room Westin features. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Melbourne. During your next stay, perhaps download our SPG App for easy booking and with our latest special offers. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I spent one night in Melbourne on business. As we were checking in together upon arrival I was asked if I was checking in too? We laughed. Our reservation was for two people surely this came up on the computer when he was asked his name? We had booked single room with a king size bed. The booking was confirmed and pre paid. We were told that this was not available so we were "upgraded" to a room with two double beds. We tried to decline as we would have preferred what we booked. This was not possible as apparently we needed to contact the hotel direct with the specific request of bed specification but we were told we were going to love the room. We tried again to ask for our original booking but that was unavailable. I asked if I could I look at the room before accepting. This was met with a blank stare. Feeling that we had lost already we were given a key and sent to the room. No one checked that we were happy with their choice. The beds were not turned down later and when we complained were told that we had to request this? Really????? The following morning we took a shower. The overhead shower did not work and the hand shower was broken and did not stay up on its rail. The double flush needed an iron man to work it. There was no bedside light next to the bed. There were not enough plugs to charge our phones and laptop. There was an request not to launder the sheets every day with the bonus of a $5 voucher which was frankly insulting relative to the cost of the room. When we complained about all these things the staff apologised but I did feel that they were really concerned. Really Great Westin this was shocking and quite spoilt our night away!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the check in experience. Your comments have been passed to the related departments however we invite you to contact our Director of Rooms when convenient. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again for a memorable stay for all the right reasons. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,479 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,187 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,654 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing