We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment near the art center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #61 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Trento (North Italy)
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice apartment near the art center”
Reviewed 24 March 2008

We were at Melbourne in the July 2007, precisely from 16th to 20th. The Southbank apartments are in the new area of Melbourne, 2 minutes by foot to the Art Center and the Museum of Modern Art, and 7 minutes from the old station in the center of the City. It's a very interesting complex of skyscrapers, near the higher skysc of the australia (and the southern emisphere). The city is great, the most european city in AussieLand.
We have a 2 bed aparment, on the 6th floor. The furniture was good, we had a big kitchen with all the electronic stuff, a dining room with a tv, two nice bedroom and a perfect bathroom. An excellent apartment for 4 people!
Our choice was on an apartment for the presence of a washing machine and an airdryer. The airdryer wasn't run. We call the assistence at the reception, and the day after we had the airdryer repaired and all of our clothes dried by the staff. I can say an excellent service.
The bed was bigger than the italian standard, and the dining room was very confortable.
At the last floor there's a pool complex, with a great pool, a sauna and an Jacuzzi; in the evening there's a great view of city lights!!!! And it's like swim in the sky, with the city behind, because the last floor is glassed. There's also a gym, for the athlets!
Near from the apartments there's a shopping complex, with resturant and shops (but not markets), there's only a small 7eleven market.
Overall a great choice!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    637
    257
    71
    30
See reviews for
542
346
33
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2008

We stayed for one night at the Pacific International Suites on Southbank. We are a family of two adults and two children. We were very happy with the Pacific International. The rooms are very spacious, especially the living area. The children enjoyed the view of the Exhibition Centre (which is lit up) and ferris wheel at night. The beds were very comfortable although the configuration of a queen bed in each room was not ideal with children. The bathrooms were also huge and the laundry facilities were excellent.

The swimming pool is on the top floor. It's a big pool with a small spa area. You can also get outside on the terrace and admire the views from both sides of the hotel.

The location was a little tricky to find (the street that we were told its on the corner of wasn't on our map and it's a busy road - try to get specific directions) but very handy for the Exhibition Centre or trams. It takes about 5 minutes to walk into the city. Parking is not great. There are two carparks but they both fill up. My husband managed to reverse our car into a wall trying to turn around - there's not a lot of space! Also at least one of the carparks was not secure with the garage door being open to the street.

But other than the parking situation we were very happy with the Pacific International and would definitely stay there again. We all loved Melbourne - it's a great family destination.

  • Liked — How spacious it was
  • Disliked — The rooms were a little dark
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwicmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinns Rocks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2008

We had a girls trip to Melbourne and found the location of this hotel fantastic. It was spacious, clean & modern.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No Balcony
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Racky1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2007

We had booked a family suite. It was more expensive than usual because on this weekend the Moto GP was on. My husband and myself and two of our children were staying here. We got a 2 bedroom suite. When we entered the room it smelt of smoke and some other "funkiness", we told the manager that someone had been smoking in the room and he sent someone up to "refresh" the room. The next morning, I went into my childrens room and found a CRACK PIPE on the floor under the bedside table. We were appalled as our kids could have played with this. Obviously the housekeeping staff were not as attentive as they should be. We took the CRACK PIPE to the manager and he offered us a free breakfast and gave us a bottle of wine, oh and said that next time we stayed there he would give us a good deal. NOT GOOD ENOUGH. The staff seemed very nice, but nothing would make up for the CRACK PIPE.....stay there again, only if hell froze over. OH and the buffet breakfast was crap too!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank mcmaggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2007

Our family (2 adults, 1 child & 1 baby) stayed at PI Appartments Southbank for 2 nights in a 1 bedroom appartment & we could not fault anything. Our appartment was clean (& I'm very fussy) and well furbished and we had no trouble with the staff. Our only problem was that a 1 b/room is a bit small when you try to fit in all of the baby gadgets you have with you when travelling with a 1 year old. ie pram, porta cot etc. Our older daughter slept on the sofa bed in the lounge which she thought was great since it meant she had foxtel at her fingertips!

We booked an aquarium package which included full b'fast(plenty of food available-no need for lunch), parking, a family ticket to Melb. Aquarium, a bottle of wine & popcorn in our room & 2hrs of playstation hire. It was great value at $229! I think they have this deal available until March 2008.

This is our second stay at PI (stayed here in 2006 and had a 1 b/room facing the Arts Centre, our then 8yr old loved watching the "spire" light up at night) and we will definately stay here again. It is in a great location if you are looking at spending time along Southbank and you are also just a short walk from the city centre.

To stock up on food etc there is a small supermarket on the same side of City Rd about 2 mins walk away,and a 7/11 across the street, very handy!

  • Liked — Location and value for money.
  • Disliked — Liked everything.
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank familyof4Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2007

upon arriving we were requested to pay a bond of $300 which was unbelievable..it was only costing us $245 for the room..not only that but the staff were extremely rude and forceful..very unwelcoming!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank travSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2006

We recently returned home from the Pacific International Apartments Southbank, Melbourne. The apartments are very nice, but the service was average. On arrival, the front desk person was friendly. We arrived at our allocated room and found a double, instead of the booked king size bed. On return to the front desk the person became curt and abrupt after I informed them of their mistake, and only changed the room after I produced a print out of the booking.
On our second day a foul smell came out of the air conditioning, which affected the entire floor, and took them hours to fix.
Also that day we returned from sight seeing to find the house keeping staff watching Gone With The Wind on our TV, they made a quick exit on our arrival.
Try and get a room that faces Fanning Street not City Road, there was way too much traffic noise on City Road even for my hearing impaired wife.
Our 1 Bedroom apartment cost us $170.00 a night including breakfast, which was a full breakfast buffet . We only found out by accident on our last morning that the staff would cook your eggs to order if you did not want the scrambled eggs from the buffet. All breakfast tables had white butchers paper on them, not something you would expect from a 4 and a half star establishment.
I don't think we will stay here again, there are plenty of other nice apartments in Melbourne.

Helpful?
9 Thank HarvCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#48 of 160 in Melbourne
872 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#52 of 160 in Melbourne
445 reviews
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#81 of 160 in Melbourne
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
1,086 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Property: Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Address: 31 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers spacious apartment-style accommodation in the heart of Melbourne's vibrant arts and entertainment district which includes the National Gallery of Victoria, the Arts Centre, Federation Square and the Botanical Gardens. Located within a quick stroll to the CBD, Mantra Southbank Melbourne is also within walking distance of most of the major sporting venues including both the MCG and Hisense Arena to the east; and Crown Casino and the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre to the west. Whether arriving by public transport or car the hotel is easily accessible! Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers one and two bedroom spacious, well-appointed apartments with modern amenities and most rooms boast stunning views of the city and nearby Melbourne Botanical Gardens. All rooms feature a lounge and dining area, Foxtel and digital channels including Fox Footy, fully-equipped kitchen with full-size cook top, oven, refrigerator and dishwasher, laundry with washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board, wireless internet access (charges apply), ISD/STD direct dial phones, air-conditioning, sound system with CD player, some rooms with an ipod dock, pay movies, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel offers excellent facilities for both leisure and corporate guests and is ideal for families. Mantra Southbank Melbourne facilities include a 15 metre indoor heated pool and spa, well appointed gym, Restaurant and Bar and Conference and Meeting facilities; which will accommodate between 20 and 60 delegates. Our Swan Lake room offers an outdoor area with spectacular city views. All-inclusive half-day, full-day and residential conference packages are available with the flexibility to tailor specific catering and audio-visual needs to suit all requirements. Mantra Southbank Melbourne is the perfect choice for your next Melbourne getaway. WHAT ARE WE CLOSE TO: * Victorian Arts Centre- 5 minute walk * Melbourne Concert Hall- 5 minute walk * Hammer Hall- 5 minute walk * Sidney Myer music bowl- 5 minute walk * National Gallery of Victoria- 5 minute walk * Australian Centre for moving images- 5 minute walk * Melbourne Aquarium- 10 minute walk * Botanical gardens- 5 minute walk * Crown Casino- 10 minute walk * Flinders St Station- 5 minute walk * Southern Cross Station- 15 minute walk * Federation Square- 5 minute walk * Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit & Golf Course- 20 minute walk * Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre- 10 minute walk * MCG - 15 minute walk * Rod Laver Arena, Olympic Park, Hisense Arena- 15 minute walk * Etihad Stadium- 25 minute walk * Southgate restaurants & boutiques, 5 minute walk * Tullamarine Airport - 40 minutes by road * Avalon airport- 1 hour by road * Free City Circle trams- 10 minute walk * Eureka tower- 5 minute walk * DFO South Wharf- 15 minute walk * Williamstown ferry- 5 minute walk * St Kilda- 15 minute by tram * St Kilda Beach- 15 minutes by tram * Luna park- 15 minute tram * Regent Theatre-15 minute walk * Lygon St- 15 minutes by tram ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Mantra Southbank Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing