We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good beds, no worries”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #61 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good beds, no worries”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have stayed here many times.... mainly due to the close proximity to southbank and the city. It is well priced, and all of the rooms I have stayed in have been fine. I normally stay in corner room, or double balcony room and these have been fine. They are probably a decade out of date, but nothing that is really bad. Great bathrooms, except in their smaller rooms where the shower is inside the bath (I hate this!!).

Overall, good hotel, reasonable price, good spot and I will stay here again and again on my trips to Melbourne just for those reasons.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Ben F,
Thank you for your review of Mantra Southbank Melbourne.
It's fantastic to hear that you have stayed with us many times before and the team and I hope to welcome you back many more times in the future. Our Corner Rooms you mentioned are spacious, open plan living and offer amazing views of the Arts Centre and surrounding areas (especially at night!).
Kind regards,
Karl Henry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    631
    257
    71
    30
See reviews for
536
341
33
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Booked a one bedroom apartment, was very spacious & had great kitchen facilities, room was clean and bed was comfy. The hotel pool & spa area was very nice, all the staff were very friendly and the buffet breakfast was YUM ! Would definitely stay there again. Good location too, just a short walk to central Southbank area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angesmiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear angesmiffy,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. It is great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, in particularly the friendly staff and the delicious hot buffet breakfast.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Henry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment (family trip). We wanted to be close to south bank. Easy walk from flinders street station. We took advice from trip advisor & booked a room higher in the building & away from city road. Had a great sleep. Fantastic views of the arts centre, MCG etc to the Dandenongs. Bathroom was a little dated. Service was first class.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G_J123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear G_J123321,
Thank you for your fantastic review! I am very happy to hear that the service provided by our staff was "First Class" and that you had a great family trip. We are constantly aiming to perfect the level of service delivered to our guests, and your comments are greatly appreciated.
We hope to welcome you and your family back next time you are in Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Karl Henry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

I got a 2 bedroom apartment. Good price for the location. Room is dated. Bath/shower area has mould. Towels smell weird. Breakfast is average, dinner was oily. Staffs are helpful and friendly. The first room we have was very noisy air conditioning sound and managed to get a room change. Rooms and living area are dark and dim at night (more than other hotels I have stayed in).
If you stay there, I recommend bringing your own bathroom products and towels.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Jade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Dear Jade C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review and provide us feedback of our hotel. I am disappointed to hear that you did not have a great Mantra experience with us. Your feedback has been invaluable and your comments have been passed onto our entire team. We have made a number of changes since your review including a number of delicious changes to our breakfast menu, towel replacements and very soon, a brand new product line of toiletries.
We hope we have the opportunity to invite you back one day soon. Please don't heistate to contact me directly at the hotel should you wish to do so.
Kind regards,
Karl Henry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
echuca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Ww arrived for a 3 nights stay. On arrival noticed that the room was dirty ie mould in the shower and on the floor, hair also in the shower and under the soap when I went to wash my hands.. There was a metal washer holding the toilet roll holder on. The washing machine door was broken (told reception and got told oh yeah thats been broken for a while you can still use it but). The staff friendly great location (until you go to sleep that is if your on the wrong side of the building). I could look past the mould and hair but it wasnt until I went to sleep in the lounge with the tv on that I was disgusted! The matress had blood on it. Went and told reception the lady seemed disgusted the manage didnt seem to care. The lady arranged a new matress she tje cleaning lady amd maintenence man were very nice and helpful. I also got moved to a higher quieter room which was very clean.the 1st not what I expect from mantra

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank jacandjilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear jacandjilly,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
My sincerest apologies for the number of issues you encountered during your stay. Regrettably, the beginning of your stay was not up to the Mantra standard that we strive to succeed here at Mantra Southbank Melbourne. I am very glad that the 2nd room that you were moved to was of a higher standard and that the hotel staff were helpful and prompt in addressing the issues that arose during your stay.
We would like to have the opportunity to invite you back to stay with us again.
Please don’t hesitate to contact me at karl.henry@mantra.com.au or the hotel directly.

Kind regards,
Karl Henry
Front Office Manager
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed in a one bedroom serviced apartment right by the riverside and Southbank's shops, restaurants, a short stroll over the bridge to the city. No particularly great views but location made it so easy to cruise around it more than made up for it. Apartment was fairly well equipped, spacious bedroom and bathroom, perfectly adequate kitchen and laundry, comfy bed and an average sized living area. Furnishing was fairly good, not fantastic, but clean and comfortable. Service from all staff was friendly, response was always quick and very helpful. Added bonus of spa and pool, all in all a great spot to see Melbourne from.
This hotel is also on the free shuttle from Southern Cross Station which quickly links with the airport shuttle so very easy to travel to and from, offering help with luggage, and directions at the airport.
Overall a good stay and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Depends what you require, some rooms have balconies, some have internal laundry. All our requests we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank April P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear April P,
Thank you for your review of Mantra Southbank Melbourne. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with the whole team. As you mentioned, one of the highlights of the hotel itself is our Indoor Heated Pool, Spa, Sauna and Gym on the top floor that provides stunning views of the city and an excellent place to relax after a long day of exploring everything Melbourne has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Henry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverstone, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had two 2 bedroom apartments which were clean and spacious. Beds were very comfortable. Part of the family used the pool facilities and were very happy. Breakfast in the restaurant was great and all of the staff were friendly, efficient and very obliging. The check-in staff were possibly the best I have encountered. The only noises we heard were from the corridor immediately outside our room, nothing at all from other rooms. We found the location to be very central to city shopping, football and the Casino and we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMantraSouthbank, Front Office Manager at Mantra Southbank Melbourne, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Glenn F,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is fantastic to hear that all of the staff particularly from our Restaurant and Front Office teams were the best you have ever encountered. At Mantra Southbank Melbourne, we pride ourselves as a team on providing all of our guests with exemplary customer service and continually working towards being the best.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Henry
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Quest Southbank Melbourne
#48 of 160 in Melbourne
867 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#51 of 160 in Melbourne
445 reviews
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#82 of 160 in Melbourne
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
1,085 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#33 of 160 in Melbourne
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Southbank Melbourne

Property: Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Address: 31 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#52 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers spacious apartment-style accommodation in the heart of Melbourne's vibrant arts and entertainment district which includes the National Gallery of Victoria, the Arts Centre, Federation Square and the Botanical Gardens. Located within a quick stroll to the CBD, Mantra Southbank Melbourne is also within walking distance of most of the major sporting venues including both the MCG and Hisense Arena to the east; and Crown Casino and the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre to the west. Whether arriving by public transport or car the hotel is easily accessible! Mantra Southbank Melbourne offers one and two bedroom spacious, well-appointed apartments with modern amenities and most rooms boast stunning views of the city and nearby Melbourne Botanical Gardens. All rooms feature a lounge and dining area, Foxtel and digital channels including Fox Footy, fully-equipped kitchen with full-size cook top, oven, refrigerator and dishwasher, laundry with washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board, wireless internet access (charges apply), ISD/STD direct dial phones, air-conditioning, sound system with CD player, some rooms with an ipod dock, pay movies, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel offers excellent facilities for both leisure and corporate guests and is ideal for families. Mantra Southbank Melbourne facilities include a 15 metre indoor heated pool and spa, well appointed gym, Restaurant and Bar and Conference and Meeting facilities; which will accommodate between 20 and 60 delegates. Our Swan Lake room offers an outdoor area with spectacular city views. All-inclusive half-day, full-day and residential conference packages are available with the flexibility to tailor specific catering and audio-visual needs to suit all requirements. Mantra Southbank Melbourne is the perfect choice for your next Melbourne getaway. WHAT ARE WE CLOSE TO: * Victorian Arts Centre- 5 minute walk * Melbourne Concert Hall- 5 minute walk * Hammer Hall- 5 minute walk * Sidney Myer music bowl- 5 minute walk * National Gallery of Victoria- 5 minute walk * Australian Centre for moving images- 5 minute walk * Melbourne Aquarium- 10 minute walk * Botanical gardens- 5 minute walk * Crown Casino- 10 minute walk * Flinders St Station- 5 minute walk * Southern Cross Station- 15 minute walk * Federation Square- 5 minute walk * Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit & Golf Course- 20 minute walk * Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre- 10 minute walk * MCG - 15 minute walk * Rod Laver Arena, Olympic Park, Hisense Arena- 15 minute walk * Etihad Stadium- 25 minute walk * Southgate restaurants & boutiques, 5 minute walk * Tullamarine Airport - 40 minutes by road * Avalon airport- 1 hour by road * Free City Circle trams- 10 minute walk * Eureka tower- 5 minute walk * DFO South Wharf- 15 minute walk * Williamstown ferry- 5 minute walk * St Kilda- 15 minute by tram * St Kilda Beach- 15 minutes by tram * Luna park- 15 minute tram * Regent Theatre-15 minute walk * Lygon St- 15 minutes by tram ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Southbank Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Mantra Southbank Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing