We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quay OK, but not for Business Travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #11 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quay OK, but not for Business Travelers”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I spent a few days in a one bedroom with a large balcony and the positives are
that this Apartment-Hotel is very centrally located with friendly staff and
rooms are spacious and clean. The kitchenette is also well equipped. That said,
this hotel is not a five star and has the following short comings.

A) No wireless in rooms -- so one is tethered to a desk and one cannot use Ipads
and the like. Given the exorbitant charge for internet one would think wireless
service would be standard..instead one has to do the prehistoric plug in of
cables.
B) Furniture and fittings are dated and resemble an Ikea showroom.
C) cordless phones would be a simple and useful addition particularly in the
larger rooms.
D) NO CNBC, CNN, and only about 10 channels - which is a bizarre omission and
when I complained the front desk was apologetic but did not seem to think that
this was an issue.
E) a lumpy, aging and overused mattress that reminded me of boarding school.
F) A tiny (literally three's a crowd) gym however it is reasonably well equipped
but a challenge to work out in given how small and cramped the space is.
G) the pool would have been attractive 10 years ago..but with broken tiles and
being unevenly lit..it is functional but needs some simple fixes.
H) Room service is avoidable - bad and overpriced food. My expensive club
sandwich was apparently pre prepared during the day and substituting white
bread with brown was a challenge this "five star hotels" kitchen could not meet.
And it was only 9.30 pm when I ordered.
F) curtains are badly designed and the little slivers of bright sunlight are
conducive to early morning rising...which after major jet-lag was most annoying.
G) would be useful to have a working desk and chair as the small dining table
and very erect chairs do not allow for a comfortable working environment.
H) it appears that concierge and reception are one and the same -- prompting
waits for service.

Overall...if you want space and a good location and are willing to compromise on
the above then stay here. This is a four star but ratings aside this hotel is
not conducive to a business visitors needs.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelHawkess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards we are reviewing options to install wireless internet in all suites and note your comments regarding the suite.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    279
    59
    11
    12
See reviews for
256
459
36
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Staff were very accommodating when the night before I rang and requested an early checkin. Upon arrival, they pushed the cleaning of the room forward and we waited only half an hour to be given our key - this is at 10.15am mind you when you aren't supposed to get in until 2pm. They didn't charge extra for this either (day use). This helpful, 'can do' attitude was repeated all the way through our stay, with hand delivered printing of business documents and speedy room service.

We also had continental breakfast complimentary every day and the food was lovely - great selection and freshly made.

LOVE the location - everything is close - casino, city shopping, train station, river, excellent restaurants etc. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the MCG don't have much of a view....but I think you pay more for river/city vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was a great choice.

The check in process was quick which was great given we arrived at midnight (24 / hr reception).

We were upgraded upon arrival which included free continental breakfast. The dining room was nice and good good quality.

The location was great near restaurants and the crown complex as well as an easy walk to pretty much everything.

The only criticism is that the shower was either boiling hot or freezing cold with no real steady medium.

We will return!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritime_Historian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

My wife and I had been at Quay West for 3 days and were booked in for a fourth night when we received advice that a family member has suffered a stroke and we needed to return to Brisbane immediately. It was early evening and our suite had been serviced but the reception staff waived the charge for that night - without asking - offered to contact our airline to change our reservation, had our bags picked up immediately, called us a cab and had us on our way in 15 minutes with best wishes. Thanks Quay West - I didn't think that such service still existed!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 629David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

The furnishings were the best of the Quay Wests we stayed in...more modern and luxurious. The location was also the best...just tucked behind the South Bank (just like London's south bank) so you walk a few hundred yards to be on the river and enjoying the ambiance, restaurants and views. Service was also excellent (just don't eat here...yuk!) It is also the most expensive, but given it's more 4 star than 3 and 5 star location, it's pretty reasonable. The suites also have stand out features like a corner bath (my 4 year old loved it); a very nice swimming pool; and little extras in the kitchen. The beds were the most comfortable with the best linen..much more like a 5 star. Pure Melbourne chic!
(Did I mention not to eat here?)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waltonwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.

We are sorry you did not enjoy the food we have no record of any concerns throughout your stay, however I will pass on your feedback to the chef. Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUstralia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Positives-
Good location close to lots of restaurants and a short walk to the city

Staff friendly

Good size rooms for longer stays

Negatives-
We stayed with a baby and received a midnight phone call from reception- walking the baby

The next day we phone reception to ask them not to phone the room- an hour later they phoned and woke the baby again!

The hotel ordered a driver to transfer us from airport to hotel. We asked for a baby seat but the car did not have one. Forcing us to drive with our 6 month old on our laps. We were later billed for the baby seat equipped taxi.

When We returned home I noticed that our credit card had been debited a further $300- 2 days after the end of our stay.

Bathroom in need of a refurb

Room Tip: Rooms above about floor 10 will have good views north over the surrounding buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Firstly, I would like to express my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at Quay West Suites Melbourne. I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations in particular reception contacting you and waking the baby.

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards so I appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor, as I will now be able to review your comments and suggestions with my Front Office team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband and I recently visited Melbourne to see Meatloaf and stayed in a Deluxe 1br Suite. From the moment we walked through the front doors we were most impressed, the staff were friendly and attentive and although we arrived early our room was ready so they were more than happy to let us check in. Our suite was absolutley perfect, it was very inviting and relaxing.

Fantastic location, and lovely accomodation - can't wait to return next month with my mum for a bit of retail therapy!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that you felt relaxed and pampered and you left with great memories. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,415 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,261 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
991 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Property: Quay West Suites Melbourne
Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing