We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #12 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at Quay West a couple of months ago (April), so apologies to users of this site for not writing a review sooner. Our party consisted of 4 adults and 2 children (4 and 5 years old). We booked a 2 bedroom apartment but were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a 3 bedroom deluxe, (I believe only 1 of 2 in the building). What a treat! The reception staff were extremely friendly and courteous and so too were all the other staff members we encountered during our stay. The views of Melbourne and the Yarra river were glorious. The beds were extremely comfortable and the decor and amenities were excellent!.

We would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to many of our friends!

Deb Ojumu, Melbourne

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skinimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It is nice to know that we provided the appropriate level of service throughout your stay; your comments will be shared with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Quay West Suites Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

This is not a cheap motel but you get value for the price due to the good condition of the rooms and excellent location. Bourke and Collins streets are a short stroll, the Arts Centre is next door and the Southbank stroll is just out the door. The rooms were quiet at night and the pool was fun for the kids. A nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thedriftingcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed 1 night in a 1 bedroom suite overlooking the river and city. The room was comfy and welcoming - just right (best night's sleep for a long time). The view was wonderful, specially as outside was cold, windy & rainy. We could sit in comfort & enjoy the amazing city scape, lights, water, all the constant movement outside, then just whip out when we felt like a walk. There was enough at South Bank to eat and do but it was an easy walk over any of the nearby bridges to the city. We enjoyed exploring the laneways there, then heading quickly back over the river when we got cold. We have gotten used to poor service in our home city of Brisbane so were delighted to find Quay West staff warm, helpful and professional. Absolutely stay there!

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and were well obliged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.

We look forward to welcoming back next time you visit Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

On the left bank with everything there you need. 10 Mins walk to the MCG and the Rod Laver Tennis stadium, great location.
Rooms are great, swiming pool not so clever and the sauna is a joke, but hey, cant have everthing. I have stopped here a number of times and is just the place.\ for work or holiday

Room Tip: ask for a Flinders view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciderman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at Quay West Suites Melbourne. we appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, as guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards to ensure we are proving our guests with what they want.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This is a very good Hotel suite at premium location by the Southgate at Melbourne’s South Bank. It is closed to all the attractions within short walking distance.
We had a one bedroom suite facing the MCG (Melbourne Cricket Ground) with a good view to the Art Centre. There were 3 small balconies around the Suite providing good open-air view of Melbourne. it was very well decorated and furnished to a high standard, there was a very well equipped Kitchen with a washer/dryer for the laundrette. Service was good and the staffs were friendly, helpful and provided prompt service especially the valet parking service.
The Southgate Food Court and shopping complex is right next door, so very convenient.
The breakfast was somewhat disappointing with very limited choice of fresh fruit and other items that you would normally expect for such high quality hotel, but the service was good, they were quiet happy to provide freshly made omelette for us.
We enjoyed the stay at the Quay West, it was very comfortable with very good service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leeds_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It is nice to know that we provided the appropriate level of service throughout your stay; your comments will be shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Quay West Suites Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This was a family weekend for my daughter's 40th. We had 2 suites. I booked them months ahead and was disappointed that they were not on the same floor. I had requested this, and had booked so far ahead, I could not see why it was not possible. The staff were great, very helpful, and our suites were huge, pretty good. We had great views, although far superior in one of the suites. The location was sujperb. We had dinner at Southgate and walked into the city the next morning.
We had been able to leave our car there, so this was great. I would recommend it for overseas visitors, as you would not need a car to see Melbourne city if you were staying here.
It was very expensive though, and this would certainly put me off booking there again.

Room Tip: Try to book a suite, as they are the best. Ours overlooked the river and city and views were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

What a nice place to stay in central Melbourne and so close to everything. There is a nice pool and sauna on the 5th floor. The room was comfortable and there are larger rooms/appartments for those with children or groups of friends. The room was also set up for eating in and getting your own breakfast. There is a 7 11 store around the corner for food stuff and a grog shop close by.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olie293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,836 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,430 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,850 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £128 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing