We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves its high rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #10 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Deserves its high rating”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Great, great location, very large suite complete with all facilities, including kitchen. Super breakfast in pleasant suroundings. Very helpful staff. What more could you want? Booked two nights but stayed four nights because we liked it so much. If I return to Melbourne this is where we will stay. Loved it! We stayed in 17 hotels during a month's visit to NZ and OZ. This one was one of the best.

Room Tip: Try and get a river view, may cost more though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-Suffolk_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    271
    58
    11
    11
See reviews for
251
448
36
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mudjimba, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed with my better 'alf for 3 nights in a one bedroom high floor apartment, breakfast included. Enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Great location for tram riding or foot slogging and an oasis to return to for recovery. Apartment clean comfortable and well set up and the staff friendly and helpful - especially when it came to rescuing my favourite shoes and saving them for "Cinderella" to collect the following week. When we next come for a city break to Melbourne Quay West will be the first hotel considered for a return visit.

Room Tip: High floors are quieter and have an interesting City Scape
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
From Cinderella and the team- we are pleased to learn that you found all our team at the Quay West to be friendly and professional. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone. I was also happy to know you enjoyed the view and our location.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed four nights in a one bedroom apartment. It had all one could wish for: decent sized kitchen, living room, bedroom, big bathroom with bath and separate shower stall, four (!) good sized closets. In the kitchen you will find a washer/dryer combo with detergent provided. Quay West is located on the south bank promenade, with a food court and several restaurants just around the corner. City center is a three minute walk across the bridge.
We found the apartment to be clean and comfortabel with a luxurious feel to it. Next time we come to Melbourne, we will not even bother to try and find another hotel to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for the lovely feedback- we love it!

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

We arrived very late (almost midnight) to the hotel and were greeted curbside by a member of the check-in team. He smiled, knew our name (perk of being the last family to check in for the day) took our luggage and headed directly to our room with it while we checked in at reception. The woman at the desk was also great (should have remembered names!) and got us checked in quickly and got our room service order placed for us before we even went upstairs. Cant begin to express how much that kind service meant to us after a very long 14+ hour flight! The room was truly perfect and the kids were so excited with the full kitchen, the dining area and separate living area. My husband and I loved the roomy, well appointed bedroom. The pull-out sofa bed was a good size for our 8 & 11 year old kids and they were happy once they each had separate blankets (no more, "she took all the blanket!" whining!!) room service was great and we are all addicted to the rosemary shoestring fries! We could have spent all our time enjoying the hotel but the location was so perfect we took the opportunity to explore Melbourne the next day. This wonderful hotel absolutely lived up to and exceeded every expectation and we are all looking forward to staying there again!!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Quay West Suites Melbourne.

It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here. I will let the chef know that you loved the shoestring fries and I am glad there no family arguments over the blanket on the sofa bed!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We have previously stayed at the Quay West suites and always enjoyed the visit.When we decided to visit Melbourne we thought we would stay at Quay West based on previous visits.
Unfortunately there were a few niggling issues this time - the a/c was extremely noise to the point that is was impossible to sleep with it on. This was most annoying since we were there for 4 days and Melbourne was in the middle of heatwave.
Housekeeping was not up to standard, one day we returned at 3pm thought we might have a siesta only to find that housekeeping had not arrived. Requested housekeeping politely to the front desk who immediately arranged for housekeeping. Housekeeping arrived made the bed replaced the towels and did a quick wipe around the bathroom. Very sloppy! Further I noticed the cakes of soap seem to be shrinking in size, really how much does a decent size cake of soap cost?The shower recess could do with some domestos since mould is visible in a few sections of the grout.
The location is brilliant with transport and restuarants all a short walk away.
Would we stay at Quay West again? The answer is yes even though they blotted their copy book this time. Hopefully these areas will be attended too before our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallymay4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Firstly, I would like to express my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at Quay West Suites Melbourne. I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations in particular our housekeeping standard during your stay.

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards so I appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor, as I will now be able to review your comments and suggestions with my Housekeeper.

We look forward to welcoming you back, and at such time trust we can improve and keep a "copy book" clean for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
263 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I sat down to write this review and realised I just couldn’t raise any passion for Quay West. It was absolutely fine. Brilliant situation on the Southbank. Easy walk to Federation Square and the lanes etc. Loads of restaurants nearby. Nice staff – didn’t put a foot wrong. It was … er…. yes…absolutely fine.
The apartments are OK. Nothing fancy but everything you need.
We considered splurging on The Langham but are glad we didn’t as we spent so much time outside enjoying this absolutely amazing city that it simply wouldn’t have been worth the extra.
We stayed three nights and enjoyed walking to and eating in Taxi and Rockpool both of which we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleetcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team, as they did not put a foot wrong! I am sure they will appreciate your comments

We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed here overnight in a 1 Bedroom. This place was one of the best places I have stayed in. Very clean and modern and a huge bathroom. All the staff were friendly and helpful.The hotel is close to transport and a short walk to the Crown complex. This will be my place of choice when staying in Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsmebarbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuayMel, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to Quay West Suites becoming your hotel of choice in the future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,246 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
2,170 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
1,464 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#26 of 158 in Melbourne
3,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Property: Quay West Suites Melbourne
Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing