We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #12 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here recently in a 3 bedroom suite and had a great time. The apartment was lovely and the views amazing. The location is very close to the city, just a very quick 5 minute walk over the bridge and you are at flinders station.

Certainly no shortage of food and drink in the immediate vicinity. From the huge food hall practically right next door, to the huge variations of restaurants and bars all in a short stroll along the river front.

The service was great. Not over the top in your face, but there whenever you wanted anything.

Washing powder even supplied in the apartments.

Thanks too Quay West for honouring the booking price mistakes on the website, that gave us such an amazing price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willtravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
I was very pleased to learn that you found all our team at the Quay West to be friendly and professional. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    283
    60
    11
    12
See reviews for
260
465
36
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Two night stay as had business very close at NGV and Fed Sq. Excellent location at top of south bank close to all the restaurants you could want. Spacious apartment, fully self contained with balcony. Although the view from mine was not 'special', was still nice to be able to sit out of the room. Breakfast fine, again a little on the upside dollarwise and there are most definitely cheaper alternatives around if you want to walk a little. Trams and Trains right next door. Front desk staff super efficient and pleasant. Will use again when in Melb.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels and you found thre location convienant. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for a week of opera-going in Melbourne. Perfect location right behind the Arts Centre, on the Yarra river waterfront and opposite Flinders Street Station. Even if you weren't going to the opera, this hotel is a fabulous choice for exploring Melbourne, cycling, shopping, eating, drinking or going to the Casino ( a 5 minute walk along the waterfront). Our one bedroom apartment with full kitchen and washer/dryer, marble bathroom, lounge and dining area was fantastic. So much more room than your conventional hotel room yet with all the trimmings of a 5 star hotel. Staff were very obliging and always smiling and polite. Will definitely stay here next trip to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Request the highest floor and most northerly aspect in your price category.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YMLSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the location and facilities.

We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here following recommendation from a friend, we enjoyed the comfortable Superior One-Bedroom Suite, plenty of space, functional kitchen, great bathroom and comfortable bed.
Reception staff were very helpful and accommodating.
The location allows an easy stroll to everything that Melbourne has to offer restaurants, bars, entertainment, public transport.
Room cleaners weren't aware that decaf isn't choice for everyone, although I am sure they will be made aware of this in the near future given we weren't the only ones asking for real coffee to be topped up.
Will happily return to Quay West on our next trip if price is competitive again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I will keep this review short.

The service was bad. As we checked in the couple next to us at the desk got a 'free upgrade; right in front of us and we didn't. Happy 6th wedding anniversary! Not!

We got to our room, there were 2 lights blown, the minibar was empty and we almost had to pay for that, the minibar also was missing the stated food.

We had asked for a cot we did not get one, we had to wait 2 hours for one to be brought up. When it was brought up it was just a portacot and it was given to us in its packaging not set up and no bedding. The baby ended up sleeping with us.

I am disgusted and very upset by the management of this hotel. Upon checkout the staff 'Miss K' was very rude to us and said it wasn't the hotels fault lights were blown and food was missing and there was a condom wrapper, that sometimes these 'little things go unnoticed'.

It was mostly clean apart from the condom wrapper that was on the bedroom floor.

I won't be going back again. I have written a letter to management, and we will see if they take it seriously or not, if they do I will edit this review to reflect that.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. No matter what room you ask for you will be put next to a amenities unit like we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DuchessRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your detailed review about your recent stay at Quay West Suites Melbourne.

It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay, on behalf of the team we woudl like to apologise. We do appreciate when guests tell us when our services are not the way they expect. as it provides us with an opportunity to improve.

We have touched base by telephone prior to this survey, and trust we can reoslve this situation. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Quay West Suites very soon where we can extend our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We lucked into this place. I was searching on line for a hotel close to Flinders Street station so that we could get to Flemington Racecourse conveniently on Melbourne Cup day. In prior years, we'd stayed at hotels some distance away and had experienced difficulty getting a cab. So, it was the location of this place that was the deciding factor. I booked 4 suites, 2 upgraded to city view to accommodate our guests. The rooms were reasonably priced considering the fabulous location. Service from check-in to departure was first class. The suites were large, well-designed and sunny. Bathrooms were fabulous: walk-in shower, large tub, large windows. The location was superb. Close to the station, right on the Yarra river, next to a convenient food court if any one wants a snack. We'll be back.
Only two minor downsides: the shower control in our suite was very sensitive, it was easy to scald oneself; the mattress was softer than I like but that's a matter of personal preference.

Room Tip: Spend the money for a view suite and request a high floor (11 and above).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allidoistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,479 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,289 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,032 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Property: Quay West Suites Melbourne
Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing