We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #12 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The Quay West Suites are perfectly located at the south bank, offering a lovely view of the Yarra river and bridges across it. Since this was our first time in Australia, we were not sure of what to expect, but this location made it easy for us to blend in and after day 1 we hardly felt like tourist! Great eating options at the nearby Southgate. The hotel staff were very friendly and courteous, the rooms were well furnished and clean. The self-contained kitchen was a bonus! Enjoyed the stay immensely and would love to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShubaKrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

659 - 665 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here recently in a 3 bedroom suite and had a great time. The apartment was lovely and the views amazing. The location is very close to the city, just a very quick 5 minute walk over the bridge and you are at flinders station.

Certainly no shortage of food and drink in the immediate vicinity. From the huge food hall practically right next door, to the huge variations of restaurants and bars all in a short stroll along the river front.

The service was great. Not over the top in your face, but there whenever you wanted anything.

Washing powder even supplied in the apartments.

Thanks too Quay West for honouring the booking price mistakes on the website, that gave us such an amazing price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willtravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

I was very pleased to learn that you found all our team at the Quay West to be friendly and professional. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank BWILL78
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Two night stay as had business very close at NGV and Fed Sq. Excellent location at top of south bank close to all the restaurants you could want. Spacious apartment, fully self contained with balcony. Although the view from mine was not 'special', was still nice to be able to sit out of the room. Breakfast fine, again a little on the upside dollarwise and there are most definitely cheaper alternatives around if you want to walk a little. Trams and Trains right next door. Front desk staff super efficient and pleasant. Will use again when in Melb.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels and you found thre location convienant. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for a week of opera-going in Melbourne. Perfect location right behind the Arts Centre, on the Yarra river waterfront and opposite Flinders Street Station. Even if you weren't going to the opera, this hotel is a fabulous choice for exploring Melbourne, cycling, shopping, eating, drinking or going to the Casino ( a 5 minute walk along the waterfront). Our one bedroom apartment with full kitchen and washer/dryer, marble bathroom, lounge and dining area was fantastic. So much more room than your conventional hotel room yet with all the trimmings of a 5 star hotel. Staff were very obliging and always smiling and polite. Will definitely stay here next trip to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Request the highest floor and most northerly aspect in your price category.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YMLSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the location and facilities.

We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here following recommendation from a friend, we enjoyed the comfortable Superior One-Bedroom Suite, plenty of space, functional kitchen, great bathroom and comfortable bed.
Reception staff were very helpful and accommodating.
The location allows an easy stroll to everything that Melbourne has to offer restaurants, bars, entertainment, public transport.
Room cleaners weren't aware that decaf isn't choice for everyone, although I am sure they will be made aware of this in the near future given we weren't the only ones asking for real coffee to be topped up.
Will happily return to Quay West on our next trip if price is competitive again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I will keep this review short.

The service was bad. As we checked in the couple next to us at the desk got a 'free upgrade; right in front of us and we didn't. Happy 6th wedding anniversary! Not!

We got to our room, there were 2 lights blown, the minibar was empty and we almost had to pay for that, the minibar also was missing the stated food.

We had asked for a cot we did not get one, we had to wait 2 hours for one to be brought up. When it was brought up it was just a portacot and it was given to us in its packaging not set up and no bedding. The baby ended up sleeping with us.

I am disgusted and very upset by the management of this hotel. Upon checkout the staff 'Miss K' was very rude to us and said it wasn't the hotels fault lights were blown and food was missing and there was a condom wrapper, that sometimes these 'little things go unnoticed'.

It was mostly clean apart from the condom wrapper that was on the bedroom floor.

I won't be going back again. I have written a letter to management, and we will see if they take it seriously or not, if they do I will edit this review to reflect that.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. No matter what room you ask for you will be put next to a amenities unit like we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DuchessRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for your detailed review about your recent stay at Quay West Suites Melbourne.

It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay, on behalf of the team we woudl like to apologise. We do appreciate when guests tell us when our services are not the way they expect. as it provides us with an opportunity to improve.

We have touched base by telephone prior to this survey, and trust we can reoslve this situation. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Quay West Suites very soon where we can extend our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,966 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,476 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,915 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
791 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £136 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing