We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in almost every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #12 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Check in went smoothly and we were in our one-bedroom apartment in no time. The room cost more than $400, but because we booked at the last minute due to my mother's funeral and that it was a long weekend and the tennis finals were on, that was our own problem. The apartment was excellent. Spacious and well appointed although the sofa was a bit uncomfortable. Bedroom was big and had a flat-screen TV. Bed was super big and super comfy and we used the sofa bed which was also surprisingly comfy. The thing I loved most about this place was the temperature control. Lo and behold a hotel that actually cools the room when you want it cool!!!!!! Needless to say the air-con worked brilliantly. Shower was good, but a bit of fiddling around to get the water to the right temperature. The location was great. We had a family dinner following my mother's funeral at Fatto and it was literally a 45-second walk from our room to the restaurant. We ordered breakfast to be delivered in the morning and it was OK, but nothing great. The hash browns were practically blocks of thickened grease. Check out was efficient the young woman who served me was friendly and professional. Would I stay here again? Yes, absolutely.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puntrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

611 - 617 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed for the first week of the Australian Open - and through a heat wave! We were not on a high floor, but had a great view across the river, the apartment was clean, modern and spotless and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay again and recommend to others

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gemini31_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and loved the location.Your comments will be shared with all of our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have travelled to Melbourne every year for the past 7 years to go to the tennis, and tried many CBD hotels. This was the first year we have stayed at Quay West and we will return. Service was fantastic, very spacious rooms, enjoyed the facilities of this hotel (gym, valet parking and buffet breakfast). 15th floor had great views of the MCG and Melbourne Park and it is in a great location, very close to trams to get to the tennis. A few tiny negatives: shower was small, and had mould growing on the door handle, sofa bed mattress was a bit thin and noisy, pillows were VERY soft (personally I like firmer pillows) and the buffet lacks choices for fussy eaters, and was not as good as others I've seen. However the small things such as complimentary newspaper daily, clean rooms, crisp bed linen, exceptional housekeeping service (we rang for more tea bags and they arrived within 3 minutes), and a great pool/spa and gym will most likely see us return in January 2015.

Room Tip: Higher floors for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashleee480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed here for one night on the 15th of jan, location is perfect, with lots of attractions/shops/restaurants within walking distance, and near public transport if you wish to go further. I live in melbourne, but often come down to the city to stay over night, and this is probably the best I have stayed in. The accommodation, a one bedroomed apartment, was exceptionally clean, with trendy, comfortable furnishings. The balcony was an added bonus. We stayed during the heatwave, and made full use of the lovely pool and spa. Will definately be returning here in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IB0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We wanted a place to stay near to the Rod Laver Arena and the hotel was GREAT.
Superb staff, great views, huge rooms and the best Air-con EVER during a 43 deg Heatwave.
Good WiFi and awesome Pool, the only fault was the horrendous House-brick 70's hotel scrambled egg and bacon boiling in a warmer at breakfast which went out of style and purpose 10 years ago , but do let that put you off , we had a bloody great time

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank mottyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and thought our service was "Fab"

It is nice to know that we provided the appropriate level of service throughout your stay; your comments will be shared with our team. Your comments regarding the breakfast buffet have been noted and apprceiate the feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel is well situated - walking distance to Federation Square, the tennis centre, the shops. Our suite was very clean and well equipped. We had an iconic view over the river to the CBD. Would definitely stay here again when we visit Melbourne

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruby091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Quay West Suites Melbourne. we appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor,. We are pleased you liked the location and look forward to welocming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Spent two nights in a river/city view room on the 12th floor, in a one bedroom apartment. Loved the location, great view across the Yarra and toward federation square. Good pool, sauna, spa. Apartment reasonable, comfortable bed and clean and tidy. Not 5 star property as furnishings/fitout is looking a little tired but very good value for money, would definately stay here again for location. Downside, the bar and cafe for evenings is pretty ordinary and the staff seem distracted possibly because they are infrequently used as there is so much on offer outside front door. Had breakfast in their cafe and that was good. Great location for holiday with family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MytimeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were really pleased to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that you loved out "awesome location"

Your comments are valuable and have been noted, we look forward to welcomign you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,769 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,412 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,813 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £131 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing