We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quay West Suites Melbourne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #10 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Mudjimba, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Value, Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

It was a pleasure to return to this hotel. We were three adults sharing a 10th floor 2 bedroom suite for a 3 night city break. The suite consisted of a king bedroom with river view and full jacuzzi bathroom en suite, plus a queen bedroom with full bathroom and kitchenette, the bedrooms linked together by a small entrance hall and a generous sitting/dining room with full kitchen including washer/drier. The balcony was small but comfortable enough for 3 of us to sit outside if we wished. It didn't have a view but this was clearly stated at booking. The suite was comfortably furnished with plenty of everything supplied.
We enjoyed our included buffet breakfast in the Jarrah Restaurant which is not large but pleasant and welcoming. Restaurant and Reception staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. The location would be hard to better, right on Southgate with all its' dining options etc, 5 minutes easy walk over the bridge to Flinders St and Federation Square.
Returning to an hotel can be disappointing, not so in this case. It might not be the 'flashiest' on the strip but has many advantages and will be at the top of our list when next we visit.

Room Tip: High of course river view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    268
    57
    11
    11
See reviews for
243
446
36
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We arrived early in the morning around 11am but our apartment was ready so with the efficient reception, we were checked-in and relaxing in our apartment in no time.

Admittedly the kitchen and bathroom in the apartment is a bit dated compared to other hotels in the vicinity but it was large and comfortable no less. Beautiful toiletries was an added bonus.

The best thing about the Quay West is its ultra-convenient location to restaurants, shopping and the CBD area.

Will definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EnE_loves_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you fund the apartment spacious and convienant.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here in November for my 40th birthday for 5 nights. Amazing location - right on Southbank, with everything close by. The apartments are lovely - although some are better than others. We have stayed here before and the apartment was nicer last time, but it still was lovely this time (just a little disappointing if I compared it). We did not pay for the upgraded view and I was sorry we did not - it would make a world of difference to look at the river and skyline, instead of buildings.

The staff are lovely, greeting us each time we went through the lobby. And I got a lovely card and some cookies as a welcome Happy Birthday, which was a lovely touch.

The apartment has everything you could need, with a well appointed kitchen, large fridge, awesome bathroom (with large shower and separate bath), great bedroom with heaps of cupboard space and a balcony with an outdoor setting. People have commented on the showers and they are right - you cannot regulate them (they are either freezing or hot) - but I can't imagine there is a lot they can do about this now.

Location is awesome - everything you need is at your finger tips - right on Southbank, just a walk across the Flinders Street Bridge to get into the city, there is an IGA and 7/11 behind on City Road.

I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. The location is faboulus and we are pleased that you also enjoyed the birthday gift!

We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle,nsw
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Nice big apartment - excellent location. Not as nice as a 5 star hotel like the langham or the westin but great for families.

We often stay here when visiting melbourne. Good gym although a little cramped with all the equipment.

There is a great wine bar located just op the hotels not so great bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geowyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barwon Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Check in went smoothly and we were in our one-bedroom apartment in no time. The room cost more than $400, but because we booked at the last minute due to my mother's funeral and that it was a long weekend and the tennis finals were on, that was our own problem. The apartment was excellent. Spacious and well appointed although the sofa was a bit uncomfortable. Bedroom was big and had a flat-screen TV. Bed was super big and super comfy and we used the sofa bed which was also surprisingly comfy. The thing I loved most about this place was the temperature control. Lo and behold a hotel that actually cools the room when you want it cool!!!!!! Needless to say the air-con worked brilliantly. Shower was good, but a bit of fiddling around to get the water to the right temperature. The location was great. We had a family dinner following my mother's funeral at Fatto and it was literally a 45-second walk from our room to the restaurant. We ordered breakfast to be delivered in the morning and it was OK, but nothing great. The hash browns were practically blocks of thickened grease. Check out was efficient the young woman who served me was friendly and professional. Would I stay here again? Yes, absolutely.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank puntrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that various members of our staff were more than helpful with any of your requests; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for the first week of the Australian Open - and through a heat wave! We were not on a high floor, but had a great view across the river, the apartment was clean, modern and spotless and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay again and recommend to others

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gemini31_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for staying at Quay West Suites Melbourne. We were delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay and loved the location.Your comments will be shared with all of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,162 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,600 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Property: Quay West Suites Melbourne
Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing