We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated and nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quay West Suites Melbourne
Ranked #11 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Over rated and nothing special”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stay in a lot of hotels and this one was more expensive than others but we have no idea why, The actual king room left alot to be desired , poor seating layout and an awful view from the balcony! Tv and movies are very hard to watch as the screen image is very odd and a most uncomfortable couch to sit on. Bath water / shower water luke warm . Plus side - bed was comfortable and roomy , room service and customer service excellent .

Room Tip: Make sure tou request a decent view , we were left looking directly onto peoples balconies and into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa-ph93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay or the view from your suite. The hotel has many different suite types available that we would be pleased to show you for your next stay. We have City River View Suites along with deluxe one bedroom suite overlooking the MCG and the Yarra River.

Please contact the hotel directly should you wish to discuss your stay further. We appreciate your comments and hope one day we can extend our hospitality once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    277
    59
    11
    12
See reviews for
256
458
36
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frenchs Forest, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed at the suites from Friday to Tuesday with my wife. Right from the start the staff were so friendly and efficient in everything they di. They made you feel very welcome and important. I stay at many many hotels around the world each year and this would have to be well into the top bracket.

The room was very clean efficient and comfortable. The location is fantastic. You can easily get to Southbank/ Casino. There are restaurants and a great pub at your doorstep. A quick walk across the bridge and you are in the heart of the CBD. I had a car and it was easy to head off in any direction.

I liked it so much I have booked in again next week to stay and am looking forward to it. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spj709Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Quay West Suites Melbourne.
It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed at Quay West Melbourne for three nights and for the price was disappointed.. The location and the staff were perfect but that is where it ends. The room smelt of bleach when you first entered, we discovered the smell is from the sheets and very hard to get to sleep with the chemical smell. The bathroom basin had a large old crack in it which I think is more indicative of the a one or two star property. The bathroom bin was old and rusted, looked very shabby. For some reason a decision had been made to place a door stop right in front of the toilet, you place your feet either side of it and it is unsightly. The shower water pressure was good but the screens have seen better. Over all I think it is incorrect to class this property as four and half stars.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maree1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am however sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The hotel is going to be undertaking a refurbishment of the kitchens and bathrooms in the next few months; however we appreciate your comments.

Whilst you have indicated you would not stay with us again we would value the opportunity to show you one of our refurbished suites next time you are in Melbourne. Please let us know when you are coming back and we can look after you.

Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel should you wish to discuss your stay further
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We (2 adults + 2 toddlers) have stayed here twice in the past six months. Both stays were for 5 nights and we were not disappointed either time.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and willing to go the extra mile to assist. The rooms are generous and well appointed apartments with cooking and laundry facilities. The finishes are not ultra modern but not dated either.

We stay in two bedroom apartments and both have had large private balconies with excellent views

In terms of location it's perfect ! Shops, restaurants and bars within easy walking distance ... The river at your doorstep ; a large park and kids playground nearby and easy access to trams or trains to explore further.

There is a reasonable fitness centre with some resistance machines and cardio equipment and a large very nice heated pool

The breakfast Buffett is standard and room service offers some quality meals from the restaurant. If you're travelling with children there is a food court below the hotel with a huge variety of cheaper food options.

We will definitely stay here again

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WhichWayNext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Quay West Suites Melbourne.
It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable for the family. The location is great for exploring the city.

Your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here. We look forward to welcoming you and thr family back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our short stay at quay west suites. Staff were welcoming and happily assisted with enquiries about city attractions. It was quiet and bed was comfortable. Heater in room was a bit loud. The coffees from the bar were cheap and delicious. Would recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
WeI appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed at Quay West Apartments for 2 nights to celebrate my hubbies birthday. Our accommodation was a River View Room which offered extensive views of the Yarra River and Melbourne CBD....lovely. The position was excellent as we could walk or catch public transport to anywhere we wanted to go.....Southbank, Federation Square, Melbourne Market, lanes and alleyways full of hidden a treasures, river cruises, the casino, any amount of shopping and the City Circle Tram etc. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming and prepared to go the extra mile to ensure everything was right for you. My only disappointment was that for the price we paid to stay here....our serviced apartment felt dated, dark & a bit pokey. It was clean and had obviously been recently painted and had newish soft furnishings but felt like it needed refreshing. There was also an underlying unpleasant odour in the corridor and room....possibly wafting up from the restaurants below and becoming trapped???? Overall a great stay in a fabulous location....with excellent views....and great staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a I river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie P, General Manager at Quay West Suites Melbourne, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Quay West Suites Melbourne.
It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable.We note your comments regarding the suite,we are currently reviewing refurbishment designs with the view to look at refurbishing the bathrooms and kitchens which will freshen our product.

We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,415 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,259 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
2,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
986 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Melbourne

Property: Quay West Suites Melbourne
Address: 26 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quay West Suites Melbourne is a 5 star apartment style hotel overlooking the Yarra River. Offering a choice of one, two or three bedroom guest accommodation, the hotel is ideal for business travellers, family holidays or a romantic getaway. Quay West Suites Melbourne provides easy access to the CBD and local attractions such as Federation Square, Royal Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino, Southgate Arts & Leisure Precinct, Melbourne Aquarium, fashion boutiques, restaurants and cafes. Newly refurbished mineral salt pool, steam room and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quay West Suites Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Hotel Melbourne
Quay West Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing