We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice serviced apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Southbank Melbourne
Ranked #52 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Quest is in a good spot in that it is quiet enough to sleep, but close enough to the river that good restaurants are only a short walk away. The staff were helpful, the room was very comfortable, neat and tidy, with a full kitchen.I requested a room on an upper floor and the staff arranged for this request. (Stayed 2 nights)

Room Tip: Get an upper level room, away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanCarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear AlanCarver,

Thanks for writing your review. It is nice to read that you liked the location of our property and comfort level of our apartments!

Also great to hear that you found our apartments to be neat and tidy.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

910 - 916 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We only stayed the 1 night in a 2 beedroom apartment $269 including parking, with 2 comfy queen beds apartment was surprisingly large with 2 bathrooms 2 tv's cooking facilities,washing machine and dryer ,dishwasher.They even let us park our car in early (12 midday) great central location will definately try to stay here again hopefully for the F1 next year..Only complaint was the staff behind the counter didnt seem to be to happy had that bored wish i was somewhere else look.might of just been having a bad day...

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartments are large suitable for 2 couples bed rooms are a fair distance apart and when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Mike L,

Thanks for writing your review, it is alway good to hear feedback about our property and staff.

Great to see that you were pleasantly surprised by the size and appointments of our 2 Bedroom apartments! And as they all have the 2nd bathroom they are perfectly suited to 2 couples!

Not so great to hear that the staff appeared a little weary, we will have to make sure they are at the perky best at all times!

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you and your friends again next year for the F1!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed 5 nights at a cost of $200 per night for a 1 bed room modern, clean and quiet apartment, which was within walking distance of Albert Park or 1 street over from the tram stop.
An IGA with a bottle shop across road which was open 0700hrs until 2300hrs.
This Quest is just perfect and does not induge in the usual price gouging that normaly happens around Melbourne at F1 time.
Good sleep, very dark room, quiet and clean, with a full size, washing machine and dryer, which is a boost for flying light and not carrying a lot of clothes.
Couple of very good cafes downstairs for the breakfast munchies before the long day.
Will defo be back again for any more trips to Melbourne.
No complaints

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaunScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear ShaunScotland,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review, and we are especially happy to read that you were obviously very happy with the property.

Glad you liked the location and convenience offered by our property and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed in a 2br unit for just one night while attending a concert at AAMI Park. In terms of location this place is perfect if you are going to any of the nearby venues (Hamer Hall, the G, Rod Laver) AAMI Park was a safe and pleasant 45 min walk away. Our unit was very spacious and clean, the beds were huge and really comfortable. I really liked the fact that you could open a window for some fresh air, this is really rare in high rise units. Only criticism - the sheer curtains were ripped in many places and really are ready to be replaced. The staff were lovely, the foyer area is immaculate and the $20 parking is a bargain. Also if you are coming in from the Westgate / Western suburbs it is so quick and easy to get to. Would absolutely stay here again. Great value and you have to admire the fact that management respond to every review - that tells me they really listen and are striving to do their best!

BTW there is a lovely little place just a few doors down for brekky (I think it's called Cafe Celina) - one of the nicest omelettes I've ever had.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrs_smith1368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear mrssmith1368,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and it is great to hear such positive comments, especially about our location and the spaciousness of our apartments.

With regards to your feedback about our sheer curtains, this is an area we are looking at targeting this year in our continual improvement program, so I will be sure to add your feedback in the report.

We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed the one night, Location was great, & friendly service. Room was clean & spacious, bed was uncomfortable, felt like two singles pushed together with a large lump in the middle of the bed. Car parking is an extra $20 & a little difficult to navigate around but handy all the same. Be aware of the Bond Hold, $300 bond is a lot of money when your already travelling and it takes a few days to come back into your account.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jaemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Jaemae,

Thank you for sharing your feedback, we always appreciate getting all feedback. I am happy to hear that you considered our apartments to be spacious and clean and that the property was in a great location.

We have actually just made plans to update quite a few of our beds. The problem you describe is the down side to having king beds that can be split into singles, and the older style can be noticeable. By replacing these with newer beds this year, we should be able to address this issue.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here for eight days in mid-December. The location was perfect for attending the opera (two minute walk) and the art gallery was just as close. It's very conveniently located above the Southbank facility which has a wide choice of food at reasonable prices and is just across the river from the train station/Federation Square.

We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment and were happy with the beds, furniture and cleanliness. The only complaint we had was that the showers were far too hot - it was virtually impossible to make them cold enough not to burn you. Also, after reading a review that said how difficult it was to turn the TV on, we tried it out of curiosity and had no luck either - fortunately we didn't actually want to watch it. The air con was complicated but at least had a manual - with the dishwasher and washing machine a manual would have been helpful but there weren't any. Overall, though, we were happy and would return. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Tip: they charge for wifi, but the Southbank complex just downstairs has wifi which is fast and free.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KiwiKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear KiwiKitten,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am very glad to read that you the location was convenient and that the room was well appointed and clean.

I do apologise that you could not find a manual for some of the major appliances, there should have been one in the compendium for each major appliance. I will get our Housekeeping team to double check that all rooms have the appropriate manuals.

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you require accommodation in Melbourne.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed for 1 night and chose for the ease to get to Southbank, which is just a short, easy walk. The check in was smooth, car parking required a few instructions, but definitely needed when you actually do it. Room was clean and well appointed, though a full length mirror somewhere would have been good (all ladies like to check out their outfit before they leave for dinner). Very warm during our stay, and fortunately aircon worked a treat. Had coffee on the balcony, which was enjoyable. Security is good with key swipe to get in,for the lifts and for the carpark. Quiet area that feels safe and loved the tree lined streets on the walk to Southbank. Had a breakfast voucher for LeftBank Restaurant which provided us with orange juice, tea and a choice from a Quest menu. Hubby had poached eggs on toast and I had granola with yoghurt. Yum from both of us. Ordered extra toast for $8.50 to extend out enjoyment of reading the papers and sipping our pots of tea. No complaints as enjoyed the whole experience. We intend to revisit.

Room Tip: Take note of what level your car is parked on as we "misplaced" ours. The level you park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy L, General Manager at Quest Southbank Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Anne,

Yet another great review and a pleasure to read that you found us to be clean and well appointed.

Also nice to read to you mentioned liking our location and the ease of getting to Southbank!

We can't wait to welcome yourself and your hubby back next time you need a night away from home!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#55 of 161 in Melbourne
2,021 reviews
Southbank
Oaks Southbank
Oaks Southbank
#34 of 161 in Melbourne
329 reviews
Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
Oaks WRAP on Southbank
#47 of 161 in Melbourne
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
1,171 reviews
Southbank
Quest on Dorcas
Quest on Dorcas
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Southbank Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Southbank Melbourne

Address: 16 Kavanagh St | Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £100 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Southbank Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything is at your doorstep - only moments from Southbank Promenade and its famous Restaurants, The Arts Centre, Melbourne Convention Centre, Crown Entertainment complex and Melbourne's CBD, Quest Southbank provides 4.5 star spacious and modern apartments in a quiet location for you to relax and enjoy after your busy day.Our prime location provides easy access to public transport - Trains/ Trams, City Link tollway as well as the MCG, Tennis Centre and CBD/Federation Square. Complimentary Wi-Fi powered by a high speed NBN line, 40inch LED TV's and Foxtel/ Cable TV is available in all apartments. Quest Southbank provides our guests a place to work or entertain, space for the family and to relax - all our apartmnets are non smoking.We also offer a range of Executive Apartments - two and three bedroom executive apartments provide more space internally, superior fitout and views over either the City, the Bay or the Scenic Kings Domain gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quest Southbank Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Southbank Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing