We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic apartment handy for transport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed at these apartments Dec/Jan and they are certainly handy for transport links with train station just down main road-5-6 mins walk or catch tram just out on main street. It is only 2 train stops from Flinders Street and we bought 7 day pass which was good value as could get on and off whatever transport we liked. Apartments very basic expert no frills at all but good basic kitchen facilities just little tired in places with bathroom needing a little attention. Servicing of apartment was good. Washing machine in basement to use just need right change as it takes 3 $2 coins. Balcony bit of laugh a s it is tiny with nothing on it. Was lovely cool lapartment in summer but can see how would be quite cool in winter as overlooked by trees, but in the heat that was fine. Lots of restaurants within 5-20 mins walk and enjoyed few of them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blenheim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Blenheim1,
Thank you for your review of Punthill South Yarra Davis Avenue.
This 3-star property is ideally situated in South Yarra as you mentioned, with trams, trains, shops, cafes and restaurants just a couple of minute's walk from the property. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

This was our first stay in Australia which was not as good as Meriton properties in BRisbane and Sydney but was decent enough for our stay . Its a small place and little away from main city area. it was difficult to find help all the time as it was running understaff. The rooms are bit rundown but was ok for us. They gave us free parking which was advantage . Overall was ok experience , dont go with high expectation . Its definately not a 4 star but 3 star stuff.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank DR_APAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear DR_APAC,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill South Yarra Davis Ave.
These serviced apartments are the 3-star property of the Punthill Apartment Hotel group, providing an alternative for those guests on a lower budget but who still need a central location.
On your next visit to Melbourne, you may like to consider staying at our 4.5 star apartment hotel in South Yarra - Punthill South Yarra Grand - which is located only a 5-minute walk from our Davis Avenue property, and has a range of studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom apartments, as well as facilities & services including indoor spa, gymnasium and 24-hour reception.
We hope to welcome you back to Punthill Apartment Hotels in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

We were given a 1 Bedroom apartment it was small and cosy however we were on the top floor so there were alot of steps to climb. Airconditioner in the room was great kitchen incl utensils etc so well equiped, the bonus for my partner and i were the tram and trains were not far at all to walk so we didnt need to hire a car staff were friendly and helpful, and you need 3x $1.00 coins to operate the washing machine and 2x $1.00 coins to operate the dryer. South yarra is a beautiful area and so much great eating and shopping i would highly recommend the prahran markets and chapel street for shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bacp2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Dear bacp2012,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Punthill South Yarra Davis Avenue, and explored all of the sights and sounds that South Yarra has to offer which are only a stone's throw from our serviced apartments.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Stayed here for a work function so didn't have any choice and can't recommend it. The location is good, in a tree-lined street off Toorak Road, near shops and cafes but it resembles a set of very old blocks of units that have had cheap renovations inside.

If money is tight and you have low expectations then it might suit you but don't arrive here expecting the 3.5 stars they advertise.

Room Tip: I'd stay at the nearby Quality Inn if I returned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Chris M

We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent stay at Punthill South Yarra.

Punthill South Yarra Davis Ave is the 3.5 star budget option we have within our portfolio of 13 hotels. The remainder of our locations are generally classified as 4.5 star.

We price this property accordingly and the overwhelming feedback we normally receive compliments our overall value for money offering and excellent location.

Next time you are in Melbourne please contact us and hopefully we can recommend another Punthill Apartment Hotel which may suit your expectations more specifically.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed at Punthill South Yarra for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon to Australia. This is a great location to explore Melbourne. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood yet South Yarra station and the tram line to the city centre are both just around the corner and Chapel street with all its great restaurants and shops a 5min walk away.

The apartment interior is modern and clean. The bathrooms could use a little updating but works perfectly fine. The outside of the building lacks charm but the site does have a beautiful lush garden. We visited in September and found our groundfloor corner apartment VERY cold. When stepping out in the morning it was actually warmer outside the apartment than inside! Luckily extra blankets were provided but getting dressed in the cold was less pleasant. Also we found the apartment very noisy. In the evening we could hear our upstairs neighbour's activities so well (even with our television on) that you could even hear him/her chopping vegetables! Then we are not even mentioned hearing him/her walking around, talking on the phone or television noises.

The nearest (big) supermarket is a 10 - 15 walk on Chapel street but we would recommend having breakfast and dinner in one of the many restaurants and cafe's on Toorak and Chapel streets.

This is a great location and if you don't mind being a little cold in winter months or hearing your neighbour's every movement, then I would highly recommend this accommodation to explore Melbourne and the surrounding area. There is free parking available behind the apartment buildings.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phia_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I stayed at Punt Hill South Yarra on Davis Street for 5 nights over last weekend. I often stay in serviced apartments in Melbourne and I found these to be the best ones I have in yet! I stayed in the studio apartment which was clean and spacious, my window overlooked the tree lined street. Bathroom was a good size and there were plenty of heating options with a heater, spare blankets and electric blankets.

Location could not have been better Davis Street is right in the middle of Punt Road and Toorak Road, the train is only a few minutes walk as is Chapel Street with access to trams on both Chapel Street and Toorak Road. There are buses along Punt Road. There are plenty of restaurants on Toorak Road most of which are opened late! It was a good location if you are going to the MCG or Etihad Stadium and want to avoid traffic as Richmond is one stop on the train and Southern Cross only a 5-10 minute ride.

All up I really enjoyed my stay here the staff were friendly and obliging, and more then happy to assist. The rooms were comfortable and were serviced regularly and the full kitchen facilities in the apartments were a great bonus!

No negatives at all! The only thing I would suggest if you are going to bring a heavy bag to request a ground floor unit, as there is no lift access.

I will be staying here again when I am in Melbourne next year!!

Room Tip: Studio did not have a bath only a shower, Studio had a gorgeous street outlook, Some road noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Astrogirl_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't have made a better choice. As there are a limited number of characters available to write a review I will use bullet points. Before continuing on with the review, I must make special mention of how warm the room felt...literally. It was about 5degrees outside and to come into a warm room was a beautiful touch. Simple, yet effective.

1. I arrived late and as previously advised, reception was closed when we got in. However there were clear instructions to call the main office who then gave me instructions as to open the key safe where my welcome pack was. Simple process and up to our room we went.

2. We stayed in a One Bedroom refurbished room. In the first part is the living area and the kitchen. The kitchen is fully stocked with all the pots, pans, utensils, cutlery and cups that you will need. Full stove/oven and mini fridge to fit all your bottles.

3. The bedroom is separated from the living room with a moving/folding door. Clean bed with reading lights, bedside tables and a wardrobe. the bedding is clean, trendy and comfortable. The only feedbak that I would give is "if" you were travelling with a third person, they would need to go through your room to get to the bathroom. Not a bigge.

4. Bathroom is clearly older style, but appears to have been re-tiled/refurbished. It has a full bath with a shower on top. The Toilet is also in this room. The only feedback that I can give is that the windows in the bathroom are always open (security windows) which is likely to facilitate ventilation of the bathroom. However it can get a bit chilly after your shower :)

5. Building is an older building, but well looked after.I saw the resident managers raking up leaves every morning, even though leaving them would have looked ok too, you can see how much care the managers take in their property.

Location
A skip jump and a hop to Toorak Rd
Literally minutes to Sth Yarra Train Station
A short and beautiful walk to Chapel Street

Room Tip: No lifts, and have three levels....Your choice.....Top with a nice leafy view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WC1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#87 of 161 in Melbourne
346 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#108 of 161 in Melbourne
390 reviews
Apartments of South Yarra
#46 of 153 in Melbourne
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darling Apartments South Yarra
#35 of 153 in Melbourne
67 reviews
Central Business District
Apartments Of Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments

Address: 44 Davis Ave | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 153 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: £57 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing