We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend in Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Weekend in Melbourne”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Eventually arrived at midnight after a couple of delays with flight from Sydney. Check-in was handled by remote buzzer at reception. Walked up the stairs to our apartment to top floor. Was not getting a good impression from the outside appearance and when we got into our apartment was somewhat underwhelmed, not what we expected from website. However it had heating and once the room warmed and we settled in it got better. Bed large and comfortable, had the best sleep in ages. Full kitchen all kitted out and in the fridge the smallest container of milk but we made do. Bathroom was a bit outdated but shower was good. Hot water is in limited supply so do not dawdle if there are more than one of you. Unit was very clean. Perfectly situated in quiet street our views were over the treetops to the west. Located close to South Yarra train station, trams to city. Chapel Street 5 mins away with trams to Prahran and St Kilda and North Richmond. IGA just down the road for food and liquor. Great coffee and brekkie at Republic. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 27 top floor good views. But you must be able to do steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightfill51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear nightfill51,
Thank you for your review of Punthill South Yarra Davis Avenue.
What we aim to provide is a 3-star apartment in a perfect location. As you say, the apartment is comfortable, and beautifully clean, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the area and had a good stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    55
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
23
59
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

44 Davis Avenue has been my base in Melbourne for close to 10 years now and I will keep going back so long as it remains in business. There has always been a warm welcome at this Punthill location, it's convenient to the #8 Toorak tram and South Yarra train station, and while not luxurious, the rooms offer all the amenities I need, including ample cooking facilities.
Only thing I don't like is the fee for internet access so I make sure I have my own.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davian40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Davian40,
Thank you for your review of Punthill South Yarra Davis Avenue.
We are so delighted that whenever you come to Melbourne you choose to stay at Punthill, and we thank you for your repeat custom. It is fantastic to know that these South Yarra serviced apartments continue to meet your expectations each time you stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timaru
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here April 25th until May 4th 2014. Room #20. Room was clean and well appointed with kitchen facilities. Bed large and comfortable, sheets changed twice, house keeping every third day. Laundry available down stairs. Although advertised as free, wi-fi is not available unless paid for.Sound proofing between rooms is poor. Over all it is very handy to South Yarra station, tram 8 on street, both a short walk. Plenty of shops, restaurants in close proximity. A good base for sight seeing around Melbourne and out lying areas.Office staff friendly and helpful, we arrived on a early flight from Auckland and were allowed to leave our bags in room until it was serviced. Would stay again,cheaper than other accomodation in area. Recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for South side room, make sure it has a heat pump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Kayesey,
Thank you for your comments regarding Punthill South Yarra Davis Avenue.
We are delighted that you had a good stay and as you say, we aim to provide well appointed, friendly accommodation at really moderate rates. We are located in a fantastic position in leafy South Yarra, which is great base from which to explore all of Melbourne's offerings as you did. We do sometimes offer package deals which include wifi. Next time you stay, please contact our General Manager - Tania Sreco - on 03 9916 8888, and Tania will arrange free internet for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

If you want to stay outside of the CBD, Punthill Apartments on Davis Ave is a great location. The tram and train were just a short walk away and lots of great restaurants and cafes and the shops on Chapel Street are super easy to find and walk to.

My apartment was definitely on the large size with a massive kitchen with a proper stove. However, the bathroom, while clean, was a little on the small size. As I had no intention of cooking I wish this had been reversed.

I chose this place because I had a car and the free parking was super convenient as parking around South Yarra is a total nightmare and all the streets are on one hour limits etc.

My only complaint, and it's a big one, is the bed. It was clearly so old and lumpy I felt like I was staying at a backpackers hostel. It said a "queen" bed, but really it was just two single beds shoved together with a queen sheet over. Clearly it needs an upgrade, but as this place wasn't too expensive, you get what you pay for. It was just really disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollybox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear lollybox,
Great to hear that you enjoyed the location of Punthill South Yarra Davis Avenue; we agree that South Yarra is a vibrant area and a great alternative to the city centre of Melbourne without being too far away.
We will immediately check the bed in this apartment. It is common practice these days to use what is referred to as 'split king' beds. The beds should be firmly zipped together and topped with a cushioned topper and should be extremely comfortable. We do apologise that this was certainly not the case in your instance.
We do hope to welcome you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I am currently at these apartments and have spent the last 7 nights here. I have rated a very good mainly based on the location. It is just off toorak road, South yarra which is a fantastic location if you wish to stay a little out of the city. I think it is a much cooler location than melb CBD.
On the doorstep you have an abundance of eating options from takeaway, casual dining to upmarket resturants. There is also loads of practical things along toorak road like pharmacies, small supermarkets, post office, fashion stores, wines shops and much more! it is all there.
The number 8 tram runs along toorak road to melb CBD and stop is a 3 minute walk from apartment. It takes about 10 min approx on tram to get to federation square/collins st in the city so very easy. A major train station is also about 3 minutes walk.
The apartment itself is comfortable and a decent amout of space for 1 or 2 people. Basic kitchen facilites. very small bathroom but ok. Tiny wardrobe to hand clothing so that has been annoying.
There are no washing facilities for clothing so that is a pain for longer stays. But there is a balcony on upper floors and a clothes rack for handwashing.
They say they are serviced apartments. Bare in mind this is only every 3rd day and is only rubbish removal, bed making,fresh towels. It does not extend to washing dishes.
Internet has a charge $3 per hour and can be slow. car parking is free at the back. Entry through a tight laneway off Davis street.

Overall i would recommend this place if you don't want to spend a lot but want a great area to stay in out of CBD and want to go to great cafes/resturants all within a short walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsygirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear gypsygirl_8,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill South Yarra Davis Avenue.
We agree that South Yarra is a fantastic alternative location to the city centre; many guests staying at either of our South Yarra properties for the first time are impressed with what South Yarra has to offer!
Punthill South Yarra Davis Avenue is our 3 star property and whilst it is an older building, our aim is to provide clean and comfortable accommodation at affordable prices. Room servicing includes bed-making, change of towels as required, rubbish removal, replenishment of tea, coffee and sugar sachets, vacuuming and general tidy up. There are certainly washing machines and tumble-dryers provided in the guest laundry.
We are pleased that overall you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Davis Avenue is a quiet street, but is only a short walking distance to the route 8 tram and a short walking distance to Sth Yarra Station. You have a choice of the tram to the city or a quick trip by train. The apartments are small but are nice and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTT0138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear PTT0138,
Thank you for your review of Punthill South Yarra Davis Avenue.
We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

So close to eateries and shops on Toorak Road. Tram stops so close for journeys into Melbourne city, easy walk to train station. Davis Street is lined with oak trees - very picturesque. We had a ground floor studio with courtyard it was clean and tidy - the kitchen and bathroom needed updating which I believe they in the process of doing. The staff were extremely helpful could not fault them - excellent. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Robyn R,
Thank you for your review of Punthill South Yarra Davis Avenue.
We are currently renovating one apartment as a prototype and will thereafter be completing all studio apartments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
0.2 mi away
Punthill South Yarra Grand
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#69 of 158 in Melbourne
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra
0.2 mi away
Apartments of South Yarra
Apartments of South Yarra
#35 of 132 in Melbourne
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks South Yarra
Oaks South Yarra
#25 of 132 in Melbourne
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Darling Apartments South Yarra
Darling Apartments South Yarra
#34 of 132 in Melbourne
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
District South Yarra
District South Yarra
#4 of 26 in Yarra
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments

Property: Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments
Address: 44 Davis Ave | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punthill South Yarra Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing