We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night in como”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #22 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We only stayed for a night, but had a great experience.
The decor of the hotel and room was very trendy. Rooms were clean and hotel staff service was excellent.

We used the indoor pool and it was clean and perfect for a hot summer day cool down.
room was well appointed with all the basics. We liked the little rubber duck gift as well.

We stayed on new years eve, so the rates were higher than normal. Still good value and we will return. The hotel was close to shops and good restaurants in south yarra.

If we could change one thing, it would be that the beds were not the most comfortable we have slept on - they could be a bit old.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ_NZ_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Guest,

It is fantastic to receive your feedback about The Como. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent family visit with us.

You certainly took advantage of our location and had a busy time exploring the local surrounds.

It is a pleasure to learnt that you slept well and enjoyed the service provided by the team. Your comments will certainly be passed on and will be appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.


Sincerely,


Anne Marie Lennon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

Our small family of three (1 x 11yo son) recently had three wonderful nights at the Como. The location is fantastic with direct access to the tram line that goes straight along fabulous Chapel St all the way to St Kilda...in the other direction, a short trip to the shopping mecca of Bridge Rd..........husband and son made the short trip to the MCG. Up Toorak Rd on the #8 takes you directly to the CBD. The bedding and pillows were great and made for lovely, luxurious sleeptime experiences. The suite was enormous, perfectly quiet - couldn't hear any outside noises at all, just what you need after very busy days out and about doing holiday things! The smiling and ever friendly staff set the tone for a wonderful visit to Melbourne. Well done Como! Love to return for longer next time.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony overlook garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozfamilyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Guest,

It is fantastic to receive your feedback about The Como. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent family visit with us.

You certainly took advantage of our location and had a busy time exploring the local surrounds.

It is a pleasure to learnt hat you slept well and enjoyed the service provided by the team. Your comments will certainly be passed on and will be appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.


Sincerely,


Anne Marie Lennon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

A recent trip to visit family and friends in Melbourne we stayed at The Como instead of choosing a city hotel. We had a one bedroom suite that had a seperate lounge room. It is extremely spacious and well equipped. A mini kitchen and a bath tub in the bathroom. Something you don't get in hotel rooms these days! This hotel is exceptional! The staff are trained to perfection- not one request was met with a no or I don't know and always done with a genuine smile. There is a fabulous pool and gym located on the roof top. Pleasingly the roof opens up and it has an outdoor area for sunbaking. This was the perfect spot during the hot Melbourne days! Located in South Yarra you have a endless choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner places ranging from cheap to upmarket. Whilst room the room service menu is extensive and delicious we particularly liked to go out to 'Laurent' for a coffee and pastry and 'Cafe e Cucina' for a traditional italian bistro for a tasty pasta and wine!! They are both in walking distance to hotel. The hotel is next door to Channel 10 so if star spotting is your thing I'm sure you will see a TV journo or actor entering the building. We will definitely be staying here again. Great location, great valve, great staff and services!!!

Room Tip: Room 506 is located on a corner so you get sunshine in the morning and afternoon. Also very quiet as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicstreettourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to learn that your Christmas stay with us at The Como Melbourne was memorable.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the service and facilities provided. Your feedback in relation to the lifts has been noted. This has been investigated by our maintenance team and we will continue to monitor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,


Anne Marie Lennon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I recently stayed at the Como hotel for 8 nights over the Christmas period.
I found the facilities to be of a premium class & the staff to be friendly & extremely helpful.

Nothing was spared in making our stay comfortable & convenient.

Immaculate foyer & rooms. Central for site seeing. Located on famous chapel street, tram stop out the front to the city!! So easy.

I go to Melbouren every year for chrsitmas & this was by far the best trip yet.

Thanks Como!

If I had to say one negative thing - the lift is a little slow!!!!

Room Tip: Suite was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becstar66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to learn that your Christmas stay with us at The Como Melbourne was memorable.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the service and facilities provided. Your feedback in relation to the lifts has been noted. This has been investigated by our maintenance team and we will continue to monitor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,


Anne Marie Lennon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The Como hotel is well located in chapel street with an art house movie theatre in the same complex, many upmarketd shops nearby, access to great restaurants, trams and trains. You can walk to the tennis cenre and MCG. The rooms are extremely well appointed and spacious. The staff are always attentive and friendly. There is parking available. The breakfast is fant astic with a great selection of fresh juices. We have stayed at The Como many times and look forward to again.

Room Tip: Ask for an open plan suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MardiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments in relation to your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and attentive.

We are in close proximity to the MCG as you mention. We hope you had an opportunity to enjoy the cricket during your stay. We are looking forward to Tennis beginning - again we are within close proximity to the Tennis centre.

We look forward to welcoming you back - if you are interested in visiting over tennis we do still have availiability!


Sincerely,


Anne Marie Lennon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Booking a mystery hotel stay for the second time, I was thrilled we were once again staying at T he Como. The room was lovely and situated in a great spot overlooking a lovely leafy courtyard.
My daughter has recently moved to Melbourne and this means I will be visiting more often. I drove from Sydney and left my girl about 3pm. She is just down the other end of Chapel St and the stroll to and from her place is lovely, holding many delights. After an early dinner and stroll, I was back to the room ready for a good soak in the Spa. I had a CD playing and a glass of wine and felt like I was in heaven. It was so luxurious.
It had been a 9 hour drive straight through from Sydney and an early start to come back in the morning. I sank into the bed and the beautiful filtered light shining through the lush green trees just outside had me mesmerised and I slipped into a deep and restful sleep. Peaceful luxury.
Up early and out by 6, the concierge staff were so bright and helpful. I have now stayed here twice and will recommend it to everyone. Great deal, great service and perfect luxury.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jr9april
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty to The Como Melbourne.

We apprecaite your feedback and it is a pleasure to learn that you had such a relaxing stay with us in particular the spa bath ! Your feedback in relation to our concierge is appreciated and will certainly be communicated to the team.

I also note that you enjoyed the location of your room overlooking the Central Green area. This preference will be updated on your profile for future stays.

Once again we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,


Anne Marie Lennon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

During our recent Christmas holidays in Australia we (2 adults, 1 small child) stayed for one week at the Como. Our room (#509) was charged at AUD 255 per night excluding both breakfast and internet access. For our last night on 31.12. the room charges amounted to AUD 355. The room itself was spacious with an integrated living area and a king size bed. The en suite bath room was also big enough for our little family. No extra charges applied for our 3 yr old child who slept in the same bed with his parents. So much for the good.

The bad: Upon our arrival vacuum cleaners were 'parked' in the corridor on the way to our room. They were still there the following morning. Cleanliness of the room was definitely below standard, the fittings in the bathroom (bath tub, basin, toilet) were just old, bed linen was not changed during our entire stay, wifi internet access only in the lobby not in the room, wifi access for 8 days at AUD 107 (!!), breakfast charges (continental breakfast plus coffee) at an average of AUD 65 (no extra charges for our child), the hotel pool not clean and messy around it and 1.49 per cent extra charges on our bill for using a credit card...

All in all, very expensive and not worth the money. There are definitely better options in South Yara than the Como.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liberacion2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to relate your feedback.

It is disappointing to learn that you had a poor experience in relation to value for money.

This feedback will serve as an encouragement to the team as we continually try to improve our services.

Sincerely,

Anne Marie Lennon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
1,748 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
1,118 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
1,132 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £118 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing