We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for business and pleasure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #18 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great for business and pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night whilst in Melbourne for special event. The hotel is in the heart of South Yarra, right on the corner of Chapel & Toorak Rd, so it's an amazing location. We were upgraded to a suite on arrival, which was a nice surprise and the room was clean and comfortable. Morrisey amenities and complimentary bottles of water were a nice touch.
If I had to pick one thing that was out of place, it would just be that in the morning they had no Express Chekout box at reception. But that was about it.
Good hotel for business or pleasure travellers.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NCTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    266
    81
    28
    15
See reviews for
133
425
73
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Exceptional service and facilities. Fantastic staff!! The refurbishment only adds to The Como's 5 star amenities and the stay made the overal trip so much more enjoyable!! I would recommend a stay at The Como to all visitors to Melbourne!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I stayed at the Como for 11 nights in November, it was my second stay and this time is was for the Melbourne Cup Carnival. I do like the hotel; the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are lovely, a really good size, modern, clean and with everything you could want, even a very big bath, which I believe is unusual for Australia.
I've never been into the restaurant, but the bar is nice and I've had the bar food which is good. The bar is strange though, it's either rammed full or empty and it's not open all the time. However the choice of bars and restaurants close by is endless so that's not a problem.
Chapel Street is a good location, the shopping is amazing, it's close to the tram and if you like walking or running there's a great track along the river into the CBD. Also the taxi drivers all seem to know where Chapel St is, which is a massive bonus as many Melbourne taxi drivers don't seem to know the city at all!! If there are any negatives, they would be: the public areas are a bit impersonal and sterile, the rooms were often only cleaned late in the day and during Melbourne Cup Carnival the hotel should warn overseas guests that taxis are almost impossible to get and reccommend advance bookings!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

we stayed in this hotel for 4 nights, we scored a sweet deal including breakfast. Breakfast is amazing...and the concierge is really helpful as well.

but we could see the light through the door crack at night so the room wasnt that dark to sleep in, but all in all, i'd recommend to stay in Como...oh and watch for celebrities as well. I was having breakfast one morning, i must be in my own little world, didnt even realise Guy Sebastian was sitting at the next table...lol

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed at The Como in an open plan king suite for our honeymoon in November 2012. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a massive bathroom - perfect for getting ready for the spring races. We found while the staff were pleasant enough the hotel lacked that something special that usually comes with being 5 star. Location is brilliant, but on future trips I will be trying elsewhere in South Yarra.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mfm86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,162 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#15 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing