We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lo"Como"tion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #20 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lo"Como"tion”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Como is in the ideal location for a night out in the Chapel street precinct-walking distance to some fabulous restaurants and The Jam Factory ( for movie lovers )...
Arrival greetings always set the tone for our stay so we were totally bewildered by the arrogant attitude of the front desk clerk Mitchell,who frankly gave us the impression that we were annoying his daily routine of rudeness whilst checking in...!!!
We had several problems with our room...mirrors covered in dust and an air-conditioning breakdown but thankfully we had "the" most professional ,courteous and humorous supervisor on our checkout...
Christopher couldn't apologize enough re our complaints ( including Mitchell's attitude ) and adjusted our bill generously...We were very impressed with his show of care re our stay and will definitely be returning regardless of our hiccups...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear estwayne
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sincerely apologetic that your impression of our hotel is not to the standard we expect.

I do appreciate all you have made mention of and have shared your review with the team. I am sure it will serve as a reminder to us all and allow us to continue to improve our services to our guests.

I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in relation to your stay should you wish to and I do hope we have are afforded the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    283
    87
    28
    15
See reviews for
141
448
78
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We enjoyed a lovely stay, the front desk staff (Dianna) couldn't be more helpful. We were lucky to be upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite wow a very stylish apartment, everything that a 5 star hotel should have, spotlessly clean and modern. I agree with other review the smell in the foyer is pretty rank, i feel so sorry for the front desk staff they must go home each night with headaches. We enjoyed cocktails in the bar which was comfortable but the smell from the foyer was there. A great location, looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear deb255100
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am so pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us and that you felt well looked after – Diana is such a lovely person and she is thrilled to read your review also.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights a few weeks ago. I ordered a spa room, that had had a resent renovation. The room was clean and comfortable, but a little uninspiring. This hotel was not built for a person with disabilities, or for even those with luggage, very difficult to negotiate the stairs. The smell in the foyer is very overpowering and awful!

The staff although very polite were undertrained and inexperienced. The car was not brought up when ordered, the taxi did not arrive when promised and to stand in the foyer for 30 minutes trying to check out was highly irritating. There is not the possibility for express even though I paid in advance.

I was also disappointed in the breakfast bar. The cold buffet adequate and quite nice, the hot food I found inedible.

I found this hotel very expensive and could have got a special at the Park Hyatt for a similar amount, there is no comparison in the quality.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Marlzi
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sincerely apologetic that we did not meet expectations; I do appreciate all you have made mention of and have shared your review with the team. I am sure it will serve as a reminder to us all and allow us to continue to improve our services to all our guests.

In relation to the stairs from the lobby, we do have a limited mobility lift to the side of the stairs to assist with luggage and also anyone who may require. I am sincerely sorry that this was not offered to help you.

I do hope we have are afforded the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards


Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our suite at the Como was very large and overlooked a lovely little park. The location of the hotel is fantastic. And I'm sorry to say that's about the extent of the positives.
The lobby is hard to navigate with bags (stairs) and has an unpleasant odor from the water fountain. The construction in front of the hotel is a drag.
The service by the afternoon/evening staff was a bit of a mess. Checkin was efficient and friendly but then things went downhill. We asked how long it would take to get to a certain restaurant, and they nicely suggested they'd call us a taxi for the appointed time. But then they didn't call one for us. Not a big deal to walk to the nearby cab rank but wish they'd told us to do so before we waited for 10mins for a cab that was not coming.
We asked if someone could grab our laundry from the dryer while we were at dinner. We know this is not in the normal line of duty and were very appreciative when they said they would. When we got back 3hrs later the laundry was still in the dryer. Another request ignored. If you're not going to do something just say so. Strange to smile and say "no problem" and then not do it.
I will say that the two men on duty at 5:30am were great - efficient, helpful and responsive. They should be promoted to prime time.
Our TVs all went off at 3:15am for no reason, which was a particular drag ahead of our 5am wakeup.
The gym was small, smelly and filled with old rusty equipment. Very disappointing.
Wifi is $24 a day and calls to the States are almost $7/minute - what?!
We will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear eh555
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I sincerely apologise that it was not up to standard and that you experienced a number of issues during your time with us. It is certainly not the way that we would like to be remembered.

I have shared your review with the team to provide them with clear examples of how we have not succeeded in our delivery of service.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in November and where disappointed with the general cleanliness of the room, service was ok but would look at the alternatives before staying again. Good location.close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JERYLEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear JERYLEV
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am so sorry that the cleanliness of your room was not up to standard. We do strive for a high standard of presentation and clearly on this occasion we missed the mark.

We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and to restore your faith in The Como Melbourne.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

While the staff and suites were cool and polished, the Como failed to engender that certain frisson that usually accompanies a 5-star hotel stay in Melbourne. What I liked: the top class full breakfast, which included a la carte and buffet selection; the intimate sun deck; the sincerely fine manners of the older gentleman who worked room service and breakfast service; the uncluttered, zen like design which gave my brain plenty of head space for the work I took with me. what I didn't like so much: the fawlty towers like episode of ordering a glass of wine to my room (credit to como that it was 'on the house' after a 45 min wait); the restaurant and bar being closed on a Sunday. given the choice, i'd rate the como somewhere between 'average' and 'very good'

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaHWithoutAnAlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear PaulaHWithoutAnAlias
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Whilst I am pleased to read that there are certain areas of the hotel where we have made a positive impression on you, I am sincerely apologetic that this was not seamless throughout your stay. We do strive for a high standard and clearly on this occasion we have missed the mark.

We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back and to restore your faith in The Como Melbourne.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Spent a day at Como to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Booked in an open plan suite but got an upgrade to 1 bedroom suite, which was lovely. To keep this short, here are a list of pros and cons.

Pros:
* Amazing location, next to restaurants, bars, shopping, transport
* Yummy breakfast. We had a buffet breakfast included in the package, and we could choose a lovely hot meal from the menu as well as a variety of cereals, juices, fruits, etc. at the buffet.
* Spa bath, that was great.
* Pool
* Awesome toiletries from Morrisey. Great quality and great smell.
* Friendly staff

Cons:
* Our bed was horrible, it was "king" made up of two singles which had different mattresses, one was hard and one was soft, one was like 10cm higher then the other. Ridiculous.
* room decor, is very spartan and very grey. Not very romantic. Feel like it needed art/colour
* Strong smell in the lobby from what seems like cleaning product. Just overpowering.
* No free parking ( valet parking is $35 per day), just booked Wilsons car park at Como center online and got a good discount.
* No free wifi
* Awful TV reception, seriously in the digital age this could have been fixed.

It was an enjoyable place to relax (got an 2pm check out as part of the package).

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melb_Chick83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Melb_Chick83
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Whilst I am pleased to read that there are certain areas of the hotel where we have made a positive impression on you, I am sincerely apologetic that this was not seamless throughout your stay. We do strive for a high standard and clearly on this occasion we have missed the mark.

We hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
1,676 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 159 in Melbourne
2,037 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 159 in Melbourne
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#11 of 159 in Melbourne
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing