We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #18 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed on a sunday night had a suite. Room was great,very spacious. Only fault was the spa bath was dirty, ,jets had not been cleaned in a while. Everything else could not fault, staff were extremely helpful and pleasantly surprised with breakfast , great value. Will stay again.

Room Tip: suites are large and open onto lovely Japanese garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Craig S
Many thanks for posting your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the Japanese Garden rooms with their individual courtyards. However, I am extremely disappointed to read that the spa in your room was not up to our usual standard – please accept my sincerest apologies.
I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    266
    81
    28
    15
See reviews for
133
425
73
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I booked and paid for a "secret room" deal months in advance. the room was no secret at all - simply a standard twin as advertised on their website. This really isn't up to 5 star standards either although they claim they are. The bedding for instance wouldn't be out of place at a public hospital and the curtains could only be opened and closed by grabbing hold of the curtain itself and pulling it across by hand. The room itself was sparse - a good size but nothing special. On the positive side there was an in-room safe and the bathroom was a highlight - especially the size of the bath (for one person). They botched my room service order and I told them about it and they dsadi they'd take 10% off the price. When I paid the following morning when I went to pay - they had decided to give me 50% off which did give me a sense of good will. I'm unsure as to whether I'd go back or not.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadeh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Sadeh22
Many thanks for posting your review. I am extremely disappointed to read you did not feel your stay was anything special. We do pride ourselves on looking after our guests and providing a level of comfort. I am so sorry that on this occasion we seem to have missed the mark.
I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed there last night. Got a suite for $212 including breakfast. Room was great. Bathroom was huge. Bed was extremely comfortable. Very pleasantly surprised with suite. Staff were extremely helpful and breakfast was good

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Fran535
Many thanks for posting your review. I am so glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We do strive to ensure our guests are comfortable and it certainly makes our day when our guests have felt looked after.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I go away for work quite frequently and this is the only place where I have the best sleep. Gorgeous rooms, beautiful decor and comfortable bed.

Service is second to none and room service is quick and delicious.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NausicaaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear NausicaaJ
Many thanks for posting your review. I am so thrilled you are able to sleep so well when you are with us; it is tiring enough travelling for work so it is wonderful that you find your room here so comfortable.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I was a little worried about staying here based on past reviews. I was quickly pleased upon arrival. They we extremely helpful and nice! The room was really very nice and spacious.

The lobby area to me was very clean and felt upscale.

Room Tip: I did not use the Spa or Breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smilesandjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear smilesandjoy
Many thanks for posting your online review. I am so glad to see that any concerns you had were quickly abated on your arrival and that your room was to your liking.
I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had always wanted to stay at The Como so when we had to spend a weekend in Melbourne we were lucky to get a good deal. We had a one bedroom apartment on the sixth floor facing onto Chapel Street. The bedroom was large with a huge bed and a moveable partition door through to the living room, this was well fitted out with a sofa and armchair, coffee table, dining table and chairs and a large well fitted kitchen area. Both rooms had a TV although not many channels were available which was disappointing and surprising for a hotel of this standard. The bathroom was everything it promised with all the black marble and a gigantic spa bath plus a massive shower, the little blue rubber duck you can take away with you is a nice touch.

The top floor has the sauna, gym and swimming pool which surprisingly we had all to ourselves every time we went up there. We really especially liked the swimming pool area which has loads of loungers and an outside area (I think the roof opens too but not while we were there). The hotel is right next to the Vogue shopping centre so you can just nip next door for all your groceries if you plan to cater for yourselves.

Lastly I’ve read other reviews criticising the Reception staff but would have to disagree as they were lovely, probably have to contend with some quite rude guests too!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaMariaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear DianaMariaLondon
Thank you for posting such a lovely online review. We are so thrilled you both enjoyed your stay with us, and that your one bedroom suite was to your liking. We hope you remembered to pack our little duck as a reminder of us – he does love to travel!

Thank you also for your comments in regards to our pool area – it is a lovely space to be able to relax in and you are absolutely correct, the roof does retract. I am only sorry that the weather did not permit us to do so!

Thank you once again, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We normally stay at the Sofitel when in Melbourne but this time thought we would stay at the Como. Loved every minute of it. Modern 5 Star Luxury & loved the location on Chapel. Highly recommend Franco Choo's for dinner on High Street.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Danielle P
Thank you for posting this online review. We are so thrilled you both enjoyed your stay with us, especially as you are already such loyal guests of Sofitel and Accor.

We are so glad you got to experience some of the area we are in and dine in the great restaurants around us.

Thank you once again, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you all back again soon.

Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,162 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#15 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing