We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #21 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

After always being one to stay in the hearts centre of Melbourne we were initially enticed to stay at the Como for its more family friendly location of Chapel Street. Now I would not stay anywhere else. In terms of location, Chapel is still close enough to the city for city visits (short tram, train or taxi ride) but has its own charm and über cool character with shopping, restaurants, bars, cinemas, markets and parks at your door step. It is close to Melbourne Park, Hisense Arena, the MCG, Albert Park, Caufield Racecourse and the trendy St Kilda DIstrict.

Now for the Como. You are greeted by friendly staff who are 100% attentive and professional. The reception itself is modern and fresh in design. This theme continues through to the guest rooms. No details have been spared with luxurious beds, linen, bath robes, morrissey toiletries and a huge marble bathroom complete with Spa Bath. You can even contact reception and have a bubble bath complete with bath salts, candles and champagne drawn for you at a small cost. Another cute touch and tradition of the Como are the aqua coloured rubber duckies left in your bathroom with a take me home note around their necks. Our 2yo son loved this and still plays with it in his bath at home. Housekeeping was fantastic and the rooms and hotel were always presented immaculately.

Facilities at the hotel are generous - a wine bar offering drinks and canapés, a roof top pool with sunlounges and an outdoor terrace, a well appointed gym and sauna. Breakfast is on offer in the brasseries each morning with al a carte options or full buffet. The room service menu is also extensive and a decent option after a busy day out on your feet when you just want to stay in and relax.

The hotel offers various room types at what I believe is a great price point for the space and luxury you receive. Great place for families with two bedroom suite option. I will never stay anywhere else whilst in Melbourne again - the hotel and location is just perfect! I can be trendy whilst having my family in tow. See you soon Como!

Room Tip: Traveling with a baby? Request a deluxe spa suite on a corner - rooms labelled 101, 201, 301 etc. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2015

Dear Jess P,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful online review. It is so lovely to read your stay with us was so enjoyable that it is now your number one choice when staying in Melbourne. We love our great South Yarra location and I am so pleased to read to do too! I am also so thrilled your experience was relaxing and great fun for the whole family.
We look forward to welcoming you again so your son can collect another Como duck to play with in the bath.
Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 520 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Seancarnt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I booked this hotel for a night with my girlfriend for her surprise birthday present. I enquired about an upgrade to a suite (which wasn't listed on the website) and was offered a discounted rate (thanks!).

The premises was very clean and well maintained, we didn't use the pool or the gym but checked them out, the gym was a bit run down and the pool was difficult to get to but well operated. The room itself was incredible. We had a cozy double storey room with a living area and bed downstairs, a spa and sauna upstairs. Was well presented and very relaxing!

The only real downside was the breakfast, although we were starstruck by the Sydney Swans players, the breakfast offering was not too broad as compared with other hotels in the area.

Big thankyou to the booking advisors and the front desk for the amazing service!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Gem Suite for a romantic room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdavey16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2015

Dear jamdav16,
Many thanks for your online review and recommendation. I am so pleased your romantic birthday weekend was all you hoped for. It was our pleasure to provide you with an upgrade to make your birthday surprise even more special. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, I will certainly share them with the whole team.
I am however sorry we did not meet your expectations in regard to the gym, this is an area we are planning to improve upon in the new year.
We look forward to welcoming you for your next romantic getaway.
Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Des P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed about a week at the Como in August 2013. The room, an upstairs suite, was well-designed: narrow hallway expanding into a small alcove with a desk and sitting chair; then a grand room with both a king-sized bed as well as a sofa/sitting area and a nice table with kitchenette. Bathroom was well-sized and had a shower as well as separate plunge bath. Perfect setup for a week's stay. Views from both the bedroom as well as from the hallway/alcove area.

Amenities were by Morrissey, which luckily didn't make me as sad as the Smiths' crooner. The gym was upstairs and was difficult to get to (had to take a separate staircase to a small room with not a lot of equipment, but it did the job).

The highlight of the stay was the breakfasts on the mezzanine floor above the lobby; food was great and always very fresh.

A little bit difficult getting into and out of the carpark patio area in front of the hotel, which seems like it's going through construction all the time. Also, if you have a lot of luggage, it's tricky to navigate from the reception area down the steps to the lifts. But overall, it was a pretty good stay; probably my second-favorite hotel in South Yarra (to the Olsen Hotel across the way).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladodgerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComoMel, General Manager at The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2015

Dear ladodgerone,
Many thanks for your online review. I am so pleased overall you enjoyed your stay, thought your room was well designed and took full advantage of our breakfast and facilities.
I am however sorry we did not meet your expectations in regard to the gym, car park, and stairs to take your luggage - we are working towards improvements for 2015. I appreciate all you have made mention of and we will certainly take your feedback into consideration.
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again in the not so distant future.
Kind regards
Cleo Seaman
General Manager
The Como Melbourne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
1,843 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
1,148 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
2,242 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £112 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing