We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #21 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2011

A very slick and well-run hotel right in the centre of the South Yarra restaurant and cafe strip. The staff were largely extremely helpful and professional (except for the barman on the first night who was grumpy). The room was a good size, well-equipped and clean and the bed extremely comfortable. Two minor quibbles. Room-service food was left in the corridors for hours and the handrail for the step into our shower was dangeruously wobbly and wasn't fixed during our stay. Overall, though, a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benoni100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 970 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2011

The room we had was extremely spacious and well designed. I loved the bigTV on the swivel so you could watch in bed or on the lounge. The big marble bathroom with spa bath was lovely.

I still have my little white como duck ..........nice touch

The staff are exceptional, very friendly and knowledgeable

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank djanni11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We had a fantastic stay, the location is awesome, right in the heart of south yarra so shops and resturants were everywhere. it was a little bit hard to find (but, we had just driven 10 hours to get there so we were tired) however once we arrived the service was impecable. The room was impressive as soon as we walked opened the door. it was very spacious very new and clean. the bathroom was huge too and the bath tub was WOW!. there was even a comlementary rubber duck The bed broke while we were there :-) so the the wonderful staff upgraded us to their penthouse, which was 2 story, spiral staircase, full size spa and grand piano of course. we nicknamed it the Charlie sheen suite. overall, can't reccomend his hotel enough, it's where we will be next time we are in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hipfunkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2010

Dirty room,dirty soiled doona room service asked why i looked in it,desk not friendly staff,complaints never been fixed

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kathyminnitidavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

My room was clean and the bed was so comfortable I could have died happy there... the bathroom had ample space... it was just a really pleasant stay. The staff are excellent... I attended and helped co-ordinate a function there and the staff were really wonderful and helpful... I have no complaints. South Yarra is a great central place from which to enjoy Melbourne...I didn't pay for the room so that may have affected my opinion somewhat, I think the room was upwards of $400 per night but I can't say I didn't enjoy it. I previously worked in the Como Centre (the building attached) and I really love this location.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kylieroseonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

My boyfriend and I headed down to Melbourne for a break in mid October. We stayed 3 nights at The Como Melbourne and were very impressed with the accommodation. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and we were even given a free upgrade.

The room itself was large and extremely comfortable. Everything was clean and clearly arranged with care. The bathroom had a gorgeous deep Japanese spa bath that was heaven and the bed was very comfortable. The location was great; we discovered some fantastic restaurants and cafes all within walking distance from our hotel and we were only a short tram/taxi ride away from the city.

We booked the room quite cheaply through Wotif and it was well worth it. I was a bit put off by some of the reviews I had read on tripadviser but we experienced nothing but comfort and class. I would definitely stay The Como Melbourne again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justineee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Well positioned in South Yarra. reception staff were friendly. Both our rooms were clean and well decorated however starting to show some age. The really frustrating part about the hotel is that between the ground foyer at street level and the lift foyer, you have to drag yourself and bags over approx 12 steps and there is no ramp. Would stay again for the price we paid. Small street level bar was good for a late night drink but relatively expensive. I would rate the hotel between 3.5 and 4 stars.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
Thank JustinFSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#31 of 161 in Melbourne
1,867 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 161 in Melbourne
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,278 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,961 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: 630 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £112 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylishly located in the South Yarra fashion district, the vibrant Como Melbourne hotel is the epitome of chic style and sumptuous elegance. The Como Melbourne is a living legend in its own right and many celebrities have passed through its famed doors - this boutique hotel features 111 rooms and is renowned for delivering impeccable and discreet service to all. Our guests are treated to contemporary styled rooms that are luxuriously spacious, letting in invigorating natural light. Be sure to look out for the other iconic celebrity of the hotel - our signature rubber duck who has been delighting guests for years and is yours to take home. Fashionable yet comfortable - reserve a room at our boutique hotel in South Yarra and discover why everyone is talking about The Como Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Como Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Como Hotel Melbourne
The Como Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing