We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regular stay in east Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albert Heights Serviced Apartments
Ranked #119 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Swan Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Regular stay in east Melbourne”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I have stayed here numerous times (including a 3 week stint while awaiting the arrival of my baby) and find it to be decent accommodation in a fantastic location. The apartments while small, have everything you need although I do always book a deluxe or premier room. It is handy being able to close off the living room as a second bedroom but this does mean the heating and cooling doesn't get to the main bedroom. It can be a bit noisy at times but I've never found it extremely bad. It is also very reasonably priced for the location and size/type of accommodation. Free parking is very handy.

I love having the supermarket, cafe, bottle shop and pizza/pasta restaurant across the road, and the Indian restaurant directly in front on Victoria Parade (a two minute walk) is delicious. Great proximity to the city and the MCG. They also have a 'hospital rate' if you're staying to access one of the nearby hospitals which is very cheap.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    55
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
30
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed for a few nights over week/weekend. Complex is a small group of around 20 low-budget flats that have been refurbished with cheap furnishing. Although we didn't expect too much for being one of the mid-low self-catering deals we could find in Melbourne, the room was okay for the price. The room did have separate living room (small) /kitchen/bedroom/bathroom. The TV and air con were reasonably new and worked properly. However, there was nothing else exciting about the room, there was no view, no balcony, a little stuffy inside, not that clean (kitchen floor was dirty and carpet stained) and the furniture very basic (not luxury as stated on website). The 'second' spare bed was the fold out couch and it had totally lost its support and was very uncomfortable to lie on. The fridge in the kitchen also needed replacing. Kitchen cooking utensils were very basic and of cheap quality. Although the apartment was set at the back away from the main road, the noise from the passing traffic could be heard (no double glazing), and backing trucks can be heard at the neighbouring hospital during the night. I also found that the staff at the front desk were a bit hit and miss, nice one day, rude the next. The seemed more interested in looking at the computer screen that talking to customers. Also, keep in mind that the front desk closes at 8pm, There is a communal laundry in the complex although some of the washing machines did not work and there was no washing powder or coin machine. I would not use this accommodation again. However, if you have no other choice, try to get a room at the back of the complex on one of the upper floors, noise does echo through the complex, so beware of noisy neighbours. There are outside parking spaces around the block (free). Internet services were not offered.

Room Tip: Request a room towards the back of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwipome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

Apartments were clean, accessible to public transport and supermarkets. Only a short 10-15 minute walk to the heart of the CBD. The staff were friendly and happy to help. Enjoyed the weeks stay. Will recommend if you are enjoying the sites of Melbourne and not slouching around all day.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

This is the third or fourth time I've stayed here and the qualities I'm looking for at the apartments include location, free parking and convenience. They are a comfortable room. They offer free parking. They are close to trams etc. if you're looking for very modern finishings and a quiet stay, then this place isn't for you.

they start cleaning etc pretty early and the block is noisy. There are tables with seats in a garden at the bottom and middle of the block and of course, noise travels up.

There is a sofa bed in the living room with the air conditioner. The main bedroom doesn't have any A/C or fan which can make it a bit hot in summer, but I've worked around this and opened up the whole unit.

these apartments are really homey - I enjoy staying here for the competitive rates. Give it a shot!

Room Tip: try to always ask for a room AWAY from the noisy road and the apartments to the left of the block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanet_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

A clean, simple, comfortable place to stay, within close distance to Melbourne city.
Considering the price, this self contained apartment is very good value.
Very friendly staff, no complaints apart from the traffic noise heard from apartment 8.
If you get a chance, request a rear apartment.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 8, request a rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harem32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed at the Albert Heights Apartments early this week while visiting the Mercy Private Hospital. We were only on an overnight stay for a day procedure and found the Aparments to warm, clean & staff welcoming. There is ample room in the 1 bedroom style of room with a comfortable fold out sofa. Its clean, neat & tidy and all that you need if your standards are not set really high

Room Tip: Close to St Vincents hospital, Freemasons Hospital, MCG & Rod Laver
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I read the reviews and thought for the price I would give it a go, well I wish I didn't. I would have been much better off spending another $30 to $50 per night somewhere else. The location and the Reception Staff are the only good thing about this place. The tram stop is only a short walk with a little supermarket handy. The apartment was not well laid out and not the slightest bit comfortable with poor furniture and tiny tv with no dvd player. You didn't feel like relaxing there after a busy day of shopping. The stove is useless so was not easy to use to prepare a light meal as we had eaten out during the day. Was recommended to try Kiwi Fish & Chip shop across the road and it was disgusting they must use frozen fish. Would not stay here again only do so if you are going to sleep and nothing else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
0.2 mi away
Adara East Melbourne
Adara East Melbourne
#112 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnolia Court Boutique
Magnolia Court Boutique
#143 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#113 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel South Yarra
0.6 mi away
Mantra on Jolimont
Mantra on Jolimont
#91 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
1.1 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Heights Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Heights Serviced Apartments

Property: Albert Heights Serviced Apartments
Address: 83 Albert St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia (Formerly Albert Heights Executive Apartments)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albert Heights Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albert Heights Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Heights Executive Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing