We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellence service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albert Heights Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albert Heights Serviced Apartments
Ranked #118 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellence service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is a great place to stay, close to shops and cafes etc. On arrival we were greeted by a lady who has personality plus I cannot remember the last time we have encountered such service when booking into our accommodation. She was friendly and helpful in every way. It is reasonably priced and very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bronte1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    55
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
30
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have stayed at this apartment for 3 nights and did so last year. The staff was friendly and will help out whatever you ask for. The room is clean and fresh. Its close to everything even to the hospital which i stayed for surgery. Across the road there is a small IGA shop so you can get stuff and there are several lovely cafe/restaurant you can enjoy meals during the day or evening. I would recommended for those who want to be close to hospital and easy access would be this place we have stayed with. We will be back soon in June for weekly visit to appointments at the hospital and looking forward to stay at their apartment. Thankyou for having us :)
Peta and Daryl - Tasmania

Room Tip: Staff are friendly and helpful and do ask they will help no matter what little you want :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Noisy plumbing from our apartment kitchen and also surrounding apartments woke everyone, every day. Abusive Receptionist when issue raised and three discussions followed before a genuine offer to move us. Unfortunately moving was pointless as the noisy plumbing was a problem throughout block. Good location but there are two apartment hotels adjacent and I would go to them instead (Tribeca and City Edge). Also charge $25 for each child from 1yr, price ok for couple but not when you pay $25 for each child for existing bedding. Bathroom also very small, toilet entry through bathroom. Shower over bath is treacherous, kitchen has 2 stovetop elements, no oven and no dishwasher. Beds also uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Check plumbing before unpacking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porky1porky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_AlbertHeights, Manager at Albert Heights Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear porky1porky,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

I am sorry to learn that you have not had a pleasant stay with us because of the plumbing noise. We were unable to rectify the issue during your stay because you did not wish anyone to enter your room while you were away. The room-move was not an option as you had unpacked all your belongings. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We strive to provide outstanding service to our guests, therefore you feedback is very important to us. Should you like to discuss this matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards

Samuel Sun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We have stayed at Albert Heights on a couple of occasions now and have generally enjoyed our time there however unfortunately due to a number of reasons during our recent stay, we probably won’t be back.

As always the service is friendly and helpful and the car parking is fairly easy to navigate, although you might have trouble if you have a larger car.

Upon entering the room we realised that nothing has changed or been updated whatsoever since our last stay a couple of years ago. The kitchen is well stocked if you would like to eat in or cook however we did find a few pieces of cutlery that needed rewashing from the last guests. Also beware that if you don’t wash your own dishes, you will be charged a fee.

Lounge room is fine however the couches are extremely uncomfortable and as we were on the bottom floor, we had to keep the curtains closed the entire time as people in the carpark were looking at us through the window.

We found the bed to be pretty uncomfortable as well this time and our sleep was disrupted all night from the guests above us using their toilet. The walls are paper thing and all we could hear the entire stay was a crying baby - most unpleasant for a couple of holidays.

I think the worst part of the accommodation though is the bathroom. Firstly the light had blown in the toilet so we had to keep the door open so we could see. More importantly though is the lack of shower curtain. While there is a retractable screen provided, none of them in any of the rooms we have stayed in work. So once you have finished in the shower the entire bathroom floor is flooded. There is no extractor either so the walls end up having water from the steam running down them. Additionally it is impossible to use the mirror. Having the window open isn’t an option, particularly in winter as it is freezing cold and other guests can look in if they feel like it. The bathroom counter top is too small to put anything on it so I had to resort to using the toilet seat as a counter for my cosmetic bag (couldn’t put them on the floor due to the flood).

In summary, for $130 a night, you are getting a room in a great location with free parking however you will get disrupted sleep and a wet bathroom. If you do stay, ask for a room on the top floor at the back of the complex to lesser the impact of noise.

Note to owners: if you can’t renovation the bathroom, please install a shower screen, and extractor or IXL-tastic bathroom heater to increase the warmth of the bathroom and decrease the dampness.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back on the complex on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzzeeTravla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_AlbertHeights, Manager at Albert Heights Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Ozzee Travla

Thank you for providing such thorough review in regards to your stay at Albert Heights Serviced Apartments.

I am sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with our maintenance manager and directors who are currently seeking quotes on renovations.

At Albert Heights, we strive to provide comfortable accommodation and excellence services to every guest. Therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please allow me, on behalf of the team, to express our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced. On the other hand, it is also our hope that we could have another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely

Samuel Sun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

These apartments are well postioned for the city, for the hospitals which abound in East Melbourne and access to most suburbs by tram and/or train. Yes, they are not sqeaky new, but clean and tidy with OK furniture and the bathroom is clean, but again not new. You want new and shiny with all mod cons, in Melbourne you pay for it!

Given today's hotel rates in Melbourne this complex offers reasonable value, and free on site parking. Access to supermarket and other shops, eateries is just across the road which is a bonus. Would happily recommend.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms on the second floor offer good value and peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_AlbertHeights, Manager at Albert Heights Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Russell H,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Albert Heights Serviced Apartment.

It is pleasing to read that you have had an enjoyable stay, and the location of the hotel has also assisted in making your stay more comfortable and convenience.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Samuel Sun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and chose this hotel because of its location - its proximity to the tennis. We were disappointed with the rooms - they were like out-dated motel rooms that should have been updated and renovated long ago. The shower was in the bath and the shower screen was difficult to use. Getting in and out of the bath was difficult for us. The bed was very comfortable but there were no mirrors except for one in the bathroom. I thought it expensive for what it was but I suppose during the tennis, prices everywhere were high. The guy on reception was very helpful and pleasant. I think the wi-fi should have been free. One big thing in its favour is that there is a great café across the road down a little arcade. We wouldn't have known it was there if he hadn't told us. Great breakfasts and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the ground floor next to a leafy atrium affair. The rooms upstairs might have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillDV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed in Albert Heights for 3 nights in a premier one-bed on the 2nd floor. Staff was welcoming and pleasant and the location is great; The unit is a decent size and the queen bed comfortable. Overall, the place could do with redecoration (especially the bathroom) and the furniture look cheap and tired. Traffic noise comes through unless you shut all the windows and since the air-con is in the lounge (but not in the bedroom) the bedroom gets hot and stifling very quickly. The price we paid ($141 per night with the place not overly busy) seems adequate rather than a bargain.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hila5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Adara East Melbourne
#110 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Magnolia Court Boutique
#137 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#115 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mantra on Jolimont
#88 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Birches Serviced Apartments
#38 of 126 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Heights Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Heights Serviced Apartments

Property: Albert Heights Serviced Apartments
Address: 83 Albert St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia (Formerly Albert Heights Executive Apartments)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albert Heights Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Albert Heights Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Heights Executive Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing