We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service, no space”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knightsbridge Apartments
Ranked #156 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor service, no space”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Rubbish!

We stayed for 2 nights last weekend. We had booked a 4 bed 'family suite' which turned out to be 2 single beds in the back bedroom and a queen size bed in the living room! We had a third child that we had been told would easily fit - the folding bed was in the living room next to the queen bed, leaving no space at all in the living room. We had to lay on the beds to watch the TV.

Foxtel didn't work. We complained at reception the next morning and the guy said he'd look into it while we were out. We returned later that night - there was no message and it hadn't been fixed. I complained again when we checked out. The next guy said he'd look into it - not much good for us!

The back bedroom had no heating, and the heater in the main room didn't have any impact on the back bedroom. It was freezing.

They advertise 'free parking' which turns out to be a permit to park in the street - if you can find a car park. One night we had to park around the block.

I emailed a complaint the night we got home. Still no response.

Old, tired decor. Poor service. Many broken promises.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    16
    34
    14
    54
See reviews for
30
30
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Ideal location at an affordable cost. Clean and everything we needed. Free wifi worked although slow, but hey, it's free! Some repairs needed but still great value. Serviced daily . Reception helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosannesnape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Had a comfortable stay at these apartments for 4 nights. The level of accomodation is basic and everything you need is provided. The beds are comfortable and the area is quiet so a good night's sleep is assured. The apartment is serviced everyday; the beds are made, dishes washed and towels changed. Having said that, here are the negatives. The standard of cleaning is not great. The quality of the room is not great. I booked a room for 2 people which offered either a King Bed or two singles. I requested a King Bed and on checking in I found the room had a Queen bed. On querying this I was told a King Bed is two singles pushed together. Ambiguous much? On opening the cabinet under the sink in the Kitchenette there was a smell of mould so strong it just about punched me in the face. Overall, comfortable yes, luxury no.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

"Experience Luxury in Our Serviced Apartments", says the website. Unfortunately neither luxury nor service is evident.

This is not an unpleasant place to stay but the promises are extravagant.

Located in East Melbourne, close to shops restaurants and the MCG, the apartments are comfortable. There is no lift and the staircase is very narrow.
We are told that the apartment on the second floor is the "executive" accommodation (the one in the website promotional photo, I believe).

A "four poster bed" dominates the room and is made of iron. (see my photo)
I cannot understand why it is there. No canopy. No curtains. No point. I seriously worry that someone heading for the bathroom in an unfamiliar room in the middle of the night could easily be injured, crashing into the monstrosity. In a room five times the size, it might be OK... no, actually, not even then!

The tiny wardrobe doesn't open fully because of the window treatments; the shower / bath is half-size and difficult to get out of and the vanity cupboard's melamine facing comes off when the door is opened.

The wifi is free but no amount of trying, on three different devices, will make it work.

The kitchenette seems OK but we don't use it. There are great places for dinner and breakfast close by.
The only coffee provided is in sachets and is the ubiquitous cheapest/worst/most undrinkable brand available; you can probably guess which one.

In a stay of two nights, no-one comes near the room. No service. And given that one tiny piece of soap and three sachets of multi-function hair/body wash are provided for two people, it's lucky we have our own.

No, we didn't really expect luxury. No, we didn't complain.
We had a lovely weekend in Melbourne.
You need a sense of humour at the Knightsbridge Apartments.
Somebody needs to tell them about their advertising.

http://europeexplorer.blogspot.com.au/

Room Tip: Tell them you don't want the room with the four poster bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisPossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed at the Knightsbridge Apartments on March 23rd and 24th (in town for The Boss!). It is very affordable, but also very simple. If you want something fancy then this is probably not the place for you. It is not a luxury hotel; don't go expecting that. It is, however, the perfect place to rest your head at night. Our room itself was not overly big (we did successfully fit 4 people in the room, one "king" size and 2 singles but in the room with 2 singles we could not have 2 suitcases on the floor) BUT the beds are comfy ("king" bed is in fact 2 singles pushed together), it is very quiet and as everyone has said, you can't beat the location. 10-15 minutes walk to the MCG and Rod Laver arena. Tram line is just down the road, there is a nice little cafe and a 7/11 no too far away. Tea and coffee were supplied and there is a little bar fridge to keep anything in. While the place could definitely use a coat of paint, it was relatively clean and the carpet is new. There was no poor smell (which I was totally stoked about). The downside is the showers are not great. Firstly, the shower head is at a very poor height. I'm 5'3 and they were too small for me, so anyone taller will have good fun trying to stand underneath it to get their hair wet. And trying to get the shower to a decent temperature without being too hot or cold was an adventure. Also, beware there is no lift so you will have to carry your luggage up the stairs. However, there are only 2 levels so it's not a lot. The employees on the front desk always said hello, and we never had any issue with them.

In a nutshell, it's not super fancy but if you're the simple kind of traveller and just want somewhere to sleep that's quiet and clean then would recommend this place. If you like big spas and gyms, then this is not the place for you! (side note: no sewage issues occurred, THANK GOODNESS!)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed in a studio apartment on February 12. It was a very warm night so we opened the windows (instead of putting on the aircon). Despite being not too far away from the busy Hoddle Street traffic, it was very quiet at night. The room was comfortable, clean and practical with a small kitchenette and separate bathroom/ensuite area. We were about 15 mins walk from the MCG and the Rod Laver Arena so it was a very convenient place to stay. Ahead of time we advised the need of a car park and booked this in. This was a terrific inclusion to our price and we were grateful for it. Overall we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

We moved to the Knightsbridge Apartments when the air-conditioning in our original accommodation broke down.

Very affordable, but you get what you pay for. The rooms are simple, each with their own airconditioning unit (!!), Kitchen basic but serviceable, both bathroom and kitchen appeared clean but were a bit smelly and are tired.

The biggest drawcard for this place is the location!! So close to trams, and CBD via a walk through the park. And so lovely and quiet in the evenings unlike most central Melbourne accommodation.

Room Tip: No elevator
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lisa_in_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
Magnolia Court Boutique
Magnolia Court Boutique
#143 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adara East Melbourne
Adara East Melbourne
#114 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albert Heights Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra on Jolimont
Mantra on Jolimont
#91 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arrow On Swanston
Arrow On Swanston
#131 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.3 mi away
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#111 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knightsbridge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knightsbridge Apartments

Property: Knightsbridge Apartments
Address: 101 George St, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knightsbridge Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knightsbridge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knightsbridge Apartments Melbourne
Knightsbridge Apartments Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing