We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient for the marathon”
Review of Mantra on Jolimont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra on Jolimont
Ranked #97 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed here because it was close to the melbourne marathon start and finish and it was perfect for that. Had a one bedroom appartment with lots of room. The staff were very friendly. The decor is very plain and the bathroom finish not to my liking but it was clean. It is a 15 min walk to the city rather than right in the centre of the shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_Jo_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us on ths site. We were pleased the property suited your needs whilst in Melbourne for our annual Melbourne Marathon.
Every year we get great support from both competitors and spectators alike and the Team also really enjoy the event.
I thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay & hope to see you back when next in Melbourne.

Best regards,
Kara Francis
Hotel Manager
Mantra on Jolimont

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,723 - 1,729 of 1,858 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2012

Have stayed here many many times as it is very close to try MCG and great for trips to the football and the cricket. So you can't beat the location. But, it is starting to get tired. Paint is worn,carpet its tired, decor is dated. But the beds are comfy and the rooms are spacious. There is no room service in house. It is ordered from off site and delivered which is odd given there is a restaurant on the ground floor. I'll stay here again as I love the location but don't expect the freshest look and latest decor.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chifley_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent stay with us. It was refreshing to read your positive honest and uncomplicated views on the property, and that your expectations are fully aligned with the product and price of the property.
The restaurant has only recently been taken back inhouse to manage after being outsourced for many years, so we do hope that we might be in a position to fully cater for the hotel in the near future, we do still need some time to work through the overall business plan. I understand at present without this information, an outsourced in room dining option looks a little strange, however is a good option for all concerned at this point.

Best regards,
Kara Francis
Hotel Manager
Mantra on Jolimont

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

OK, it was the weekend of the football grand final and the city was sold out; but thats no excuse for gouging, because people remember, and read Trip Advisor.

Lets start with the good stuff, bless her heart and all those Annie in reservations works with! I stuffed up my booking, totally, and the hotel was fully booked. Annie and the team in reservations sorted it out, got me a room, made sure it was a big bed room and made me feel like a hero (when I really was an idiot) - THANK YOU Annie, any hotel would be lucky to get your enthusiasm, proactivity and sense of humour on their side.

Second up, the bed was great, firm, warm and inviting - so easy to get a great night's sleep. The room was definitely ready for a makeover, but tolerable!

BUT SADLY MR MANTRA, stuffed it up by gouging the extras. I accept that my rate for the two nights was MORE THAN DOUBLE their normal rate because it was grand Final weekend, so ok. But I lost my hotel umbrella which was so crummy there would be change from $5 if I bought the replacement at The Reject Shop and the front desk was unrelenting - $50 was totally shameless and the management should hang its head in shame for charging that amount for a replacement umbrella. And the internet (Trip Advisor readers will know this is a hobby horse of mine.) $15 for two hours of not event hard wired internet broadband.) Guys, it should be included in the rate, or at least be high quality and maybe $5 or $10 for 24 hours. Are you going to start charging for showers and soap as though they are extras - come one and get over it, hotels should provide wi fi just like we expect beds!

Its hard to give ratings for this hotel, but I will try.

Dudeskewl

Room Tip: NOT on the sides facing the railway and higher is better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dudeskewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you for posting your comments on your recent stay with us. It was with mixed feelings I read your feedback.
At Mantra on Jolimont we feel that we give our guests a comfortable affordable accommodation option and this is evident all year round. I was pleased to see that you acknowledge the event weekend you stayed being the reason for the rates, we are indeed in high demand at this time of year, like no other so appreciate you understand this.
In relation to the extras, some services are outsourced within the building, internet being one of them and with this comes a cost. We choose to be transparent with our costs, not hide them in our rates as might be done with others, so disagree that we are gouging, more being honest with our fees and charges.
I thank you for your comments overall, however reserve the right to not agree with them all on this occasion.

Best regards,
Kara Francis
Hotel Manager
Mantra on Jolimont

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed there to watch the Grand Final and have stayed there before and loved the place. It couldn't be much closer to the Melbourne cricket ground. It's a 15 minute walk to Federation Square and the city. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a suite and found it really big for the two of us and have room for a few guests to sit and relax. Pretty expensive for Grand Final weekend but so is everywhere else in Melbourne. At other times the rates are extremely reasonable. No complaints at all.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank 296PeterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read you had a great stay and thank you clearly for your ongoing support of the property and Team.
I hope you had a great day at the GF and hope to see you again in 2013.

Best regards,
Kara Francis
Hotel Manager
Mantra on Jolimont

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Receptionist at check in was a bit rude, all other staff were wonderful however. Room was neat, but I wasn't happy with the cleanliness of the bathroom. There was soap scum on the bath/shower and traces of wee on the front of the toilet. One problem, but it's a big problem.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrison3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you for offering your feedback on your stay with us recently. Your comments on the service are unfortunately a bit too vague for me to effectively comment, so please feel free to contact myself direct should you wish to elaborate on them. In relation to the cleanliness, I have addressed this with the Executive Housekeeper who apologises however would have liked an opportunity to view this herself and rectify at the time.
Thank you again for taking the time to comment.

Best regards,
Kara Francis
Hotel Manager
Mantra on Jolimont

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed here again as i do every brownlow medal night to attend a function at the MCG. Stayed in a twin room on the eighth (top?) floor overlooking the railway line.

Room was the same layout as we've stayed in in prior years, just on a higher floor. It was clean enough, but starting to show some signs of age. Shower had some grout which had fallen out and was sitting on the shower base, toilet was coming away from the wall, carpet was pretty threadbare, shower head barely stayed up, holes from old showerhead still in the wall. Not cleanliness issues, just signs of age.

Pillows were pretty flat, and no spares in the cupboard, had already climbed into bed tired and tipsy when i became aware of the situation, so couldn't be bothered asking for more.

Trains seemed louder than prior years, maybe they're louder on the higher floors, or maybe the tracks are deteriorating. Not loud enough to be an issue for most, but if you're a light sleeper ask for a room on the other side of the building.

Breakfast was included in our room rate, we got there on opening at 6:30. Noted that it's now a buffet for hot food, rather than being cooked to order. Good for saving time as we had early appointments. Eggs were being brought out as we arrived, so knew they were fresh. Decent selection of hot food and toast, spreads etc. And some danishes, always a breakfast highlight at hotels for sweet tooths like myself.

Service was great on check in/out and at the restaurant.

As i've said in previous reviews, this is fine for business travel, good value, clean and efficient and a good location for MCG, although it's due for a freshen up. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ants79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Thank you for posting your feedback on your most recent stay with us. It was great to note that an overwhelming majority of your stay was well enjoyed and I appreciate your comments overall.

Best regards,
Kara Francis
Hotel Manager
Mantra on Jolimont

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Got a great deal at this hotel mid. September 2012, on a 2 bedroom unit, consisting of a one bedroom and an adjoining studio apartment (great concept) and found it very pleasant. It's a lovely walk over the pedestrian bridge to Federation Square, and a short distance to the tram stop. Rooms were well equipped, and spotlessly clean. Although the hotel is next to the railway track, we could barely hear the trains, and the outlook over the pool was very nice. The restaurant downstairs does very nice food, and the hotel (and restaurant) staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. Although it is a little far from the town centre( if you don't like walking) it is ideally situated for sports fans, being a short walk to the MCG and Rod Laver Arena. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KFRANCIS1, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Thank you for posting your lovely comments on your recent stay with us. We are always appreciative of the feedback we recieve to assist us to improve and also to reward a Team effort.
We hope to see you baak again in 2012.

Best regards,
Kara Francis
Hotel Manager
Mantra on Jolimont

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#90 of 161 in Melbourne
395 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Seasons Botanic Gardens
#112 of 161 in Melbourne
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Jolimont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Jolimont

Address: 133 Jolimont Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#88 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £59 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Jolimont 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne offers the ultimate in flexibility in a CBD hotel with studio and one bedroom apartments that can interconnect to provide comfortable two bedroom accommodation. Services include 24-hour reception, room service, babysitting, daily room servicing and foreign currency exchange, outdoor heated swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium and and on-site restaurant. Mantra on Jolimont is located close to some of the city's major sporting, entertainment and tourist attractions, The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne Park and the Fitzroy Gardens are on the hotel's doorstep while Federation Square, National Art Gallery, World Trade Centre and Crown Casino are also within easy reach. **Extremely limited car parking is available on site at Mantra on Jolimont at a cost of $25 per vehicle, per day. Your car may be moved to an off-site location when parking with us. Alternative self-parking options are available within a 10 minute walk from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra on Jolimont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Jolimont Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On Jolimont East Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing