We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the Australian Open Tennis”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mantra on Jolimont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra on Jolimont
Ranked #91 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for the Australian Open Tennis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Chose this hotel because of its proximity to Melbourne Park - in fact is 3 mins walk to MCG and 5 mins to Rod Laver. It is an apartment motel and stayed in a one bedroom apartment. Overall good facilities for a 3 star hotel. Restaurant was good as was the room service. About 10 mins walk to Melbourne CBD. Bit of train noise as railway close by.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Good morning,
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! We are in a great position to make the most of your sporting events at Rod Laver Arena or the MCG. Thanks also for your other 'traveller tips' - I'm sure others will appreciate them.

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    600
    296
    120
    56
See reviews for
349
437
123
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I had a one night stay and found the Mantra on Jolimont a great hotel. The 1 bed apartment was pretty basic but very clean. Had a great view of the MCG which was only 400mts away. The service was good and the heated pool was fantastic. I was also impressed with the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMcK23_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to document your experience at Mantra on Jolimont. I do appreciate it and will be sure to share your comments with the team!

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. Had a medical problem on the first morning reception staff were very helpful.
Only a 5 min walk to Gate 1 of the MCG.
Close to the CBD - can walk if you like.
Rooms were pleasant & bathrooms very clean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Good morning,

Thank you so much for your review - I am glad to see you enjoyed the location, and found the rooms to your liking. I'm also very pleased to read the the Reception staff were able to help you out on your first morning following your medical issue - I do hope that you are feeling better.

Warm regards,

Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I recently came to stay for one night for a concert with a friend. I had been advised of the $100 charge on a credit card as a bond, but was very surprised that for a debit card it was to be $300! I have used my debit card for credit card bonds at many other hotels with no problem. When I told the very rude staff member that I didn't have $300 on my card she told me to 'sit down and call someone to transfer you the money.' I didn't have anybody who had $300 just lying around to give to me and the staff member told me there was a chance I would not be able to have a room that night! How ridiculous. Finally I was allowed to use my debit card for the $100 but the minibar was taken out of my room and the phone disconnected. I was then left wondering what on earth I was actually paying the $100 for! We were finally allowed up to our room and half an hour later I asked reception to call us a taxi. It was the same rude staff member I had dealt with earlier and she to us to wait in reception for the taxi. We waited for ages in reception while we could see a taxi out the front that I was sure would be ours. I asked the rude woman if it was ours and she replied very rudely saying 'I've already called you the taxi!' I asked AGAIN 'is the taxi out the front ours??' And she said 'did the driver say your room number?' I said I didn't know as if been told to wait in reception and this staff member just rolled her eyes and looked away. Incidentally it was our taxi.
My family own an apartment in this hotel, the only reason I booked another room that night was because our room was occupied. I was absolutely disgusted with the rudeness of this one staff member, it was unnecessary and really made it hard for me to enjoy my stay. This staff member really needs to learn some customer service and realize that her job is to be friendly and helpful to visitors to the hotel, not to belittle them and upset them. The only way I will come back to this hotel after this awful service is to stay in my families apartment where I don't have to deal with the rude staff.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graybubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to document your recent experience at Mantra on Jolimont. I am saddend to read of your experience, and find can not believe that one of my team who are normally so good at interacting with our guests would have treated you like this.

As you point out: "This staff member really needs to learn some customer service and realise that her job is to be friendly and helpful to visitors to the hotel, not to belittle them and upset them". I couldn't agree with you more. Regrettably I am unable to identify the staff member from your description, or work out even the dates, times based on your profile or the content of your review. I would really appreciate it if you could contact me directly to provide a bit more detail, so I can follow through on your comments.

I do look forward to hearing from you, and following up on this.

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
campbell.lee@mantra.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Nuriootpa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in a split room for 6 nights over New Year. we stayed because the early fireworks for NYE were in the park across the street. This was a winner! The rooms were clean and tidy, good size for 2 adults, and two children, and the location meant we walked or trammed everywhere. However....don't stay in the railway side of the hotel! The early morning trains are a very good argument for ear plugs! We used them and enjoyed our stay. We didn't eat in the restaurant, so can't comment, but all in all, we were comfortable.

Room Tip: Not on the railway side...it's very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to document your experience at Mantra on Jolimont. I do appreciate it and will be sure to share your comments with the team. We are always happy to try to accomodate requests for a quieter room away from the railway - please do feel free to contact us directly if you are returning to Melbourne!

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed at this property on 3-4 December 2013 for work reasons. It was not my first choice due to mixed results I have had from Mantra properties in the past. However I booked on short notice and there was little around this area for the needed nights. The Justin Beeber concert had killed all accom in the area

Check in very smooth, polite and efficient. Property very dated and showing extreme signs of age, but clean and tidy at the front end.

The room was reasonable for what I paid, particularly under the concert pressure. Compact and comfortable. Like most people who travel a fair bit, I need a minimum of four points a night. Those that were available were extremely poorly placed. None were available by the desk, two side by side in useless(almost dangerous) positions, and only one available by the bed. All this probably goes with the age of the property…Refurb time?

TV remote!!!! Wow, I have never come across anything quite this challenging, and I do 70-80 nights a year. It opens to a VERY expensive PPV movie channel. I finally managed to navigate to FTA and Fox, but was very proud to achieve my Honours degree on the way. There needs to be some simple instructions on how to navigate the system.

On my first night, the bar service was polite, without being engaging. Considering it was essentially the same staff, Restaurant service was good, if a bit intense. Food was average, and not quite what ordered.

On the first morning, shower showed considerable signs of dirt and mould, along with a lrage black hair on the shower wall Not a lot, just a lack of attention to detail. Towels were hung up, as requested to avoid replacement. Next morning, all new towels. Why have a “Green” policy if housekeeping ignore it?

On Wednesday night I used the restaurant again, initially service was very good and attentive, but fell off badly after main course was served. Waited over an hour for anyone to even ask if I wanted a desert, or another drink. I might add, the place was not overly busy. As a test, I got up and walked out, had a thankyou sir SHOUTED at me as I left. VERY POOR.

Thursday morning, the large black hair was still on the shower wall!!!, that said, checkout was prompt, polite and efficient. This place has a great location, a decent refurb will fix a lot of the problems, along with a very close review of the staff, particularly in the bar/restaurant areas

Would have achieved a 3.5 if possible, Restaurant staff drag it down

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POOWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for posting a review of Mantra on Jolimont, I do appreciate you taking the time to document your thoughts regarding the property, and in particular providing such detail. I note from your other reviews that you provide a similar amount of detail and levels of critique - this industry really does thrive on feedback from guests such as yourself.

I am glad you enjoyed some aspects of the property, and rest assured that we will be sure to action those items you have raised for our attention. We are in the process of beginning a refreshement of furniture in our 1 Bedroom Apartments, and while the location and number of power outlets in the rooms are not being attended to this time around, we will certainly schedule that for consideration. Our Front Desk team are appropriately armed with extension cords and power boards for those guests travelling with multiple devices, so I hope once you asked them for assistance they were able to help you out.

Your comments regarding our Restaurant do concern me and I will discuss this with my Restaurant Manager, rest assured we will be in contact if we require any further level of detail.

Thank you again,

Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We have stayed here twice now and will definitely stay again. The location is fabulous; not right in the city but comfortably far enough away to enjoy peace and quiet, great views of the city, and a leisurely walk into town.
Our kids love the pool. We love the extraordinary space afforded to us in the two bedroom apartment we were allocated. Five of us stayed there very happily. It is really good value for the accommodation. Plenty of towels, clean, easy car parking... what more could you want?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelliephillipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to document your experience at Mantra on Jolimont, it was great to have you back again. I do appreciate it and will be sure to share your comments with the team!

Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Melbourne,

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#67 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Adara East Melbourne
#113 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#83 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#62 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Jolimont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Jolimont

Property: Mantra on Jolimont
Address: 133 Jolimont Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Jolimont 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the sporting and cultural hub of leafy East Melbourne opposite iconic sporting venue the Melbourne Cricket Ground and walking distance from the CBD, Mantra on Jolimont is the definitive crowd pleaser for guests who value convenience and comfort. Ideal for business and leisure travellers alike, Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne offers the ultimate in flexibility with studio and one bedroom apartments that can interconnect to provide comfortable two bedroom accommodation. Reflecting the Mantra hallmarks of offering stylish decor, quality service and great locations, Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne combines the benefits of hotel services with freedom and flexibility befitting a private city apartment. All one bedroom apartments include lounge and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens to provide the ideal home away from home, while studios and one bedroom apartments share a laundry with washing machine and dryer and feature 32" LCD TVs, in-house movies and tea and coffee-making facilities. Guests of Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne enjoy fabulous services including 24-hour reception, room service, wireless internet access, babysitting, daily room servicing, car parking ( fee apply and spaces are subject to availability upon arrival)and foreign currency exchange. Guests can also splash out in the outdoor heated swimming pool, work out in the new fully equipped gymnasium or dine in the on-site restaurant which serves modern Australian cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. From Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne guests are located close to some of the city's major sporting, entertainment and tourist attractions. The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne Park and the Fitzroy Gardens are on the hotel's doorstep while Federation Square, National Art Gallery, World Trade Centre and Crown Casino are also within easy reach. Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne is a full non-smoking hotel. Car parking is an additional cost and is subject to availablity, not guaranteed. **Extremely limited car parking is available on site at Mantra on Jolimont at a cost of $25 per vehicle, per day. Spaces are subject to availability on a first come, first served basis and cannot be guaranteed under any circumstances. Your car may be moved to an off-site location when parking with us. Alternative self-parking options are available within a 10 minute walk from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Jolimont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Jolimont Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On Jolimont East Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing