We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”
Review of Mantra on Jolimont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra on Jolimont
Ranked #96 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great service. This hotel is a pleasure to stay in. The location is a short walk away form the city and near the sporting hub around the MCG. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for both business and pleasure. My stay has always been great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quintin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for your great feedback in relation to your recent stay with us! It's good to read you had such an enjoyable stay. I'll ensure your comments are passed on to the team and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Kind regards,
Dean Wilkinson
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,523 - 1,529 of 1,791 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great as we were in Melbourne for a sporting event and its only a short stroll to sports stadiums. The hotel is right next a train line so if your planning a sleep in forget it even with the windows closed you can hear the trains. Room itself wasnt bad very uncomfortable pillows as i like mine soft, these were very hard. Bed is not a queen as well its a double (we have a queen at home and this bed is smaller)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us. It sounds like our location was ideal for the sporting event you attended. I'm sorry that the pillows were uncomfortable for you. Please contact our Reception staff if you have an issue such as this in the future, we have spare pillows on hand, as well as the spare pillows located in the drawers in the room. Hopefully we can find a more suitable pillow for you next time. In regards to the bed, I can assure you that whilst the bed may have looked smaller, we don't have any double sized beds in the hotel. We provide standard size queens, as well as King Zip beds, which can be either a King or 2 singles. Thanks again for your comments, it's very much appreciated and we hope to see you back again next time you're in Melbourne for a sporting event.
Kind regards,
Dean Wilkinson
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom refurbished apartment. The rooms were clean, bathroom tired considering they had been recently refurbished. Temperature very hard to control in the shower. The room we stayed in faced the train/tram lines and even with the windows closed it was very noisy. Location very good, close to the MCG and nice stroll to the city.

Could easily here people outside the room, walking up and down the corridors.

Had a snack at the restaurant which was very. Ice, but unfortunately not open late.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the train/tram lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajjbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Good afternoon, thanks you for your feedback in regards to your stay with us. It was great to read you enjoyed aspects of your stay including value, cleanliness, service and the food in Boundary Line Bar & Kitchen. Our location was obviously ideal for your needs, which is great to hear. I'm sorry that you were affected by noise during your stay; please contact us directly if you stay with us again so we can ensure this doesn't happen next time. Thanks to your feedback we will certainly be taking the issues you have mentioned on board, including the bathroom issue & restaurant opening hours. Thanks again for your feedback & we hope to see you again next time you're in Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Dean Wilkinson
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We arrived at Mantra on Jolimont parter a 20 hour flight from Europe and in need of freshening up before a doctors appointment. The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful in finding us a room, even though ours wasn't ready so we could shower. The room was clean and quite roomy for a hotel room. The bed was very comfortable and very quiet once inside the room. Our 3 friends who also arrived to meet us for the weekend all had very roomy suites. We all paid the same price, and it was great value. The restaurant was very good for both dinner and breakfast. Only a short few minutes walk to the MCG and about a 15-20 minute walk into the city. Would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank majelaja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Good morning, thank you very much for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. It was great to read you had such an enjoyable stay! I'm glad that our rooms and location were ideal for your needs, and was good to hear that you enjoyed the Boundary Line Bar & Kitchen. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Kind regards,
Dean Wilkinson
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I was recently in Melbourne to watch my daughter compete at the National Gymnastics Championships at Hisense Arena (near Rod Laver Arena and not far from the MCG). The Mantra on Jolimont Street is walking distance to these arenas and very close to everything in Melbourne's inner city. The hotel is inexpensive and the staff were lovely. It's not opulent accommodation, but comfortable and good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us, it certainly sounds like you enjoyed your stay. I hope your daughter had a great time at the gymnastics championship. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to the team here. We hope to see you back next time you're in Melbourne.
Kind regards,
Dean Wilkinson
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Perfect location for MCG, Rod Laver venues. Our room was starting to feel a little tired in places but still fine. Staff were very helpful as we had a mix up with our booking. (not there fault) Would stay here again if we needed to be near these venues.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent stay with us. It sounds like our location was perfect for you, and was great to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime.
Kind regards,
Dean Wilkinson
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is situated only metres from the MCG which is what drew us as we were in Melb specifically for the football. Very convenient but not much to write home about from there.

The young girl at the reception had quite a hard time checking us in and I suspect she may have been new. Once we were finally in it was time to check out the room. Upon first inspection the room had a very musky smell to it and was very tired looking but comfortable enough.

It was then time for a shower and walking into the bathroom I noticed there was quite a bit of hair in the basin. Turning the shower on it took a good couple of minutes before the water heated up. From there I had 2 options - scolding hot or freezing cold. It was extremely difficult to maintain a constant temp.

We also had quite a few problems with the tv but wasnt a major issue as we werent there to watch tv.

We arrived for breakfast downstairs around 9.30am and noticed that a majority of the food was already gone. We asked the staff if more was on its way which took 15-20mins to arrive. Once it did it was well cooked.

On the whole the hotel was ok for the one night but very overpriced ($270 for the night w breakfast). We paid a more here for 2 single beds than we paid for a room at the Metropol (wotif) only a few months back which included 2 king size beds in a more comfortable environment.

I offered my feedback on check out but it seemed to be dismissed very quickly.

If you want a conveniently situated hotel for one night for the football then this is ok, otherwise my advice would be to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. I'm glad that our location suited your needs, however it's disappointing to read about the issues you had. Thanks to your feedback we have been able focus on the particular areas you have mentioned. We appreciate your feedback and can assure you that these issues are taken very seriously in order for us to improve our facilities and service. Please contact me directly if you plan to come to Melbourne for the footy again.
Kind regards,
Dean Wilkinson
Acting General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#80 of 161 in Melbourne
997 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#91 of 161 in Melbourne
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne on Flinders
Magnolia Court Boutique
#147 of 161 in Melbourne
217 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Jolimont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Jolimont

Address: 133 Jolimont Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#85 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £58 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Jolimont 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne offers the ultimate in flexibility in a CBD hotel with studio and one bedroom apartments that can interconnect to provide comfortable two bedroom accommodation. Services include 24-hour reception, room service, babysitting, daily room servicing and foreign currency exchange, outdoor heated swimming pool, fully equipped gymnasium and and on-site restaurant. Mantra on Jolimont is located close to some of the city's major sporting, entertainment and tourist attractions, The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne Park and the Fitzroy Gardens are on the hotel's doorstep while Federation Square, National Art Gallery, World Trade Centre and Crown Casino are also within easy reach. **Extremely limited car parking is available on site at Mantra on Jolimont at a cost of $25 per vehicle, per day. Your car may be moved to an off-site location when parking with us. Alternative self-parking options are available within a 10 minute walk from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra on Jolimont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Jolimont Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On Jolimont East Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing