We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large comfortable room”
Review of Mantra on Jolimont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on Jolimont
Ranked #93 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Large comfortable room”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel is ideally located adjacent to the MCG in East Melbourne. We had a large, very comfortable two room apartment with a small self contained kitchen area and separate bathroom. It was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and although close to the railway line was very quiet. The living area had a small dining table, two comfortable chairs and a lounge suite, flat screen TV with some Foxtel channels. Breakfast was served in the restaurant, consisting of a buffet with an adequate selection of the usual items. This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. Previously it was in a rundown state but since that time there has been a refurbishment. There is still the odd chipped tile but generally the room we had was in good condition and well maintained.

Room Tip: Ask for a two room apartment if you want a good space for a more extended stay or want to cook your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for your review of Mantra on Jolimont! I am glad you enjoyed your time here again, and found the property in an improved state to the last time you were with us. We are really happy with the refresh we performed on the furniture in the 1 Bedroom Apartments, with our Studios to receive the same treatment early next year.

We are ideally located for concerts and sporting at Rod Laver or the MCG - and I'm glad you found the train tracks not too noisy, occasionally we do have some light sleepers who are disturbed - for those reading this, please let us know directly on making your reservation with the property as we are always happy to take requests for rooms with a quieter outlook.

We'll look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    625
    310
    127
    60
See reviews for
361
458
129
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here twice now and on both occasions has been a very nice stay. Perfect spot just outside of CBD, walking distance to all the major spots. Why stay amongst the noisy streets of the city when this perfectly positioned property in the charming side of East Melbourne is ideal. Staff are very friendly and rooms are very relaxing (although a little dated). Definitely recommend it and will be back soon.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank BJ_Adelaide_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for your review - it was great to have you back again, and we'll look forward to seeing you for your next trip!

All the best,

Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my brother for a football weekend away for 2 nights.
Twin share two single beds with bed springs poking out !!
The furniture was faded timber that you would find at a trash and treasure market
When we complined they gave us another room at the same standard with better mattresses but this time the sheets had stains all over them.
The hotel looks nice externally and the reception looked inviting but once you got in the elevator to your floor it was backpackers all the way.
The hallways and walls were putrid and needs remodelling desperately, Oh and good luck getting into room with the keys as it takes 5-10 min of jiggling to open it..
I travelled from perth and my brother from the Gold Coast to stay here..
Don't waste your money here and don't believe the positive feed back from past forums like we did.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Trumpymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to document your experiences at Mantra on Jolimont. It saddens to to read about your time here, as you mentioned readiing through previous reviews, usually we hit the mark with our guests.

The maintenance items you have raised have already been addressed (thank you for bringing these to our attention during your stay) and as I mentioned below, the furniture in those rooms are certainly on our radar - with replacement due early next year, following the completion of our 1 Bedroom Apartments recently.

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Second time staying there and is acceptable for short stay. Room and restaurant need bit of upgrading, like varnishing the furniture etc. Wait was unacceptable in restaurant for dinner, when we had booked early as had to go out that night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sthntas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for posting a review of Mantra on Jolimont, I do appreciate you taking the time to document your thoughts regarding the property.

I am glad you again enjoyed some aspects of the property, and rest assured that we will be sure to action those items you have raised for our attention. We hope to have a replacement of furniture in our Studio rooms completed early next year, but in the meantime feel free to make contact with me directly as this replacement has taken place in our 1 Bedroom Apartments - I'd be happy to help arrange your next trip!

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

2 girlfriends and I stayed here for the night. On arrival we were given a free bottle of wine and vouchers for a free buffet breakfast. Such a good price. Such a good location, right in the city but a nice quiet area. Room nice and clean. Very happy with our stay and would definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chloejane92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to document your experience at Mantra on Jolimont. I do appreciate it and will be sure to share your comments with the team!

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for 6 nights and had the opportunity to eat at the restaurant for both Brekky and Dinner, meals were good as was the service. Our room was clean and functional, the only issue about the stay was that it took for ever to regulate the water in the shower, one minute the water would be scalding hot and cold the next. Overall a very enjoyable stay, would recommend that for traveller's heading to the footy or other sporting events

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezza361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to document your experience at Mantra on Jolimont. I was so pleased to read of your enjoyable stay, particuarly from such a seasoned reviewer! I do appreciate it and will be sure to share your comments with the team!

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colac, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is within a 2 walk minute to yhe MCG if you are in the Ponsford stand you hardly have much of a walk. Apartment style rooms would cut down costs as you are able to cook your own food.
Service was good at the front desk. Can't comment on room service or the maid service as we only stayed one night.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alphabet82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolimontMGR, General Manager at Mantra on Jolimont, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Good morning,
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! We are in a great position to make the most of your concerts and sporting at Rod Laver Arena or the MCG. Thanks also for your other 'traveller tips' regarding our apartment facilities - they are well equipped to make it a bit of a home away from home.

Warm regards,
Campbell Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#71 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#117 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Manhattan
Punthill Manhattan
#81 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#63 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Jolimont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Jolimont

Property: Mantra on Jolimont
Address: 133 Jolimont Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#84 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Jolimont 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the sporting and cultural hub of leafy East Melbourne opposite iconic sporting venue the Melbourne Cricket Ground and walking distance from the CBD, Mantra on Jolimont is the definitive crowd pleaser for guests who value convenience and comfort. Ideal for business and leisure travellers alike, Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne offers the ultimate in flexibility with studio and one bedroom apartments that can interconnect to provide comfortable two bedroom accommodation. Reflecting the Mantra hallmarks of offering stylish decor, quality service and great locations, Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne combines the benefits of hotel services with freedom and flexibility befitting a private city apartment. All one bedroom apartments include lounge and dining areas and fully equipped kitchens to provide the ideal home away from home, while studios and one bedroom apartments share a laundry with washing machine and dryer and feature 32" LCD TVs, in-house movies and tea and coffee-making facilities. Guests of Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne enjoy fabulous services including 24-hour reception, room service, wireless internet access, babysitting, daily room servicing, car parking ( fee apply and spaces are subject to availability upon arrival)and foreign currency exchange. Guests can also splash out in the outdoor heated swimming pool, work out in the new fully equipped gymnasium or dine in the on-site restaurant which serves modern Australian cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere. From Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne guests are located close to some of the city's major sporting, entertainment and tourist attractions. The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne Park and the Fitzroy Gardens are on the hotel's doorstep while Federation Square, National Art Gallery, World Trade Centre and Crown Casino are also within easy reach. Mantra on Jolimont Melbourne is a full non-smoking hotel. Car parking is an additional cost and is subject to availablity, not guaranteed. **Extremely limited car parking is available on site at Mantra on Jolimont at a cost of $25 per vehicle, per day. Spaces are subject to availability on a first come, first served basis and cannot be guaranteed under any circumstances. Your car may be moved to an off-site location when parking with us. Alternative self-parking options are available within a 10 minute walk from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on Jolimont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Jolimont Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On Jolimont East Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing