We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert
Ranked #114 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
tamorine mountain
1 review
“Great location, great accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2008

Fantastic budget accommodation, very clean & neat. Self contained, 4 separate spacious rooms - bed, bath, lounge, kitchen. Well appointed. Lovely quiet location within easy walking distance to MCG, City, trams, Bridge Road shopping, Fitzroy park. Friendly, well organised Reception staff. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — location, price, cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelling030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    81
    76
    49
    102
See reviews for
135
64
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2007

My family stayed in a Gipps Street two bedroom apartment overnight recently and while the accommodation was pretty basic, the location was quiet and it was certainly good value for money.

The location is a little way out of the city centre but we walked to Federation Square in around 15 to 20 minutes. There is also a tram stop located a very short distance away. A bonus was being able to park our small bus onsite for free.

The apartments are nothing special and the furnishings are a little worse for wear, but it was clean and comfortable with a good sized kitchen containing all you need for self catering. The bathroom was very small but workable and the beds were very comfortable with a king sized bed in the master bedroom, two singles in the other bedroom and a sofa bed in the living room. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

Overall, I'd have no problem staying at the City Edge again in the future.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — The furnishings were pretty old and drab.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lilylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bargara, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2007

Good clean place to stay,we had a studio apartment where the kitchenette is in the same room as bed. Well equipped. New ensuite/shower. Good towels and sheets.Only downside was we had a back apt and it had a view of a brick wall so ask for a front one. Also the vertical blinds weren't very good at keeping the security light out. good location,very quiet. not far to walk to Theatre and Chinatown. Was space to park car. All in all a good value place to stay while in Melbourne. They also had a laundry but i didn't see it. There is a lift too.Security was good.They did have 1 and 2 Bedroom ones as well.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiecruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2005

We stayed here for 7 nights during Melbourne Cup week in November 2005 when the city was absolutely packed and most hotels booked out. City Edge is a good 15 minute walk into the CBD but is a quiet oasis, close to Franklin Gardens one way and Richmond the other. The area (East Melbourne) is full of Victorian buildings and an interesting place to wander around. Brunswick Street in Fitzroy is within easy walking distance.

The suites each have separate kitchens and living areas. The decor standard is not up to a smart trendy hotel but is perfectly acceptable. There is ample free parking at the back and laundry facilities. If you're staying in Melbourne for any length of time I'd recommend this place as it gives you the space to settle in and relax. The reception is friendly and will help you book trips/taxis etc. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jet Set Jimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Adara East Melbourne
#112 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Central Business District
City Edge on Elizabeth Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tribeca Serviced Apartments
#45 of 132 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Birches Serviced Apartments
#38 of 132 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert

Property: City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert
Address: 179 Powlett St | East Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 132 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Edge Apartment Hotels East Melbourne is inner Melbourne's leading serviced apartment accommodation. Four boutique locations only walking distance from the CBD and MCG will have you in easy reach of all that central Melbourne has to offer. Our comprehensive range of apartments are available in studio - one bedroom - two bedroom configurations. All our apartments are designed with your comfort and convenience in mind and afford a prestige address in close proximity to the best of our city. For those seeking location, value and amenity City Edge Apartment Hotels is the perfect solution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Edge Apartment Hotel East Melbourne - Albert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing