We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Save
Melbourne Foodie Culture
19

Book in advance
from
£87.32
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Immigration Museum
from £87.32
More Info
from £12.96
More Info
from £62.98
More Info
from £52.39
More Info
Reviews (1,557)
Filter reviews
1,557 results
Traveller rating
812
568
135
31
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
812
568
135
31
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old customs house australian history well worth a visit couple of hours great insight beautiful building few hours visiting melbourne immigrants stories displays information ships nation population backgrounds video
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,298 - 1,303 of 1,557 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

What a bore. Been here three times on school excursions. Not very interactive like most museums are these days.

Thank michael_mrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The immigration museum is actually surprising the detail that is shown for the different years that the ancestors travelled to Australia

Date of experience: April 2011
Thank Brenny1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I never thought this Museum would be so interesting but it was well worth checking out. The Museum has a great overview of immigration in Australia, and how immigration has formed this nation to the great country it is today. It covers all periods, and also showcases the dark side of Immigration's history showcasing the plight of the indigenous people in the 1800's as well as the generation of British Children who were sent here for adoption. There is a great feature in the center of the Museum which showcases the interior of ships used for the immigration purposes.

Date of experience: March 2012
Thank Maritime_Historian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We're not really museum visitors generally but I thoroughly enjoyed the Immigration Museum and, like previous reviews, found myself moved to tears at the child migration exhibition. It seems that it was the making of some and the ruin of others, and I hadn't appreciated the fact that the children concerned were not, in fact, orphans but simply unwanted or from families who were unable to care for them. Would thoroughly recommend a visit there.

Date of experience: March 2012
Thank pem243
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Don't go there just because it's on the list, if you have no real interest in immigration this would be a useless journey

Date of experience: July 2011
Thank bobbyjosing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews