We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely could not recommend” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor House Serviced Apartments

Manor House Serviced Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manor House Serviced Apartments
Ranked #137 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely could not recommend”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Our stay in July 2011 was extremely disappointing. We had a 3 bedroom apartment at the rear of the building. The apartment was tiny with an exceptionally small living area, the door to one bedroom was unable to be closed as the beds filled the room entirely. The quality and condition of the apartments was very poor - tired paintwork, dented refrigerator, hooks hanging off walls, grubby tiling in bathroom. Noise from the train tracks at the rear of the building was instrusive, with no double glazing on the windows or balcony doors. We booked for 7 nights and left after 3 nights. As soon as we saw the apartment we indicated that it was not of sufficient quality but the reception was exceptionally unhelpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonnymouse888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    11
    3
    6
    9
See reviews for
10
11
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
QLD
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

My Occupation requires a lot of travel internationally and within Australia.  One of the uncertainties of this is: What will the accommodation be like? Good, reasonable or poor?

Accommodation is the key element of Travel (apart from getting there & back).

I would highly recommend the Manor House in South Yarra; having been staying there and at the previous Avoca Street location for the last 20 years, it really is my home away from home.  I spend around 40 nights annually in Melbourne over about 8 stays, and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

The rooms are all superbly maintained by an exceptional group of people, who will always do the extra things to make a traveler feel at home.  Small things like getting an extra baking dish (the units are all self contained) or an additional milk, or another bottle of wine.

With secure parking and 24 hour staffing you cannot pass up on the Manor House.

Terry Jones
Director
Back Bay Clothing Australia

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed at the manor house recently and checked in late as we got a late flight in. The guy at reception was rude making jokes to me and my friends that were not funny!
When we finally got to our two bedroom apartment it was tiny! We had no room to put our bags and to
Top it off we woke up at 7am to trains and busy traffic! Defiantly not 4.5 star Apartments. More like a 3 star. On the bright side the receptionist that was on duty the next morning moved us to a better room. The location is ok but for $240 a night, it is defiantly not worth it!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noname199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorHouseSouthYarra, Manager at Manor House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We respect your right to opinion but are surprised by your low scoring of our accommodations, particularly on location and cleanliness; we feel your ordinary ranking was a result of your negative first impressions and does not accurately represent the property.

The Manor House Apartments are rated 4 stars by that reputable AAA tourism board based on the hotel’s accommodation and facilities. Our rates are very competitive with a favourable value for dollar.

Our location is something that our guests describe as ‘brilliant’ and readily accessible to everything one could desire. We are located within walking distance of bustling Toorak Rd with an abundance of cafes and restaurants, and Chapel St, the fashion hub of Melbourne where a cosmopolitan of local and international boutiques await the passionate shopper. With supermarkets, galleries, entertainment venues and exciting nightlife only a stone’s throw away, the Manor House Apartment’s location simply cannot be beat.

We are surprised in particular on your judgement of the room cleanliness. Our housekeeping team are diligent and pride themselves on the presentation and cleanliness of our accommodations.

In addition to a practice of checking all arrivals prior to check in, we provide a daily service to guest’s that includes a thorough clean of both the bathroom and kitchen, in addition to the replacement of amenities.

We are pleased to hear you were satisfied with the apartment you were offered and subsequently moved in to the next day.

Once again, thank you for submitting your feedback. We appreciate guests taking the time to share their experience and use their comments as a valuable training tool in our quest to better our service.

Should you ever find yourself requiring accommodation in Melbourne in the future, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Yours Faithfully

Peter Sgro

Managing Director
Manor House Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We've stayed at the Manor House four times now, so have sampled four different apartments. The 'Corporate one bedroom' apartments are fine but the extra space of the Deluxe are much better, plus the Deluxe have a bath/shower whereas the Corporate only have a shower - just a personal preference!

The two bedroom apartment was gorgeous and had loads of room. The kitchens are all really well fitted with everything you need so you really can cook a meal if you want to, although this is a fantastic area for restaurants (in walking distance) to South Yarra.

The hotel is near the railway line but even when we stayed at that side of the building it didn't disturb us, although one night there was maintenance being done on the track and that was loud!

The whole place is really clean and the staff are lovely. There is also secure parking underneath the hotel.

My little grandaughter absolutely loved the little swimming pool - it's reallly cute.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DianaMariaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Apartment 105 - 3 bdrm sits on railway line - no double glazing!! Great!! Do u hear the sarcasm!!Had ground floor apartment under some apartment rats who made noise in their quarters all night!! Do you think anyone gave a s..t..?? Airconditioning vibrates throughout whole apartment so when have it on no one can sleep. In winter in Melbourne that makes it rather cold!! Staff can't possibly manage complaints ( nor refunds for extremely disgruntled guests) on their own when no management around on weekends - great autonomy!!! Let the place rot on weekends & trust me it does. Go somewhere else...anywhere else but here .....

Room Tip: A different apartment complex - away from railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Normalmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManorHouse36, Owner at Manor House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Dear,
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us and appreciate that you have have taken the time to report your concerns. We would now like the opportunity to respond to some of the complaints made.

The Manor House Apartments are located near the South Yarra Train Station, a major hub of transportation that conveniently provides transport to the CBD in under 10 minutes. Our close proximity to the train line is clearly shown on the map provided on our website and also on all third party booking sites - a location that at no time do we misrepresent.

We agree that the noise from the train can be disruptive to those occupying apartments at the rear of the building, and while you are correct in stating the glass is not double glazed, it is 10mm thick which is twice the thickness of a regular window pane. Naturally some guests are more noise sensitive than others, and we always do our best to resolve the occasional train-related noise complaint by moving guests to a room at the front of the building, which unfortunately was not an immediate option in your situation given we were fully booked during some dates of your stay.

We are dissapointed to hear that your experience at the Manor House was furhter spoiled by the noise generated from other guest apartments.

Our goal is to provide guests with their "home away from home" so it is unreasonable to suggest that we could, nor indeed should, police the internal activities of apartments. That being said, we treat all noise complaints seriously and all staff members are attentive to people returning back to the hotel during the late hours, asking them to keep the noise to a minimum while walking around the common areas (courtyard/lift/walkways). We regularly patrol the building overnight and contact any apartments that are generating excessive noise to respectfully ask them to be mindful of other guests.

We are puzzled however about your comments regarding the air conditioning unit. As a result of your complaint we have investigates and even had an electrician attend and it has tested without any vibrations. Again this may be put down to some people being more noise sensitive than others.

We would like to point out that once you discussed the problems encountered with our duty manager, he attempted to work with you to reach an agreeable solution.. It is regrettable that we could not move you right away given that we were 100% full, but you were offered several alternatives for the next night, one of which you eventually accepted and when followed up by reception confirmed you were much more comfortable in your new apartment.

Once again we are sorry to hear your stay at Manor House was not a positive one and apologise for any inconvenience that you may of suffered. We would like the opportunity to correct your negative impression and hope that you will consider staying with us again in future.

Yours Faithfully

Peter Sgro
Managing Director
Manor House Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

We will never stay here again. Run down and terrible service. Phone did not work for our 4 night stay. Reception was no help and just suggested we use the phone in the reception. Internet did not work and they did not help with this either. Kitchen was poorly suppied to even make a basic meal and furniture tired and old. Lounge too small for 2 bedroom apartment We could not all sit in the lounge at once. TV small and poorly positioned that you could not actually watch from the couch.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisbaneandtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
167 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

The apartment is just OK and very small. We booked a 3 bedroom but it was only the size of a 2 bedroom with a tiny living area. Much worse thoughis that this place is right on one of the busiest rail routes in Melbourne. Trains pass around every minute at peak time and then the goods trains roll through in the middle of the night. It was terrible and sleep almost impossible. rest of the place was acceptable and the cleaners did a good job. Only savinging grace is the location being close to city and Toorak Road shopping.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OskarandSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Chapel Street
Punthill South Yarra Grand
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#72 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Quest on Chapel
Quest on Chapel
#33 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Serviced Apartments

Property: Manor House Serviced Apartments
Address: 36-38 Darling St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kandy bungalow Mahaweli river front bungalow is a newly built hotel which provides budget accommodation when you are in this world heritage city-Kandy.The hotel is conveniently located just 1 Km from the main road just 5 minutes drive from the city center of Kandy. Mahaweli river front bungalow offers deluxe and budget rooms to suit the requirements of the guest.It is an ideal base to explore the attractions of world famous kandyan kingdom and many places of interest around the city limits.Tour packages.deluxe rooms & normal rooms.Restaurant & Delicious food.Banquet hall.Relaxing environment.2 KM to the Royal Botanical Gardens.Temple of Tooth-Kandy Lake-5 minutes drive.Pallekele International Cricket Stadium,Free trade Zone (BOI).Victoria International Golf Course.30 Minutes.Pinnawala Elephant Orphanage-a charming experience.Victoria Dam-Randenigala Dam-Panoramic view 45 minutes.Udawaththa kele–The forbidden Forest of the Kings of Kandy; which lends itself to the best of walkways.10 minutes.HISTORIC SITES–famous sacred temples:Embekke, Gadaladeniya, Lankathilaka, Degaldoruwa Raja Maha Viharaya-within 45 minutes drive. Hunnasgiriya,Knuckles Range,Hunnas Falls-One hours drive.“Meemure” tradition-able Village of Kings,during the Royal era of kings.One and half hours drive.Wildlife Randenigala One hours drive.Riiverston,Mini World’s End Can be reached within 2 hours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Manor House Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Manor Hotel Serviced Apartments
Manor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing