We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great - space to relax”
Review of Quest on Chapel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest on Chapel
Ranked #48 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Location great - space to relax”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Melbourne for 2 weeks which included Xmas and New Year. We selected this accommodation as it was close to trams, train, shopping and restaurants. We were not disappointed. This is a serviced apartment - full kitchen, dining table, lounge, flat screen TV opens onto small balcony. Large sliding door to a QS bed room (another TV) with ensuite - large shower, basin, toilet, washer and drier.

Coles is across the road so you can enjoy eating in or snacks. Lots of quality cafés restaurants and a short walk to Prahan Markets.

<$70 taxi to/from airport - $100 per week parking.

Negatives - water pressure in shower bad and hard to control temp, not a lot of storage for clothing if you stay for a longer time and nowhere to put cases. Not a lot of room to move about the bedroom.

Be aware no room service on Sunday or public holidays - but staff leave plenty of towels and toiletries.

Surprise bonus. You can see the New Years Eve fireworks from the balcony.

Beware parking officers - stopped for 3 mins on side road to ask for access to hotel car park - fined $144

Overall a good experience.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Granny-Mae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestonChapel, Manager at Quest on Chapel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you Granny-Mae for your review of Quest on Chapel. I'm pleased to here you enjoyed our facilities and wonderful views of the new years eve fireworks. We appreciate your concerns of the water pressure and temperature control, as we can now look into reasons for this. Any form of feedback is welcome to our team as we can only better our facilities from feedback from our guests. We hope to welcome you back in the future and once again thank you for staying and reviewing Quest on Chapel.
Kindest Regards
Renee Gramsbergen
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    158
    50
    11
    5
See reviews for
103
78
30
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

On this occasion travelling to Melbourne we stayed outside of the CBD and stayed at Chapel St. Got the best rate in the area at the Quest and found it to be great. Had a 1 bedroom unit, and it was quite large and had everything we needed. We didn't arrive until around midnight, and even though reception had closed they gave me a mobile number to call on arrival, and the night manager came down and checked us in no problem. Basically a place that does everything it says on the box, good location, easy checkin and a clean and quiet place to stay.

Definitely recommended if you want to stay in the South yarra area, one thing to consider is transport is a problem from the airport to get here, the airport bus only stops at CBD hotels, and it would be a decent cab ride from southern cross station, and the taxi fare from the airport is quite a lot as well. Just something to consider when staying in an away from the CBD area hotel in Melbourne

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bristraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Huge rooms with a separate living room,kitchenette ,well stocked .
Great helpful staff , good location on south yarra .easy to just walk down the chapel street
With plenty of lovely cafés & shops .the hotel offers great value for business traveller
Who doesn't mind eating out of hotel restaurants every day

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jbellani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Quest on Chapel was a great choice in hotel.. price wasn't over the top room was nice and clean upon arrival the lady who checked us in was smiling she was very helpful and was just lovely to deal with.. thankyou for a pleasant stay we will be back

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamcruskall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I stayed at Quest on Chapel in late February and thoroughly recommend it. On arrival I was greeted by friendly staff at reception (who were extremely helpful throughout my stay) and a box of chocolates in my 1 bedroom apartment (a lovely touch). The apartment (overlooking the playing fields) was lovely and had everything I could possibly need for a two night stay (or longer if you get the opportunity). Quest on Chapel is centrally located in South Yarra, opposite great cafes and restaurants and only a short walk to transport options in to the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lonnie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had a short stay here over the easter weekend. The staff here are friendly and the rooms very clean. The location here is great with a number of coffee shops close by. Being Chapel street it is a stone's throw from all the designer shops and trendy bars and restaurants of South Yarra. Overall a great place to base yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tezza5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#77 of 159 in Melbourne
330 reviews
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
1,674 reviews
Southbank
Quest on Dorcas
Quest on Dorcas
#12 of 159 in Melbourne
444 reviews
Central Business District
Quest on William
Quest on William
#57 of 159 in Melbourne
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Chapel

Property: Quest on Chapel
Address: 651 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#44 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest on Chapel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on Chapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Chapel Hotel Melbourne
Quest On Chapel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing