We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel with excellent service”
Review of Quest on Chapel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quest on Chapel
Ranked #64 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2009

The rooms are very clean and the staff is very friendly and very helpful. I stayed in this hotel 5 times so far and I can recommend it without any exceptions. The rooms are large and very well equipped.
The same friendly staff since years and it is always a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdoenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestonChapel, Manager at Quest on Chapel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2009

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us Quest on Chapel.
We are pleased that your experience was so enjoyable!
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 441 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2009

We have stayed in many apartments around Melbourne and this time decided to stay near Chapel Street.
Quest on Chapel is just off Chapel and Toorak which is a fabulous location for eating and shopping and quite close to St Kilda yet only a 15 minute tram ride into the city.
The 1 bedroom apartment we booked was roomy, clean and very adequate. The bathroom was a little tired and the water pressure not great but wouldn't stop us staying there again.
The staff were great.
We mistakenly booked the wrong weekend (coming from interstate) yet the staff were not fazed, they found us a room with no penalty etc and we were upstairs in no time.
Our only "negative" comment is that the breakfast, when included, is at a nice cafe but the cafe is at least a 10 minute walk away past many other, closer cafes.
We will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeHappyM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2008

We stayed at quest on chapel for a weekend in July and found that it was great for the price you pay! We had a 1 bedroom room which was very spacious. It has a large living area, 2 TVs (1 in the bedroom & 1 in the lounge), a decent size bathroom with a tub and a small balcony. The appartments are a 2 minute walk down to the main shops along chapel st and you also get a parking spot.
For the price you pay (under $200 a night), it was well worth it. Would definately stay here again if I want to be in toorak.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank fussytravelerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2007

I travel to Melbourne regularly on business and my accomodation is usually booked by work - this time they booked me into the Quest on Chapel. The apartments are huge- and I mean apartment, not just a room with a kitchenette. There was only me, but I was able to spread out - sit on the lounge, eat breakfast at the dining table and leave my work all over the desk. I even had a lovely little balcony. The kitchen is impressive for a studio, with great appliances.

I will defienitly stay again - price is good, space and finish exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LyndalPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2007

I have been travelling down to Melbourne for the past 4-5 years at and staying on average for at least two weeks in every month. I started staying regularly at the Quest on Chapel at least 4 years ago and I just love it. The things I love the most are: size and space, location, friendliness of the staff, cleanliness, fully equipped kitchens, separate modem line.
The apartments are just that - apartments ie so many times I have stayed in so-called "apartments" to find they are just studios with no real space/kitchen area. When I go away I really want to fell like I am at home. Even the "smallest" room at Quest on Chapel has a separate bed room area. All rooms have fully equipped kitchens and separate dining and living areas (as well as the separate bedroom of course). Some apartments have two bedrooms. The "fully equipped kitchens" are just that - fully equipped. Again, I have stayed in apartments that claim to be fully equipped but find that they are not ie I want to have at least most of the kitchen items I would have at home (eg: egg cups - how many apartments have egg cups? Quest on Chapel does).
The location is fantastic - easy stroll to the cafes and restaurants on Chapel Street and the Jam Factory of course. A slightly longer walk (or hop onto a tram) to get to Richmond and Church Street - and Bridge Road shopping. As I travel at lot when I am down here, I also like that I can get to most major arteries quite easily from this location. All rooms have a separate desk work-area and, as I use dial up to connect to the Internet, it is really nice to find a plcae that has a separate modem line so I dont have to disconnect the phone. There is, of course, direct Internet access in all rooms as well. Finally, the staff are really friendly and you dont feel like you are being treated as "number" and the place is always spotless. Things I dont particularly like are: the beds in some of the rooms are a bit hard but they tell me that they are gradually replacing them all, so that will be good. I try to get a room that I know has an "upgraded" soft bed. I also dont particularly like the parking. The car park is very small and if my hire car is very big, parking can be a nightmare. Other than those two small things I cannot find fault with the place and I thoroughly recommend it for business travellers who want somewhere comfortable where they can work and live.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank BrisCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Da quanto mi è parso di capire , ogni camera è molto silenziosa quindi nulla da dire
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorinoIskendera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#87 of 161 in Melbourne
347 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 161 in Melbourne
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
Amity Apartment Hotels – South Yarra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Chapel

Address: 651 Chapel St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chapel Street
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £104 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest on Chapel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quest on Chapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Chapel Hotel Melbourne
Quest On Chapel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing