We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Quest on Bourke

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest on Bourke
Ranked #104 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great location, easy walking distance to major sports venues, theatres & restaurants. The staff are very friendly and customer service orientated. Couldn't do enough for us when we had an issue with our room because of air con.
Just be aware that's not all apartments are the same. We booked a 2 bedroom exec apartment which wasn't up to our expectation, we were moved because of air con issue to another apartment which was 100% better than the other.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazpeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it. I am pleased your enjoyed the location and the service that our staff provided to you. I think that with the recent heat in Melbourne, there are a lot of locations that did suffer and were stretched to the limit as far as the air conditioning goes. During this time, we purchased additional fans and we would easily have been able to arrange one from reception for you. Next time, please feel free to let us know of anything to make your stay more comfortable we are always happy to assist with this. I can happily inform you that each wardrobe in each bedroom at the property has a full length mirror to assist with your preparation to enjoy the great central location that we have at Quest on Bourke. Thank you again for your feedback we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    196
    101
    41
    29
See reviews for
124
74
11
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed in a 1-bedroom executive apartment for 7 days. The apartment was large, especially the bathroom which had a full wall mirror and a corner spa bath which my toddler and we enjoyed. It was had a washer/dryer which was great as we were able to get half the laundry done instead of lugging a week's worth back home. There was also a full kitchen (oven, stove, dishwasher, microwave, fridge). Our apartment was on the 5th floor and faced another building opposite (Citadines on Bourke) so there wasn't much of a view from the window. However, we did not hear any traffic noise from the road. Front desk service was pleasant.

The best thing about the accommodation was undoubtedly the location. It was on Bourke Street, right in Chinatown where all the food is. There is a tram stop right outside the apartment, and a short 10 minutes' walk to the nearest free city circle tram stop (Parliament house). In the other direction, it was a 15 minutes' walk to the heart of the city (Bourke St Mall).

Some things to note: The apartment was showing its age, the carpet had stains in them, the bathroom wall tiles were starting to fall out, and the TV was very old and only showed the basic channels. The rooms have no soundproofing so you can hear doors opening and closing; It wasn't much of a bother except on Saturday night as there is a nightclub in an alley nearby.

Overall, we were happy with our stay and would recommend others to stay there too.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a higher floor (there are only 6 floors in the building).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vsej1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we sincerely appreciate it. You have made some really valuable observations which give us an opportunity to improve what we offer our valued guests here at Quest on Bourke. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We spent four nights here and were pleased with the overall experience. It is conveniently located in the centre if Melbourne. Rooms were large and clean. The fact of no free wifi was a negative in this day and age. Reception staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Have just had 5 nights here and highly recommend. Great location close to transport especially Skybus from airport and city circle tram. The apartments were modern and clean and serviced regularly. excellent and friendly service, we arrived early after our flight from New Zealand and the receptionist on duty (Mimi) arranged for our room to be serviced and said she would ring us when it was ready, within an hour we where called. What more could could you ask for. Would stay again. (-: Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete your review. We love having people stay who really embrace Melbourne - pleased you enjoyed the City Circle Tram and we love assisting our guests which maps and information on arrival. We would love to welcome you back any time, and I will most definately pass your positive feedback on to Mia ... I know it will make her day! Thank you again for taking the time to complete the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with a friend, following are Pro's vs Con's
Pros;
Great location
Easy to access via public transport & the skybus from the airport
The units are of a large size & there are opening windows in the lounges
The bathrooms are of a large size with a full wall mirror - so 2 people can easily use it
The housekeeping are friendly & made conversation
The queen bed was comfortable & not two singles pushed together
Con's;
The general/front staff have a fairly blase attitude
The white walls need a good sugar soap cleaning - can see finger/hand prints in the old dust on all the white walls - not good for asthmatics
The bath/shower needs new grouting & a good clean
The windows need double glazed - every night there were rubbish trucks outside in the alleyway which took about 15minutes every time.
The washing machine/dryer needs to be replaced with an actual model that cleans & then dries the cloths - the wash went for over an hour - washed more than once & did not dry even though it was on the number 8 cycle
The furniture needs replacing - couches sink in the middle/getting a bit worn
It was unsettling to have the t.v chained to the wall - it was an old model & not even worth thinking about taking due to all the new cheap better models available. It wasn't even a model where usbs could be connected. Only free to view or dvd's. It made me feel as if the unit was targeted more at the backpacker crew rather than professionals

Room Tip: Try not to get a room which faces onto the side/back alleyway - as the rubbish trucks came every nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghost_of_the_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we sincerely appreciate the time you took to complete this. We are undergoing an improvement programme for the whole property from bathroom regrouting to painting, this is being rolled out and will improve our guests experiences. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope that you give us the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future to replace your experiences with more positive ones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Spent one week in a two-bedroom apartment. Lots of plus points. Excellent location, right in the city with a tram stop right outside. Shopping and restaurants all within short walking distance. The apartment was spacious and had two bathrooms (excellent for a family trying to get ready at the same time). The main bathroom was large and had a jacuzzi and a separate shower stall. We stayed on the fourth floor and there was a balcony running outside the whole apartment. Generous with towels, had a selection of tea and coffee that was replenished daily. Very helpful and friendly front desk staff. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Fourth floor has large balcony running around whole apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate the time you took to write this and I have great pleasure in passing your positive comments onto the team here. We hope to see you again soon - thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just got back from weekend in Melbourne where we stayed at the Quest on Bourke. We found the apartments to be clean, comfortable and well fitted out. The beds were incredibly comfortable and got a good nights sleep. These apartments are central to everything making it easy to get around. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniemac8447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VW25, General Manager at Quest on Bourke, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you Annie for completing the TripAdvisor review. We really appreciate your positive feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality and your time in Melbourne. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#67 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Quest on Lonsdale
Quest on Lonsdale
#124 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Chinatown
Paramount Serviced Apartments
Paramount Serviced Apartments
#132 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Bourke

Property: Quest on Bourke
Address: 155 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest on Bourke features 61 spacious one and two bedroom apartments. With great features such as a fantastic welcoming team, 24 hour reception and a health club on the lower ground floor - the best location in Melbourne for shopping, dining, theatre or just exploring this great city. Why not consider Quest on Bourke for your next business or leisure trip to Melbourne? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Bourke Melbourne
Apartment Melbourne Quest
Quest On Bourke Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing