We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Unpleasant, Stay Away!”
Review of Royce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royce Hotel
Ranked #34 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely Unpleasant, Stay Away!”
Reviewed 1 October 2007

Booked two nights accommodation and when we arrived, found the room to be very small and very inadequate. Since there was a bar mitzveh underway, the hotel was full and therefore our request to move to a more reasonable room (we offered to pay extra) couldn't be fulfilled. We left the hotel and found other accommodation. We were charged for the full two night stay. Management was rude and did not respond to my calls or emails to explain why two nights' accommodation charge was processed. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Room was very small, management are rude
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elpuncho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    421
    109
    51
    33
See reviews for
79
576
67
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2007

This hotel has been really nicely renovated. The balcony room was very nicely appointed and modern. The bathroom was also new and very nice. The shower didnt leak. There were slippers and gowns provided. It felt almost on a par to the Westin room-wise.

The restaurant had a very good breakfast with fresh fruit and freshly baked goods which is always a good sign.

The staff were nice altough not the most helpful for tourist info. Thats a small gripe.

The location is excellent, very close to the city centre and on a busy tram route so we never waited more than a few minutes for a tram.

  • Liked — Room, location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank VietnameseNoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2007

This was the second time I stayed at the Royce and the first since the renovations. I booked via a special on the internet and at $200 a room with breakfast per night, felt it was good value. However I certainly wouldn't pay too much more given the beds and pillows were too firm and the decor of the renovated rooms a little dark.
On the positive side, the room service was excellent, as were the breakfasts. The buffet was on the simple side but had everything that I liked. In particular the pastries and muffins were sensational. The location of the Royce is convenient as it is right on the tram line and is only a 10 minute ride into the centre of town.
The staff were friendly and efficient. When I didn't get my paper one morning, I subsequently received 3 complimentary papers to read!
All up a good stay but try not to pay much more then $200/night!

  • Liked — big plasma tv
  • Disliked — firm bed and pillows
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sausagedog500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

Stayed here for one night and it was okay, but not 5 star. we had a balcony with a lovely view, nice and quiet. Small room although nicely decorated, bathroom way too small, in particular the shower which leaks water onto the tiles (no shower screen, hardly safe). Lighting in the bathroom is dreadful for doing make up and no hooks to hang robes etc on. Also the light switches are very difficult to find and understand in the middle of a dark night! Breakfast was in a pleasnat enivroment but standard fare.
Staff at front desk have no personality at all. Although it was reasonably priced.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom and lighting
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank libstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2007

Good Points: Room was modern, breakfast at the Amber Room was OK

Bad Points: When you stay at 5 Star you expect 5 Star service. We got one of the dreaded second floor rooms beside a lift. Our request for a change of room was met with 'there are absolutely no other rooms available'. This was completely unbelieveable; we were staying on a quiet Sunday night. We persisted and finally, after threats of calling the hotel Manager at home, were grudgininly shown a mezzanine room on the first floor - street level and hideous (see other reviews for the "delights" of these rooms and the accompanying tram/street noise).

So we ended up back in our second floor room beside the lift. Noisy elevator. Noisy air conditioner (had to turn it off). Wet bathroom floor (almost killed myself on the wet tiles). No bath (only pathetic shower with water that goes beneath shower door onto tiles hence wet floor). Shocking service.

If you want anything like 5 Star avoid this place like the plague; much better service for the same price in Melbourne elsewhere. I'll never stay at Royce again and I certainly wouldn't dream of recomending it to anyone for either business or pleasure. Look elsewhere! You have been warned...

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank BusinessClassExile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2007

We stayed at the Royce over New Years when all the other 5 star hotels were booked out or really expensive. The Royce was the cheapest and I suppose for that reason I shouldn't complain too much. But why they insist on calling themselves 5 star I do not know as even with a cheap price people still expect a certain level from a 5 star hotel. Examples....no bathrobes (even though the hangers were in the cupboard with the purchase spiel on them) so I had to phone for one, asked for Weekend Aust delivered in the morning and got Herald Sun, they shut their bar at 10pm on NYE despite being guests in there and people coming in (I asked reception and they don't normally shut that early) - it was obvious the bar staff did not want to be there, we booked a deluxe room (not the cheapest) - no bath which is just plain annoying, the electronics were stupid and badly designed, SO complicated that it was ridiculous - the plasma TV would not turn off by remote, bedside lights were above you so if one wanted to read, the other person had a stupid down light shining down. I could go on....

Anyway we had a nice stay, decent price, lovely location, comfy bed, apples in reception, fox sport, great view from our room however I wouldn't be rushing here to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank or_elsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2006

After seeing your awful reviews I felt absolutely compelled to write something nice about this stunning hotel.

My boyfriend and I stayed here last year. The staff at check-in were beyond friendly - extending our check in time and throwing in a free full breakfast!

The room was modern, lovely and clean. We managed to sleep very well!

We had room service which was far better than any other I have had (room service is usually pretty poor) and breakfast in DISH was truly one of the best breakfasts I've ever had.

I have already recommended this hotel to all my friends.

PLEASE don't listen to those in our community who clearly had their hearing aids switched up one too many notches!

GREAT hotel!

  • Liked — Rooms are really comfortable and modern. Staff are very friendly and professional - breakfast was JAW-DROPPING
  • Disliked — I honestly can't think of anything.
  • Tips/Secrets — www.wotif.com - cheap deals!
  • Stayed September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lollly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
2,057 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#28 of 160 in Melbourne
2,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Quest on Dorcas
Quest on Dorcas
#15 of 160 in Melbourne
469 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Property: Royce Hotel
Address: 379 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royce Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Melbourne's designer boutique hotel, perfectly located on St.Kilda Road next to the stunning Royal Botanic Gardens. The CBD, Southbank precinct, Melbourne's art and theatre district and the fashionable Chapel Street are all within a short tram ride away. The hotel features a lounge bar, award winning restaurant, private outdoor courtyard, business area and meeting facilities. Once renowned as Australia's most glamorous automobile showroom in the 1920s, the Royce housed prestige vehicles such as the Rolls Royce. While the exterior of the historical building retains its classical features, the architects and designers have redesigned a modern and chic interior to suit the discerning traveller. They have depicted a unique accommodation experience by creating a hotel that is distinctively different from any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royce Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing