We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The one time I don't check tripadvisor first...”
Review of Royce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royce Hotel
Ranked #38 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2008

The Royce's website is very deceiving. We check in for one night and planned to stay in Melbourne another night. We ended moving the second night to Crown Promenade.

Room smelt. Bathroom was awful, Drain in floor flooded when we showered. Bartender could not make cocktail I ordered. restaurant was closed and room service menu awful. There was no place to park when we arrived at 6pm on Sunday night. We had to check in, go back to our car to get our bags and bring them to the room ourselves (while the three staff stoof behind front desk watching me struggle with the bags). 5 star it definately is not...

Breakfast that was included in the restaurant was awful. Nothing else to stay but we would never stay again or recommend anyone stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Maricris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,224 - 1,230 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2008

We booked a 5 night stay at the Royce over the Easter weekend, and like other reviewers we were very disappointed with the rooms. Our room smelt like an ex-smoking room with lots of air freshener added to attempt to disguise it. The bathroom was definitely not renovated, around the edges of the shower the sealant contained copious amounts of black mould (note to housekeeping... this is something that could easily have been rectified with bleach).

Housekeeping continually turned the temperature down to 17 degrees after each room service meaning we walked back into an icebox each evening.

The restaurant closed Friday, Sunday and Monday of the long weekend... extremely frustrating for a five star (?) hotel with all decent restaurants at least a 10 minute cab ride away. Minimal room service was available (from the bar menu) and the food was substandard.

The final straw on the camels back was when housekeeping managed to clean our room in the morning and leave our room door wide open until we returned (about 5pm) with all of our valuables (laptops/ jewelry etc) exposed to all.

We received a perfunctory apology and an offer of a bottle of champagne with advice that housekeeping had "forgotten" to close the room when they finished.

We had a lovely trip, but there is no way we will ever stay with the Royce again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank niknak1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2008

They may have tarted up the reception area and added a few new rooms but this hotel is definately not 5 star and not boutique! From the moment we walked in staff were not what you would describe as friendly and could hardly manage a smile the whole time we were there. We had arrived on an early flight and my husband needed to iron a shirt for work - when he enquired about doing this he was told they couldn't help him. After checking with the Manager they changed their mind.

The worst bit was when I went back to check in that afternoon. I lay on the bed and was astounded to discover the room they had put us in didn't even have a proper bed - it was a foldaway bed that was very small, had roll together and you could feel the metal frame coming through the mattress. It was next to the conference room and apparently they fold the bed away into a cupboard and use the rooms for meetings! How many 5 star hotels would put their guests into a fold up bed?? They then charged us extra to change rooms just to get a proper bed.

The floor in the lobby was dirty, the staff were rude and mostly unhelpful and the rooms that haven't just been built are very standard shabby mass style hotel rooms. Other things went wrong when we accidentally left our passports in the room safe only realising after check-out. our fault I admit but it took 5 phonecalls over several hours to get someone to go up to the room to retrieve them (despite ringing early they didn't get them before they checked new guests into the room). Then over the course of the next few hours I was told each time I rang that they were too busy with other guests and parking cars to go and get them.

Do yourself a favour and don't stay at the Royce!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WellingtonWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2008

We booked a night at the Royce hotel online. The rating was 5 star, but the room we got was definitely not 5 star. It was clean but a bit dated and stuffy as the windows couldn't be opened at all. The staff were quite efficient on our check in, in the late afternoon. We came back later in the evening and wanted to park our car and were told they had a valet service for $20 (AUD). This price seemed quite high for overnight parking, but for convenience we paid. The next morning on check out we asked about getting our car and were told it would take 10 minutes. We waited at the reception and it seemed that nothing was happening. After about 20 minutes my husband asked about the car (as we were being ignored). The original staff member with whom we checked out was busy with other guests luggage and was nowhere to be seen. We were told that someone would get the car. Another 10 minutes and we asked again. Still no car. It took over 30 mins to get our car and we saw that one of the reception staff had to do this. They explained that someone was blocking the car and that was the issue. The fact that were were ignored and not offered any explanation as to what was going on was frustrating. If a hotel can't offer an efficient valet service then it shouldn't be offered at all. Our lasting impressions of the hotel were poor.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Milo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Royce Hotel in January as a little get away for 3 nights.

I would have to say the place was pretty ordinary.

Room service rarely answered the phone.

The hotel also hosted weddings and so getting to sleep with the loud celebrations and the wedding guests making loud noises out in the street outside your window was horrible! We were constantly woken up because of this.

The staff were extremely rude. I would say hi and they would simply ignore me, and they obviously did not know what a smile was.

I definitly would never go back there again. Even though it says five star I do believe you'd get better service from a 4 star!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2007

My wife and I recently stayed at the Royce Hotel for 3 nights. The service was terrible, our room was dark and extremely stuffy (probably because the windows were sealed shut), the bathroom was dated (obviously overlooked as part of the recent renovations), the food was ordinary, and we even managed to get stuck in the lift (and to make things worse, the emergency bell in the lift doesn't seem to work).

On the bright side, we did manage to move to one of the rooms on a higher floor (which was brighter and opened onto a terrace) and the location of the hotel is great.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend a stay. You can find much better accommodation elsewhere for the same price.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaijinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2007

We live in Melbourne and booked a room at the Royce for a special night in town to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I was disappointed from the moment I walked into my room. Our room was on the ground floor at the end of a hallway not too far from reception. It was dark, gloomy and much smaller than I had anticipated. Also, the room and the entire hallway had a very humid feel to them and it wasn't a particularly hot and humid day.

We had dinner at a nearby restaurant and returned to our room around 11pm. At some point in the evening after we'd gone to bed and were asleep, we were awoken by fellow hotel guests returning back to the neigbouring rooms who were very boisterous in the hallways. There was space under the door that allowed not only every single noise from the hallway to come through to the room, but the hallway light as well. I personally prefer quite a dark room to sleep in and found it difficult to sleep with the amount of light that was seeping through the door. The noise was relentless though, you could hear every door open and close on the hallway and people walking up and down and chatting--even at reasonable tones.

The shower in the bathroom had obvious mildew in it--it could have been cleaner.

There were meant to be robes and slippers in the room and there were none to be found.

We had requested a King Bed but were given a room with a "Queen Bed" although it felt smaller than that even.

The only saving grace of our entire experience was the breakfast at Dish restaurant the following morning. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff very friendly.

I won't stay at the Royce again...I'd rather catch a cab back to our own house and listen to the cries of our own children instead of the comings and goings of every guest on the floor of our hotel.

A special evening....ruined!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,176 reviews
Docklands
Peppers Docklands
Peppers Docklands
#28 of 161 in Melbourne
1,133 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
1,125 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Address: 379 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £88 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royce Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Melbourne's designer boutique hotel, perfectly located on St.Kilda Road next to the stunning Royal Botanic Gardens. The CBD, Southbank precinct, Melbourne's art and theatre district and the fashionable Chapel Street are all within a short tram ride away. The hotel features a lounge bar, award winning restaurant, private outdoor courtyard, business area and meeting facilities. Once renowned as Australia's most glamorous automobile showroom in the 1920s, the Royce housed prestige vehicles such as the Rolls Royce. While the exterior of the historical building retains its classical features, the architects and designers have redesigned a modern and chic interior to suit the discerning traveller. They have depicted a unique accommodation experience by creating a hotel that is distinctively different from any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royce Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing