We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Sleep Over”
Review of Royce Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royce Hotel
Ranked #40 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Well I have to say that it was absolutely lovely. I had been to the Royce before for a conference and it was most enjoyable. This time had to stay overnight in Melbourne and was a last minute booking. A quirky chic boutique hotel with stylish décor. Staff were incredibly friendly at the counter and I bumped into a few of the house cleaners who were all happy to smile and friendly to talk to in the lift. Spotlessly clean rooms, I ordered room service - fantastic food from the 'Dish' .... Seriously, if its still on the menu when you go.... you have order the Lamington Trifle - chocolate mouse, coconut, raspberry sorbet and a mixture of other textures... delicious!!! A real treat after a long day! Very comfortable bed, pillows and toiletries were good quality.(No nasty chemicals).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bunchof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

938 - 944 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have been here twice now. Happy enough as it is a good location for me, relatively nice and comfortable rooms - once you work out the lights. I have found the staff friendly and helpful. Love the foyer area. Travelling for business this has been great, however there would probably be other establishments I would choose if I was paying. All in all though, nice enough.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed at Royce hotel in a standard room that had a king bed, was very comfortable and room was clean. We had a room with a balcony which was lovely. Staff were very helpful and the 11o'clock checkout was great. Breakfast in the hotel the next morning was also very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is our 2nd stay at the Royce as we really like the decor and individual look of their room types. When we stayed 3 years ago the service team were friendly and helpful and engaged with guests.
This current crew were courteous but cold and detached - doing the minimum to assist. I wonder what management is like?
For the overall hotel experience a friendly crew to greet you on arrival, during one's stay and at departure is what makes a hotel unique.

Room Tip: Most rooms are great! But we feel that as were booked on Trip Advisor we were given the room the far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mitch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Loved this place. Hope to be going back soon.
The whole hotel and room was very nice. Everything felt new and modern.

Ate in the restaurant downstairs. The food was great. I note fore other travelers (not really a fault) that when you order entrée size - it really is just entrée size.

We stayed on the weekend so parking on the street was free. Weekdays would be an issue.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BenMGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The suite we stayed in was very nice...only issue was some mould in the shower...it's not so noticeable when dry...but turns black when wet (room 318 for the cleaners). The staff were really nice, but we're not very "switched on". We booked the romance pacake for 2 nights...which includes a bottle of Chardon for each night. When we arrived it was not in the room so it was going to be sent up....but it didn't arrive so we left to go to the movies and I asked for it to be there on our return, which it was. On the second night I rang an hour before we were going out to dinner for the champs, but it didn't arrive again. At check out the next morning I had to ask if I could take it with me. I was given another brand of champs with no explanation. The whole thing was very awkward. Why have a package that includes things and then make the customer chase you for it???...and even then it doesn't arrive? The hotel itself is great...but the difference between a real 5 star establishment and the Royce is this attention to detail. At almost $700 for 2 nights you should not have to ask more than once for what you have already paid for. We got forgotten twice...I'll go somewhere else next time. It kind of killed the romance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in a standard room it was huge compared to other hotels of the same price, with a king size bed our room faced st Kilda road & the noise level was minimal. breakfast was included in our package and was great lots of hot choices and fresh seasonal fruits & cereal, we also had dinner in the restaurant . The location for us was perfect as we had a car we were just outside the city so access to the hotel was so easy and getting out of the city just as easy as this was by passed. will defiantly be returning. Tram stop just outside the door if you needed it

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Olivia A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melbourne
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,285 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Quest on Dorcas
Quest on Dorcas
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
625 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Lyall Hotel and Spa
#97 of 161 in Melbourne
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royce Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royce Hotel

Address: 379 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#48 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £90 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royce Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Melbourne's designer boutique hotel, perfectly located on St.Kilda Road next to the stunning Royal Botanic Gardens. The CBD, Southbank precinct, Melbourne's art and theatre district and the fashionable Chapel Street are all within a short tram ride away. The hotel features a lounge bar, award winning restaurant, private outdoor courtyard, business area and meeting facilities. Once renowned as Australia's most glamorous automobile showroom in the 1920s, the Royce housed prestige vehicles such as the Rolls Royce. While the exterior of the historical building retains its classical features, the architects and designers have redesigned a modern and chic interior to suit the discerning traveller. They have depicted a unique accommodation experience by creating a hotel that is distinctively different from any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royce Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royce Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing