We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff - Is it 5 star though?”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #30 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great staff - Is it 5 star though?”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Booked one night via Wotif in a 'traditional room'. On arrival staff were very good and the pianist playing added to the atmosphere. The public areas on the surface do look good and reflect the historic nature of the hotel although closer inspection the hotel overall looks a little tired. Wouldn't recommend the traditional room as it was small, some of the furniture had seen better days and you could hear everybody walking past & creaking floorboards above. The 'deluxe' rooms may be better as most of the reviews here suggest

Saying that ALL the staff were fantastic, in fact possibly the best ever experience, and my wife loved te historic look and feel (hence the Very Good rating).

Room Tip: Don't go for the traditional rooms ... small and no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davejlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear Davejlewis,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and found our service to be helpful and efficient. This year we are about to celebrate our 130th anniversary and with this does come some challenges. We are continually moving around the hotel addressing certain areas and are currently working and close to completion in our guest rooms painting in addition new bedding, wireless internet and bedside lighting have all been additions in recent months.

We do have a number of room types available and yes our Traditional Rooms are queen bedded and suited to short stays however as you said other, larger rooms are available which are more suited when holidaying in Melbourne.

Once again thank you fro your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,154
    2,222
    818
    230
    110
See reviews for
1,050
4,066
555
1,095
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Lake CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I spent three nights at the Windsor last week.
After a day I got used to the stuffy, mouldy smell about the room.
The tiny bathroom and shower was reminiscent of a 3 star hotel in Europe.

After wandering around the hotel I decided to put up with it. The haunted house feeling
Mad it a quirky place to stay. It must have been a great hotel in 1883 when it opened!

Probably a great place in WW1 1914, or during WW2 1944, maybe it was good in the sixties
When you paid in pounds, pence and schillings.

It's really tired now. Unless you book a suite the rooms are tiny. The staff are not helpful and
You are made to feel unwelcome.

I ended up at the Windsor after booking the "Wotif" mystery deal.
After arriving I asked if my rate was available for the next 5 nights.

Two days later I learned that they were charging me almost double!

I asked for the manager to call me when he was free. He said, " if you don't like it, leave".
They don't have Wi-fi, so I checked into the Mariott for $80 a night less in a fantastic room that was twice as big, great service. Excellent free wi-fi, super meals, much bigger bed, Bigger tv,
So I spent 5 nights there. They are great, super friendly!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackOntheroad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear JackOntheroad V,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at The Hotel Windsor.

I am sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations. Since receiving your review I am following up with our Reservations Manager the description attached to your mystery deal to ensure that the description clearly describes our hotel.

The "mystery" deal purchased was unfortunately only limited to certain dates and I am looking into this with my Front Desk team to ensure they provide all of our guests with accurate information about room rates.

Our hotel is equipped with a newly installed wireless internet system throughout and is available for use in all guest rooms and public areas.

I do thank you for your honest review as it does give us a chance to look at areas which need improvement.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Werrington NSW
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We loved everything about this historic hotel. From the moment we arrived, the staff treated us like royalty. We booked through a discount online accommodation service and were pleasantly surprised when checking in to be upgraded to a deluxe room - amazing! We really appreciated the spaciousness - as well as a king size bed there was a writing desk and lounge area - so nice to come 'home' too! The hotel has old world charm with quality furnishings. We would definitely ask for this type of room, overlooking Spring Street and Parliament House, when booking again.
Location suited us well as we were able to walk to Rod Laver Arena for the tennis and Federation Square, Southbank, shops and famous laneway cafes. If we needed anything, the staff were there to assist.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a quiet room with double glazed windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear Sue G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Hotel Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our location so close to Rod Laver Arena and the Australian Tennis Open. Please know that I will be sharing your kind words with our team and I can assure you that they will be most appreciative.

Once again thank you and we do hope to welcome you "home" in the not too distant future.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
375 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The Windsor was good back in 1999, and lived up to my expecations in 2012. We had a superior King on 1st floor (a great Wotif deal) and found everything very comfortable and stylish to the times of the building - loved the staircase, and all the public areas are in great shape. Our package included breakkie and it was the full buffet deal, which was quality food, well presented with discreet service. The free circle line tram stops just outside the door so getting around the city was a breeze, so we think our nest stay in Melbourne will be again at the Windsor

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear Colin S,

Thank you for once again choosing us as your home whilst in Melbourne.

To hear that we are still providing the same service as we did on your previous stay thirteen years ago is simply fantastic. We continued to aim high and to provide all of our guests with professional and friendly service.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future and I hope you too have the opportunity to stay in the near future.

Once again thank you and as always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We have been here several times over the years to celebrate special occasions and it never changes, we even recognise a lot of the staff. Exceptional service from Concierge, Reception, Housekeeping and Dining Room staff and Im sure the Kitchen staff if they ever ventured out would provide the same. Yes its old but thats the charm of the old girl and you cant fault the location with the free City Circle tram outside the front door. The breakfast spread is plentiful and would suit all tastes and you dont need to eat lunch after you have eaten it. Afternoon tea is also a treat not to miss. The one thing that makes the Windsor stand out is the attention to detail and service for all guests not just the rich and famous. Thank you for making our Anniversary a special one, see you next year.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper you may prefer an interior room away from the occasional Tram noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter2651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear Peter2651,

thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and and that you found our service exceptional which is of course what we aim for.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future for a weekend escape or your next Anniversary.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

A gorgeous charming atmosphere for this hotel. We booked through an online special offer but then upgraded directly with the hotel to a larger room . The room was spacious and comfortable. There was a little annoyance with the check in but it was rectified, which left us wanting to come back, and which we appreciated.

We have stayed at the Windsor a few times as we love the old world approach. The staff on the whole were very pleasant and professional. There is just something about the Windsor that leaves you wanting to return. If you stay at the Windsor you much eat at European which is a stones throw.

Room Tip: I think it is worth upgrading to a superior room, the rooms offer more space and third floor room ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear carmen p,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne, but more importantly for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room to be spacious and comfortable and that we were able to arrange the ideal room type when you contacted us.

I will be sharing your kind words with my team and I am sure they will be most appreciative. The European just a minutes walk from the hotel is fantastic and I do agree with you it is worth a visit.

Once again thank you and I do look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wingham, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

After walking The Great Ocean Track from Apollo Bay to the 12 Apostles my adult daughter and chose an extremely hot late November afternoon to dress up and celebrate. The Afternoon Tea was a perfect choice. The large dining room was a perfect temperature and we were attentatively served throughout the sitting.The sandwiches were magic and we enjoyed several teas. The history and ambience of the hotel was wonderful, and all the staff very friendly and helpful.
This was one of the highlights of our holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrelfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Front Office Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear barrelfish,

Thank you for reviewing your recent afternoon with us.

It sounds like you have had a wonderful time visiting Victoria's great outdoors and what a fantastic way to finish your trek with our famous Afternoon Tea.

Please rest assured that I have forwarded your kind words onto our Director of Food & Beverage so that he can share them with his team which I am sure they will appreciate.

Once again thank you and we do look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne.

As always we remain at your service.

Kind Regards
Nick McLennan
Front Office Manager

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,345 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,286 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Property: The Hotel Windsor
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelClick, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing