We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #26 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Everything was excellent, from when we checked in to when we checked out. The Windsor is a magnificent hotel. Even the staircase is so grand that we, like many others, could not resist using it (and there are lifts for anyone who is unable to use the stairs).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Des T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Des T,

Thank you for your review, it s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Hotel Windsor.

Our grand staircase really is something special to see and experience, none other like it in Melbourne.

We aim to offer all of our guests consistent professional service so to hear that we have on this occasion really is fantastic and will be shared with our service team.

Once again thank you and until next time we remain, at your service.

Kind regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,764 - 7,770 of 8,720 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

I always use The WIndsor, it is close to my office and has great character! Facitlites are great, however some rooms can be a bit small but I love the personality of the hotel.It is one you remember, not just a hotel you stay in! Staff are always helpful and friendly and the locations is great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Lisa C,

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Windsor as your home whilst in Melbourne.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found both our hotel and it's service to be of a high standard. I must also agree with you about our location (although bias) the 'Paris End' of the city really is lovely in the Spring time.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back when next visiting Melbourne.

As always we remain, at your service.

With kind regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

whilst this is no doubt a beautiful old hotel, unfortunately it does need some "urgent" upgrading. We were booked in for 2 nights 6th and 7th december. On reaching our room on the 4th floor, on a day that melbourne only reached 20 degrees, we felt we were entering a sauna, disappointed to find out there is actually no air conditioning. When the porter arrived with our luggage, he showed us how to work the fan (made no difference) he then got out his key and unlocked the window, which did indded help with the heat.
We needed to leave the window open to allow for air circulation, which unfortunately meant that every single noise form the bars and clubs down below reverbated into the room. Friday nights party music finished at 0310, but partying went on all night.
saturday the temperature in melbourne got up to 24 degrees, so room even hotter, and partying went on most of the night as well.
So what was meant to be arelaxing city break - was relaxing, but we had minimal sleep!
I am very sorry to say, I would be unable to stay in this hotel again, due to the above, though staff very helpful, which is realy a shame because it is indeed a beautiful place. How hot will this room be when melbourne hits the 30's and then the 40's???

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rose1059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Rose1059,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Hotel Windsor.

I would like to sincerely apologise for the most comfortable stay due to problems with your room's air conditioner and I hope that if contacted that our Reception team and Assistant Manager were of assistance to you as another room may have been an option.

I understand that now writing to you today does not rectify for your uncomfortable stay however I do hope that in the future we may be given again the pleasure of your company with the aim of leaving you with memories far more befitting The Hotel Windsor.

As always I am contactable at the hotel and do hope to hear from you in the future.

With kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

What a treat to stay in such a historic location, with all the best features still intact. I had a lovely bath and enjoyed the free internet. The staff were extremely helpful as well. The only thing I was surprised about was the lack of a microwave. Perhaps it doesn't fit with the Victorian theme, but it is extremely useful to have!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Tessa L,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service team were most helpful.

Unfortunately our 180 rooms and suites do not offer microwave facilities however if required on your next stay please do let us know as we may be able to assist in our kitchens.

I hope that your time spent in Melbourne was lovely and we look forward to welcoming you back when next visiting Australia.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

As a regular returning guest to the Hotel Windsor, it is my number one choice for accommodation in Melbourne - my Melbourne home away from home. More than a place to stay, the Hotel Windsor provides a luxurious experience of professionalism and pampering. Step back in time and enjoy the diligent and dedicated service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elsa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Elsa G,

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and for reviewing your most recent stay.

To hear that our hotel is your home away from home is simply wonderful and I really must congratulate and thank our service team for taking such good care of you during your visits. Please be assured that I will be sharing your review with the team.

Until next time we remain, as always at your service.

With kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We were only in Melbourne for one night for a function and as such didn't spend much time in our room but it was a wonderful experience. The room was well appointed and very clean. The bed and pillows were incredibly comfortable and the staff were all fantastic, especially Russell who helped us with directions. He was knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Chir L,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time in Melbourne and that in particular our bedding and pillows were extremely comfortable. As a side note the Windsor Pillow and bedding range is available for purchase.

Please also be assured that I will pass on your kind words to Russell our Doorman. I am sure he will be most appreciative.

Until next time we do, as always remain at your service.

Kind Regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Thank you for a wonderful experience staying at the Windsor Hotel.

The facilities are exceptional. We were upgraded to a Windsor Suite, which I must say, is outstanding. The staff were very professional and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting this beautiful hotel in the not-too-distant future.

Thank you.

Warm regards,


Carmen Ebinger (Mrs)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carmen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Carmen E,

Thank you so much for your kind words of both our hotel and our service team. If is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Windsor when next visiting Melbourne. Until then we do, as always remain at your service.

With our warmest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
827 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
951 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
6,060 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#25 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £83 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing