We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect except for...”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #30 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Lymington
1 review
“Perfect except for...”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Everything was perfect except for the lack of sleep on a Saturday night. Somewhere, nearby , music played into the wee small hours and kept us awake. Apart from this our stay in Melbourne and at the Windsor, in particular, was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Graeme A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Mr A…Graeme,

Delighted to hear that you both had a great stay and apologies for some local city noise disturbance.

City by-laws restrict such noise levels and our Night Team will be listening out for any re occurrence in future. We appreciate the advice.

Until next time, I remain,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,154
    2,222
    818
    230
    110
See reviews for
1,050
4,066
555
1,095
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is the 3rd or 4th time I have stayed at The Windsor when visiting Melbourne and I always look forward to being greeted at the door and shown some "old world" courtesies. Reception was efficient and as we arrived a bit early the room was not ready but we took an early lunch at the Cricketers Bar where good value was had with a free wine or beer. The staff delivered our bags to our room when it was available.
We received a nice upgrade to the large corner suite on the 4th floor, which had a very impressive dining /lounge room. There was also a separate kitchen if needed and additional bathroom. The rooms were comfortable, well prepared and clean.
A nice touch was the birthday cake and chocolate covered strawberries which arrived with a signed card from all the front desk staff - indulgence!
Breakfast was served in the downstairs restaurant and was included in our room price. A good choice of cereals, juices, toast and croissantes were availabe from the smorgasbord arrangement and the waiter took our orders for hot food from the à la Carte menu.
I love the 19th Century feel to the Windsor, you feel that you have time travelled back to years gone by when ladies swirled in their crinolines and wore outlandish hats and men wore ties and tails to dinner - high tea and high ideals and aspirations. So it is just a giant leap back to reality when you stand at reception or sit in the foyer and be confronted by males in t-shirts and tatts and thongs or stubbies and work boots. I don't know what the hotel can do about this, it's a bit difficult to enforce a dress code I suppose these days but maybe when bookings are taken a gentle reminder could be given that the hotel does expect some standards of respectibility, otherwise it does drag the ambience down a notch or two, especially when everything else is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Sir…Jeff,

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that your Birthday celebration appears to have been so enjoyable here at The Windsor.

From your pictures I can see that you stayed in The Prince of Wales suite, or as it is more colloquially known, our Royal Suite . For readers interest this suite is only available through the hotel.

I also see from your pictures that you were here during the first day of the Chinese News Year. I can only hope that it was your Photoshop skills that sees our Doorman dressed a little inappropriately in the Front Doorway of the hotel.

Until your next celebration our thanks and warmest regards to you both.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AU
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

On arrival, I was escorted to the Royal Suite on the 4th floor and was thoroughly delighted at how light and bright it was even though it was brimming with olde worlde furniture and fittings. Everything about this spacious but not overwhelming suite was beautiful, comfortable and well presented and the colours were soothing - perfect for a stay in Melbourne. The many windows looked out to a church, a park, Parliament House and a section of the street with people walking past. Up the road, about a ten minute walk,is the Melbourne Museum which was showing the Bond 007 exhibition. The walk was great and the buildings in the area are worth checking out.

I also enjoyed the High Tea in the ground floor restaurant which was quite delicious, especially the variety of sandwiches.

Overall an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Ms W…Pamela,

You chose well. So glad to hear that the visit met expectations. Thank you for your kind consideration in writing a review.

I must say that I find the walk to the Melbourne Museum just up the road spectacular - passing the UNESCO World Heritage listed Royal Exhibition Building which hosted the Centennial International Exhibition in 1888, five years after The Windsor first opened our doors.

Until next time, I remain,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AU
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Room good - some road noise, needs double glaze glass
Breakfast too expensive hence we dined out. Did not like the
nasty surprise of 1.5 percent credit charge sur harge on checkout
Lifts need upgrade. Imperative price remains same as our package. Any increase wouldn't be acceptable. In future room rate must include any credit card surcharge !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Mr A…Bob,

Thank you for your review which we appreciate and note.

All rooms facing Bourke Street have double glazing and I regret that you were disturbed by city noise in any way. Perhaps next time you can mention that a room or suite on our 4th floor (top) has been recommended.

The hotel does accept Eftpos payments which incur no fees to the hotel.

For readers interest our a la carte breakfast does compete at breakfast time with Melbourne’s best cafés and pricing is reflective of that with menus available on our web site. The quality inevitably impresses but we never rest on any laurels.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Great location. Huge rooms with high ceilings. Very quaint with friendly staff. No road or room noise. Breakfast was a bit slow but tasty. On the tram line and near many great restaurants and other attractions. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, massive and not much more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Sir…Gerry,

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for your kind words.

Until then, I remain,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I had a lovely sunny room on fourth floor with a comfortable bed. The staff were all very pleasant. The corridor areas of the hotel are looking a bit tired however and could do with refreshing. The air conditioning struggled a bit in the room, and the hot water , when it arrived, was scalding, requiring some care in adjusting the shower. The location is of course great, and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Apologies for the challenges with the shower temperature. Our Rooms Division Manager Nick McLennan shall be in touch through Trip Advisor in the hope of determining which room or suite was affected.

Glad to hear that service appears good and that breakfast was enjoyed.

A major rejuvenation is planned to start at the end of this year. Meanwhile we shall focus on getting everything else as it should be so that guests have memorable stays.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This Hotel is great in many ways.
The location is perfect with trams (both free and pay) at the front door.
Parks and gardens are close by if you like to have a morning walk and smell the roses.
The variety of eateries within 200 metres range from pub tucker to fine dining.
The room we had was their lead in room, smallish but more than adequate for our three day stay.
Because it faced inwards it was very quiet with zero traffic noise.
It was a trip for my birthday but my wife got the goodies!! (a slight mix-up)
The Hotel sent a signed birthday card and a delicious piece of cake to our room. Very thoughtful indeed.
This Hotel has a charm that can't be built, but can only acquire with age.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyGAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Mr G…Bobby,

What a charming review.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back for your wife’s birthday and then we can send the correctly written card and gift to your room and suite. (We shall make a note to add something special for you too).

Thank you for your kind and generous consideration in writing.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,345 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,286 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Property: The Hotel Windsor
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing