We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #29 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
AU
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Booked with Bookit.com (wouldn't) use again. Their advertisemt stated hotel had just been reno/refurb and that's why I booked. Purchased flight/hotel package. Flight times ''early' AM to change extra 300 or 230 book other flg. HOTEL ~ given room awfull, small, no view/frosty windows. I immed. spoke with Manager who very kindly upgraded me after explaining above which I was gratefull/satisfied with. Advised by Manager hotel to be reno/refurbised later this year. A grand hotel in it's day, but needs updating.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lucia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Lucia S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Windsor.

It really is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us however I must sincerely apologise for the miss information on the third party site which you booked your stay with. Unfortunately we do not have control over what they publish about the hotel and since receiving your review we are trying to contact the company to advise them that some information they are listing is incorrect.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention and I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company once more in the near future.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,030
    2,166
    806
    226
    107
See reviews for
1,022
3,944
544
1,075
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AU
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Ok we stay in lots of accommodation throughout the world this was the single noisiest 4 or 5 star stay we have ever had..5 am and wide awake to the repeated and continual sound of dumpmasters being filled with glass and apparently small nuclear testing....no sleep for 90 minutes with pillow over head....beautiful older place as long as you don't want sleep

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Kylie M,

Firstly I would like to thank you for staying with us but more importantly for taking the time to complete our online survey following your departure.

Please be assured that I will be speaking with my team in regards to your experience and that we do take all responses both the good and bad very seriously as they give a true indication of where we are at and what can be improved. I understand writing to you now does not rectify your recent experience however I do hope that in the near future you may consider staying with us again and if so may I ask that you contact me directly at the hotel so I can personally assist in arranging your reservation.

Once again our sincerest apologies,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AU
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have stayed there twice now and absolutely love it, Next time we will probably treat ourselves to a suite. :) We just love the service and how special you are made to feel when you arrive and the time of your stay as well. Nothing is to much trouble for any of the staff and the staff are all very polite and friendly

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Heather D,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I will be sharing your kind words with the team here at the hotel and we hope that we may once more have the pleasure of your company in the near future.

Until next time we do, as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AU
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I've stayed here several times and am always impressed by the service and quality of stay. the rooms are large and accommodating as well as the staff are friendly and informative, The location is very accessible and close to several train and tram lines, would fully recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Sarah F,

Thank you so much for your kind words and review of your stay with us. Please rest assured that I will be sharing them with the team here at the hotel.

Until next time we do, as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We feel we have found the perfect venue for an overnight stay, rspecially as we no longer drive.
From the minute we arrive in Spring Street ... no, even the making of a booking, everything is faultless, from the welcome at the door to the booking in process people seem genuinely pleased to welcome us. The card conveying a hand-written 'welcome back' that we received on reaching our beautiful room. Everything was, as always, ideal. Even Melbourne's reliably unreliable weather saw me caught in a quite unexpected downpour when I went out for a stroll!
Top marks and thanks to all at The Windsor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Ms P…Valerie,

Thank you for your kind words. It is easy to forget that your Windsor experience actually started when we answered the phone when you made your booking.

So kind of you to write.

Until next time – the pleasure will be ours again.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed three nights after a trip on the Great Ocean road from Adelaid. It was all just wonderful from the time I handed my car keys to the doorman till he handed them back three days later, helped me into my car and bid me a safe trip home. The staff are extremely attentive,all the food is fabulous especially "high tea"- don't miss it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Delighted438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

The Great Ocean Road is one of the world’s most spectacular coastal drives. Glad to hear that your stay at The Windsor was so enjoyable after such an amazing experience on the road. The team here will be delighted to hear that.

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AU
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The receptionist booking could not be more helpful when asking for an upgrade. She seemed to go out of her way for us. "very friendly" great start to the weekend stay.
Couldn't ask for anything more.
On departure the same deal staff asking if we were happy with our room etc, making sure we were comfortable at all times.

thank you all

Athena J Cranbourne

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Athena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Ms Cranbourne…Anthea,

You humble us all with your generous praise.

The pleasure really was ours.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,246 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
3,925 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#40 of 158 in Melbourne
4,163 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Property: The Hotel Windsor
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing