We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy Anniversary”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #29 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Langwarrin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very happy Anniversary”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Perfect place to spend a romantic weekend, the perfect anniversary present.
Staff wonderful especially Russell our valet, what a huge asset to the Windsor.
The dining experience was amazing, food was beyond belief.
Always wanted to stay at the Windsor and I was not disappointed for a second.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Brenda B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time in Melbourne and I can assure you that I will be personally passing on your thanks to Russell our Door-person and to the restaurant staff.

Until next time we do, as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,163
    2,226
    818
    230
    110
See reviews for
1,051
4,072
556
1,100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We have been celebrating our anniversary at the Windsor since our wedding there 4 years ago. What draws us back year after year is not only the fond memories of that day but the wonderful atmosphere that only the Windsor can deliver. The staff from all departments are courteous and professional and we particularly enjoy the selection from the pillow menu. With the new renovations set to happen we hope that the Windsor doesn't lose the special charm.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vivacious_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

WE thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Windsor Hotel. he bed was very soft lacked and lacked posture support, but our overall stay was superb. The stuff were very friendly and welcoming and the location was a short walk from any places within the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and review of your recent stay with us.

Please rest assured that I will be sharing your comments with the service team and in particular with our Executive Housekeeper so she can investigate the quality of your room's mattress (All of our bedding was replaced one year ago so this is of a concern to us.

Looking forward to the pleasure of your company in the near future.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urrbrae
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay for 3 nights... Only couple of hiccups. First room assigned the aircon had malfunctioned, but we got moved to another room straightaway.

Second hiccup is our room key was replaced without notifying us. Hence after a long exhausting day we went back to our room and cant get in. Called the reception and was told to collect new keys back down at the lobby. Just hoped they have advised us so we could have collected the keys prior to coming up to our room and for them to have offered to bring the new keys to us.

These are just my feedback as im sure theres room for improvement. Hotel manager was very professional and the concierge and doorman was very welcoming and bid us sincere goodbye though it was sad to leave.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Patricia B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I would like to thank you for bringing to my attention a number of issues which can most definitely be improved on in relation to Reception service and I can assure you that I will be addressing these as a matter of urgency with the team.

Unfortunately the age of our hotel does being with it a number of challenges, one being air conditioning in some rooms and I do hope that the problem you experienced in your first room was swiftly dealt with.

Please do be in contact when next booking to stay with us so I can ensure a wonderful stay, with the small, but ever so important details resolved.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a truly charming hotel with large rooms and good service. The the two dinners ("pre-theatre" set menu) we had there was excellent and silver service. We also had high tea
with friends - quaint and good if you like sweets (I ate the sandwiches and drank the bubbly)
Yes, as one reviewer noted, the tv reception was not good . Negative was no wi-fi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Beth A S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your evening and in particular dinner in our restaurant 111 Spring Street.

I must also thank you and apologise for the poor TV reception you experienced, this is an ongoing issue and the team here at the hotel are currently in the process of working on a solution.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverstone, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Great place to stay, beautiful old building with lovely paintings. Convenient to the theatres, food & service in the dining room was very good. I recommend the high tea and was very happy with the gluten free choices




  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank anne572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear anne572,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us and for your kind words of our hotel.

Please rest assured that I will be sharing them with the entire team.

Glad to hear that our Gluten Free options were available to you during your stay also.

With kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose Bay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

a great experience back in to the old world. Some of the hotel seemed a bit tired however. Some exceptional service but the reception did not telephone us to tell us our room was ready as offered and promised.
Beautiful flowers in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Frances M,

Thank you so much for your kind words and review of our hotel.

It truly is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the service at Reception was second to none. However I must thank you for bringing to my attention the fact that you did not receive a call informing you that your room was ready. Please rest assured that I will be addressing this with the team in the coming days.

Until next time we do, as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#39 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,292 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Property: The Hotel Windsor
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelClick, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing