We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Great”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #29 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stay at here very often for business - it is consistently good. Great location but it is the friendly staff that always impresses me. Rooms are homely and very comfortable. I always know if I need anything someone will help me.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LisaDR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Madam…Lisa,

Thank you.

We appreciate your kind words and loyal patronage and I shall be delighted to share your comments with our great team.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,789 - 6,795 of 8,417 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed the olde world charm of the Windsor.
Our stay was spoilt a little by the poor check in experience which was not at all enlightening in regard the Windsor or its facilities. What we did find out was only by asking , so there may be other facilities or services we still wouldn`t know about.
Checkout was no better with no enquiry as to whether we enjoyed the hotel or the stay.
Staff are very pleasant but need to go that extra yard to provide 5 star service...................

Room Tip: Keep away from elevator or stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffery c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear geoffery c,

Thank you for your review of your most recent stay with us.

I must firstly apologise for what was a far from pleasant experience and must concede that we have a number of areas which we need to quickly work on to ensure that we improve our standards.

David Perry the hotel's CEO has also today received a copy of your review for his urgent attention and I can assure you that he will be addressing each point with the management team.

Once again our sincerest apologies.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was our 4th stay at the Hotel Windsor in the past 3 years. We love the atmosphere, the excellent, attentive service, wonderful food and great position and will be back in the future. Thank you again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Ms C...Julie,

Thank you for such loyal patronage. The team will be delighted that you keep finding reasons to return.

The pleasure is of course, ours.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The Windsor provides a home away from home for me; I am accustomed to Victorian architecture and features. Its location is perfect for my business meetings and I can quickly shop in Collins Street at the end of the day. I always feel comfortable and love the European Café almost next door.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Mr D…Robbie,

Thank you for your kind words.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My wife and I spent a night at the Windsor Hotel Melbourne and couldn't have been happier. As we arrived early, we asked if we could leave our luggage while we explored Melbourne, but discovered that our room was ready and we could check in. Check-in was done with ease and we were delighted with our room.......a suite would describe it more aptly. It included an entrance hall, bedroom, lounge and bathroom....all separate rooms. These were all of the highest quality. We had a lovely view and the rooms were quiet and very comfortable. Would definitely recommend as we had a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Mr L…Jan,

Perfect.

The pleasure was ours and we can only look forward with the hope of welcoming you both back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Beautiful roooms - great atmosphere and certainly a unique property. The welcome was great and unlike so many other to bland hotels this hotel has so much character. Definitely hearkens back to the days of true hospitality!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Mr S...Philip,

'True hospitality'. Music to our ears. We shall continue our efforts with gratitude for your kind words.

Thank you.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

we stayed here the night before our wedding and had high tea for 20 people. The staff were friendly and the food was amazing. the only comment i could make was that the food took a little while to come out during our event but it was well worth the wait.
Thank you to the friendly and helpful staff.
(also i chose the wrong pillow, it was too soft, next time ill choose a firmer one)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Mr L…Jonathan,

Congratulations to you both and thank you for choosing The Windsor.

We have noted your pillow preference (we have a pillow menu of 7 special pillows for readers interest) and shall look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you both back for the many celebrations that await you both in the future.

With best wishes,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,788 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,435 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,573 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £114 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing