We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne Visit”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #27 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our second time at the Hotel Windsor and our room was even better, overlooking the park. Lovely and spacious, only lacking a small safe.
We really like the elegance of the building, and that the original decor has been maintained.
The location is excellent, being close to shops and transport, without feeling hemmed in amongst the tall central city buildings. Easy to meet up with family and friends.
Will definitely stay there again when back in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Ms B…Jeanette,

Thank you and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends from New Zealand back soon.

For your information safety deposit boxes are available to all guests. Simply ask at Reception.

With best wishes,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,597 - 6,603 of 8,275 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

An amazing stay once again. All the luxuries one needs when away from home. Always a pleasure to stay in such an elegant hotel - home away from home. Staff are amazing and so welcoming.

Thank you once again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Mary C,

Thank you so much for your kind review of your most recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team here at the hotel were able to exceed your highest expectations.

Until next time we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I would like to thank the management & staff for a lovely stay on our 3oth wedding anniversary not only were we upgraded but had a chilled bottle of champagne on arrival & a card personally signed by staff a very nice touch. Will definitely stay again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DebbieToole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Debbie Toole,

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us at The Windsor and of course congratulations once more on 30 wonderful years.

Please rest assured that I will be sharing your thanks with the team here at the hotel. I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company for many anniversaries to come and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Amazing hotel. Fantastic staff everyone was courteous and helpful. High Tea was delicious and breakfast was very good. Waiting staff excellent on both occasions. Great location very central to transport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin And Patri... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Kevin And Patri... K,

Thank you so much for your kind review of your most recent stay.

Please rest assured that I will be sharing your kind words with the team here at the hotel and in particular with our restaurant team.

I hope we may have the pleasure of your company when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Charm of 1920 - 1930 decor and with the 2014 level of service expected. Fantastic place for a relaxed and elegant breakfast in the dining room. Not the cheapest but much better that most around the same price. Relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear N G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team here at the hotel made your stay an elegant and relaxing experience.

Looking forward to the pleasure of your company in the near future.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

A sense of opulence fills the air. Rooms were comfortable. The continental breakfast- an absolute delight. Staff all friendly. I missed out on a high tea- didnt know you had to book ahead of time. Very convenient location for anyone attending a college of surgeons hosted event or anyone in the city- close to many funky restaurants. Cant wait to stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank hetrogenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you and we can’t wait for you to return.

Remember to make your booking for Afternoon Tea when your travel dates are known. You won’t be disappointed.

With kindest regards,

Yours faithfully,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

From the front desk to the concierge to the waiters and cleaners, we couldn't have asked for a better experience. Room was clean and comfortable. Recommend to anyone wanting a great stay. Close to great restaurants and entertainment.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Alex W,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your most recent stay with us.

It is simply fantastic to hear that from the moment you arrived our service team looked after you so very well.

I hope that we may have the pleasure of your company in the near future and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,697 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 162 in Melbourne
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,775 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#26 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £117 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing