We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Majestic Hotel !!!”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #30 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The Grand Majestic Hotel !!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A beautiful grand hotel from the time you arrive ... Valet parking ... Grand entrance is like stepping back in time. To the gorgeous swags and tail Curtains ... Chandelier Lighting ... Grand Chesterfield lounge suites ..Period Style Carpet ...the beautiful Wooden staircase ... The Reception Staff were warm and welcoming ... The rooms were beautiful & clean throughout with the old worldly feel . Bed was very comfortable with a Pillow selection for your comfort, the bed was dressed like you were in a Victorian era ... Close to restaurants .... Theatre's ... Parliament Station on your doorstep
Thank you for a lovely experience will be back again soon !!!.... .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Ms V…Tania,

What an absolutely charming and descriptive narrative. Thank you.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you both back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,360
    2,317
    846
    236
    111
See reviews for
1,112
4,243
583
1,136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a special deal for a night at the Hotel Windsor
We were immediately given a complimentary upgrade to a double suite
we had booked a double room
the whole experience including breakfast was excellent and we would definatly do it again and recommend it to friends

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Ms L ...Heather,

Thank you for your recommendation and endorsement. The pleasure was ours.

Until next time, I remain,

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We booked in at 2.45pm, we were not treated at the entrance nor did any one ask to help with our luggage. We booked via Wotif with an upgraded room which looked out at a dirty laneway and a derilect building, the room is full of dust and smells worse than the pre stained beggers on the street, the fridge is filthy and the shower screen keeps boxing you in. I am not sure how this place gets a 5 star rating, I would only give it 2 to 2.5 maximum. Very dissapointed with this experience apart from the free WIFI we got through the booking and am using now. they offered a discount at the restaurant via email after checking in but judging by the room and the dirty dressing gowns, I wouldn't tryst a kitchen here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DazandCam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Sir / Madam…Daz & Cam,

It is 6 in the morning as I write this and am able to see that you are still in residence so we shall be making contact with you this morning in order that we can investigate this further and take appropriate action.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornbury
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights at The Windsor to celebrate a birthday, great location, impeccable service, central and only a short walk to key areas. All modes of public transport are at your doorstop.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Mr S…Nicko,

Thank you.

The team will appreciate your kind comments on service.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you both back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We only stayed overnight, as it was our son's wedding in the Bourke Room. The meal and service was excellent in the Bourke Room. Our room was adequate, however our son & daughter-in-law's suite was amazing - old world charm and plenty of room.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lyndell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Ms C…Lyndell,

Congratulations once more to your son and daughter in law.

So glad to hear that the wedding was such a success and that their suite was so memorable.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back for many special celebrations in the months and years ahead

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The location couldn't be better. It is within easy walking distance of the Royal Exhibition Building where I attend AQC and it is also a very easy walk into the city. Public transport is right outside the front door. Staying at this hotel is like stepping into the elegant past. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Windsor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Ms H…Diana,

Delighted that your stay at the Windsor during The Australian Quilt Convention was so enjoyable.

Hope that our duvets (and extensive pillow menu) did not disappoint - some of the striking designs of covers at the Exhibition however made us really take a look at the possibilities available to us for the future.

Hopefully you had a chance to view the recently opened Aztec Exhibition next door at the Melbourne Museum. Amazing!

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Creek
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife and I visited for our wedding anniversary. We had purchased vouchers for dinner and accommodation. The front desk service was excellent. The harp playing in the foyer provided an upmarket ambience. The hotel has wonderful charm with the grand staircase a feature.We were provided a free upgrade which we were thrilled to receive. The room was lovely. Unfortunately, the bathroom had strong smell of cigarette smoke.
Dinner was disappointing on our behalf and a missed opportunity on behalf of the hotel. The voucher provided us with a limited menu and no effort was made by the staff to explore whether we would like to extend beyond the limits of the menu.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidGAPerry, Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Mr M…Terry,

Thank you for your review and for entrusting us with your Anniversary Stay.

Congratulations to you both once more.

The issues raised regarding dinner are appreciated and shall be followed through. Apologies for any disappointment caused. Whilst the voucher validity is clear the points you make are most valid and greatly appreciated.

Yours sincerely,

David
David G.A. Perry
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,475 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,515 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,650 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Property: The Hotel Windsor
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#29 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing