We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #29 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I spent a few days at The Hotel Windsor for our honeymoon and loved it! A well-located hotel with excellent staff.
We'd like to specially thank Nick for the surprise honeymoon gift! Marvelous!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear James H,

Thank you so much for your kind review, it was our absolute pleasure to be a part of your Honeymoon stay.

We do hope that you enjoyed your time in Melbourne and the rest of your holiday and we hope that we may again in the future welcome you back to our hotel.

The pleasure was all ours and until next time we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,361
    2,318
    846
    236
    111
See reviews for
1,113
4,243
583
1,136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Au
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

the Windsor was a great choice to end a special day. We were greeted by friendly staff and were surprised by a bottle of sparkling in our room which was lovely. A great location too. The corridors could do with a bit of a spruce up but it was clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark And Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Mark And Lynne P,

Thank you so much for allowing The Windsor to be a part of your special day.

It is truly wonderful to hear that the service team were able to look after you so very well, it was of course our pleasure.

We do hope that we may welcoem you back in the near future or for the many anniversary night's to come and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilambil, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

If nostalgia is your thing The Hotel Windsor won't disappoint. From the beautifully attired doorman to the chandeliers & historic architecture I awaited Poirot or Miss Marple to appear! If modern facilities are your want this isn't the hotel for you. Well located opposite Parliament House & handy for everything it's an experience for sure. Great staff but some things were "tired" eg only one working lift, our plumbing was a tad "slow" on getting hot water and a lot of creaky floorboards & decor that needed a lift. However all that aside everything we needed was there so an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Of the 3 rooms that we saw not one of them had a view - the windows actually had a translucent film...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Denise B,

Thank you for taking the time review your recent stay with us at The Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your honest feedback regarding our hotel. Unfortunately during your stay one of our guest lifts was out of service due to programmed maintenance however both will be back operational by next week.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of your company when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bateman
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Felt like I was in Buckingham palace , the welcoming harpist was soothing , room was lovely , just a slight noisy air system , but no dramas. Heaps of good restaurants and bars just up the road and round the corner .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Stephen B,

Thank you so much for your kind review, it was of course our absolute pleasure.

Our apologies for the noisy air conditioner which we will be checking tomorrow and please be assured that I will be sharing your kind words with the team here at the hotel.

We look forward to your company in the near future and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Au
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Too dated - I expected much better. I paid for an upgraded room and it was average.
The service was very good. But disappointed in the room and bathroom. Loved the choice of pillows and the bed itself was very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Michelle D,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us following your recent stay with us.

To hear that you found your room's bedding comfortable is fantastic however I must apologise for the room upgrade which you felt was dated. All of our rooms and suites have not been upgraded for a number of years however last year saw a soft refurbishment completed which will see us into the future as we plan for a complete refurbishment.

Many I ask that if you are ever in need of accommodation that you contact me so I can personally assist in arranging the perfect room which I hope will leave you with memories far more befitting The Windsor.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Hill
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

when walking in u r greeted very well .i stayed in a superior with 3 single beds.it was quite small with a bathroom that was even smaller for a 5 star rating u should not have to step into a bath to have a shower.the beds weren't made on the second night and when having a coffee they give u those little plastic tubs of uht milk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Craig S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us at The Windsor.

I do hope that you found bot the service and cleaning standards to be high but more importantly I must thank you for your feedback firstly regarding your room size and the mini bar options. The hotel is currently planning a refurbishment in the coming year which will see our room size increased and in addition to this the UHT milks will in the very near future be replaced with a fresh milk alternative as I must agree with you UHT leaves a lot to be desired.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of your company when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warragul, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Clean and comfortable rooms. Although a view would have been nice in a superior room. Experienced a Squeaky floor in our room and the room above. Lovely atmosphere in the restaurant and foyer. Close to theatres, MCG and restaurants.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Deirdre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Deirdre T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time in Melbourne and your stay with us. I would like to also in particular thank you for bringing to my attention the squeaky floorboard in the room above which we will be rectifying by the end of this week.

We look forward to the pleasure of your company when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,479 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,515 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,654 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Property: The Hotel Windsor
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing