We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time- great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #28 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
New Lambton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great time- great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Visiting Melbourne with my daughter, though we'd treat ourselves and booked a junior suite. To our delight we had been upgraded to the Duke of Windsor Suite- wow! We felt and were treated like royalty by the staff and nothing was too much trouble. Right round the corner from tram stops and fabulous shopping, and within a comfortable walking distance from beautiful bars and restaurants, the Windsor is a top place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Jan S,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

It is simply wonderful to hear that both you and your daughter enjoyed your time with us and that you also were upgraded to our Windsor Suite.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of your company when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,940
    2,110
    791
    222
    105
See reviews for
989
3,855
529
1,061
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Au
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Bed was very comfortable however room was stuffy as air conditioner didn't work in first room. Staff very polite and accommodating and moved us to another room where air con was great Most disappointing was the Dining Room Service so rated Service as Average. My cousin arrived at 10am and we planned on having a late Breakfast together only to be told the kitchen was closed. My husband settled for toasted cheese sandwiches but these too were unavailable. We settled for Cappachinos and ate elsewhere. I am from Melbourne and would love to stay at the Windsor again but before doing so would check out extended Breakfast option and all day Lunch Snacks in the Dining Room as have family and friends who would be easy and enjoyable to catch up with there . There were plenty of staff around so don't understand why this is not offered and feel it would be a good business option.Wonderful position..on arrival information on nearby Tram destinations would be beneficial as excellent service. Wonderful ambience and spotlessly clean and very comfortable . By Jan May 2014

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Janis P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that in general you enjoyed your stay however I can understand how problems with Room Service in the morning was a problem. I can honestly agree with you that what you experienced is not acceptable and unfortunately I was not aware of this. Breakfast should be available all morning along with all other menu items from our 24 hour kitchen. I would like to assure you that I will be addressing this in the coming week with our Executive Chef and the management team to ensure such a case does not occur again.

Thank you so very much for bringing this to my attention and I can assure you your comments have been seriously taken on board.

I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Enjoyed our stay at hotel windsor very much. Could not fault anything apart from the price. The staff were extremely helpful and found and/or returned any lost items with pleasure. A warm environment and we especially loved the harp playing in the foyer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 608Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear 608Alex,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we may once again have the pleasure of your company when next in Melbourne.

Until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Au
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Loved every minute of my stay at The Hotel Windsor and would, without hesitation, choose the accommodation again. Beautifully located with access to shops, entertainment and transport, the historical aspect of the hotel and its traditional features just enhanced the whole experience of Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Carole S,

Thank you for your lovely review.

I can assure you that I will be sharing your kind words and five out of five review with the team here at the hotel and we hope that we may in the near future welcome you back once more.

Until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights recently whilst in Melbourne for the weekend. I chose The Hotel Windsor due to the location at the Parisian end of the city (and proximity to the MCG), and the great reviews. The hotel is excellent, we liked:
- 5 minutes walk to some of the best laneway hotspots (both cumulus and chinchin very close) on little collins st and flinders lane, and only 10 minutes to the Bourke St Mall
- Walking distance to the MCG and just above parliament station
- The staff were extremely helpful and friendly for our stay. Early check in was a breeze, we did upgrade to a King room for some extra space and a better view
- Gorgeous decor with historic elements shining through

It is an older style hotel though, so we found the queen room to be very small (more european hotel room size) so we upgraded to a larger room.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking Spring St, it has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneygirl182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear sydneygirl182,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your most recent stay with us at The Windsor.

It is simply fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I can only guess the football on one night at the MCG.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Offered upgrade to King George V suite. Glad we took the offer. Fantastic accommodation. Hotel is located just on the edge of CBD, only a few blocks from the centre of city. Tram and train at the door.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Au
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay.We did receive an upgrade which was totally unexpected and much appreciated.Even so I have no doubt that our experience would have been excellent regardless of the room provided.Staff at all levels were unfailingly friendly and helpful. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Jean R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were also upgraded to a larger room type.

We look forward to the pleasure of your company when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,168 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,839 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#29 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#37 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Property: The Hotel Windsor
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing