We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #28 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights with a friend. We thought the hotel was absolutely lovely. It was close to transport, especially as it was right next to Parliament station. It was close to theatres (the purpose of our visit) and the CBD. When we arrived, we realised our TV wasn't working but when we notified staff, the problem was quickly fixed. The concierge were also very helpful when my friend and I could not understand the transport! The only thing I would change would be that my room didn't have a lot of natural lighting, however that is only a small issue. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Stephanie T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Windsor.

It is truly wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your initial problem with the television was quickly resolved.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of your company when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,277
    2,279
    833
    232
    111
See reviews for
1,083
4,172
572
1,122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Au
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was surprised at value of the room rate.
I found the staff to be very professional and courteous
The room we had was very nice comfortable and clean.
I would recommend the Windsor to my friends
The old world charm of the Windsor is very special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Mark W,

Thank you for such a lovely review of your most recent stay with us.

Please rest assured that I will be sharing your kind words with the team here at the hotel.

Once again thank you and until next time we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Au
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My stay at the Hotel Windsor was outstanding. I was welcomed by wonderful staff from the time I arrived at the front step.to the time I departed to my taxi. The hotel and service provided was outstanding. Planning my next stop in Melbourne at the Hotel Windsor. I recommend this to my family and friends. .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Jan P,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, if was of course our pleasure to welcome you as a guest in our hotel.

We do hope that we may have the pleasure of your company when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawan
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A good hotel, with cosy rooms and above-average service. Staff were attentive and friendly. The hot water pressure could have been better. Doesn't quite feel like a 5-star hotel, as the hotel is getting on a bit....and some things feel ever-so slightly stale, especially compared to somewhere like the Langham. The Windsor feels more like a 4.5 star hotel, but the location is excellent. (Please watch out for greedy taxi drivers who think that your staying at the Windsor is a good reason to over-charge your fare).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Sam H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Windsor.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our service levels to be of the highest standard. We are currently in the planning stages of a renovation which will see our hotel rejuvenated, however until then we aim to provide the best service and a comfortable night's rest.

My apologies also if any of Melbourne's taxi divers wrongly over charged you during your stay and if notified we would of course follow process and report this to the authorities.

Once again I would like to thank you for your review and I do hope that we may have the pleasure of your company in the near future.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyneham
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I loved my stay and your staff and the atmosphere of The Windsor was attentive and classic. I don't use the lift your staircase is too grand not to use it.

The curtains were grubby in my suite - the only negative BUT i will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Kathryn Y,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will return. My sincerest apologies in regards to the curtains in your suite which I have today addressed with our Executive Housekeeper for immediate cleaning.

Once again thank you and until next time we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Service very good. Dinner average but breakfast very nice. We expected & wanted old fashioned room but got modernised room, poorly designed bathroom with little access to mirror for make-up purposes. Vanity basin & low hanging lights were in the way of mirror.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KenN_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear KenN_10,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Windsor.

Our sincerest apologies for your room allocation which was in one of our more modern rooms. We do have two which are redesigned however I have updated your details to ensure on any future stay you are allocated a more traditional room or suite.

In addition thank you for your feedback regarding both dinner and breakfast which I have passed onto our Restaurant Manager.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and until next time we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have stayed at The Windsor many times now and will continue to keep going back. I love the the feeling of old world grandeur as you walk through the building and are greeted by the courteous and attentive staff. I also love the fact that no rooms are exactly the same and I look forward to seeing what my room is like each time I stay there. The Windsor is also beautifully located with easy access to all that Melbourne has to offer. It is both affordable and gracious and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting a unique experience when visiting Melbourne

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Helene W,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and of course welcome back to The Windsor.

It is simply wonderful to hear that you enjoyed this and so many other stays with us and we hope that we may have the pleasure of your company for many years to come.

Until next time we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,415 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
2,605 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,125 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Property: The Hotel Windsor
Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing