We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant as always!”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #28 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

From the excellent presentation of the staff at arrival, through to the little touches like the harp player in the foyer, this hotel never fails to impress. The food, bar and excellent service, plus the close proximity to the theatre and restaurant districts have made The Windsor our choice of hotel for wedding anniversaries, important milestones and just because! We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Christopher B,

Thank you for such a lovely review of your most recent stay with us, the pleasure was of course all ours.

We look forward to your next visit to Melbourne and your stay at The Windsor. Until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,152)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Windsor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,842 - 5,848 of 8,152 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

stay was enjoyable, staff lovely and rooms had a lovely old hotel feel. only issue was we were using an OurDeal voucher and at check-out information that could have been advised at check-in created a made panic to obtain the correct details to allow for booking to go through without additional charges.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank beckmc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear beckmc09,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Windsor and more importantly for bringing to my attention the problem you encountered with not being given the correct information regarding your stay with us upon your arrival.

I have today addressed with with the Reception team and I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for any distress caused upon your departure.

We do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Overall very good and the room was old world charm but also modern,we would come back again but we are not sure about revisiting the restaurant as we found the food average and the table service a little sloppy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear John G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Windsor.

It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your stay with us however I would like to thank you for your honesty regarding our restaurant menu and service levels. I can assure you that I will be passing these onto both our Executive Chef and Restaurant Manager for their urgent attention.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Windsor when next in Melbourne and until then we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It was a great business trip. The staff are courteous. The bed is comfortable. Breakfast was hot, tasty & on time. Everywhere in the building was clean. We ate dinner out & returned for a nightcap in the bar. After a good sleep I walked and enjoyed the great location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Debra R,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your most recent business trip to Melbourne.

It is wonderful to hear that your trip was both comfortable and successful. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future for the same and if we can be of any assistance to make your next stay more comfortable please do not hesitate to contact me.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed overnight at the Hotel Windsor in Spring Street Melbourne.
It was wonderful, the valet parking, the room, the incredible friendliness of all the staff, the food was amazing, in short they couldn't do enough to make our stay special. It was my husbands birthday and they even sent a cake and a card to the room! I can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room faced parliament house, the view from our window was lovely and at night parliament house w...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AustraliaAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear AustraliaAnon,

Thank you for such a lovely review of your most recent stay with us, it was of course our pleasure to have you as our guest.

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the surprise birthday cake for your husband upon your arrival and also the view from your room overlooking Parliament House and Spring Street.

Until next time we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a wonderful week at Hotel Windsor. Spacious, grand room, welcoming staff and the perfect central location. Katie from Reception deserves a mention for her friendly, cheerful disposition! Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Niki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Deaar Niki M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is simply fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your time in Melbourne.

Until next time we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Terrific old world charm. Hotel has immense character and many stories. Musician playing harp upon entry was terrific and set the tone for the stay.
Great location to walk to Melbourne cafe's and theatre precinct

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Richard G,

Thank you do much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I can assure you that I will be passing on your kind words and thanks to the team here at the hotel and I know they will all be most appreciative.

Until next time we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,618 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,542 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#67 of 160 in Melbourne
5,010 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £96 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing