We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, bad room position”
Review of The Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Windsor
Ranked #28 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Although I booked a budget room I was placed at what seemed to be directly over a trademans entry at the rear. In the early evening and particularly from approx 7am until 7.45am it was extremely noisy with much banging and crashing. Dissapointing as I had worked late and was attempting to sleep. To be fair to your customers, this should really be the last room used.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Lynton C,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us following your recent stay.

I would like to apologise for the disturbance you experienced early on morning and I must thank you for bringing this to my attention. I will be looking into this to see is any maintenance works were taking place at this time as and loud works of any type are not permitted before 10am to avoid such disturbances.

If we are to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel please do not hesitate to contact me directly so I can personally assist in making arrangements for a stay leaving you with memories far more befitting The Windsor.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,775 - 5,781 of 8,265 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

I'd wanted to stay at The Windsor forever as I love old hotels. It was nice but as is often the case in Australia a lack of attention to detail and a propensity to charge extra wherever possible let it down. The hotel messed up a really simple gift of champagne and other than a short apology note, after we'd had to speak to them twice, didn't offer anything to make it up. There was a stocking in our closet upon check in and the facewashers in the bathroom were taken and not replaced. The doorman was only present some of the time which isn't what we expected. It was nice enough, the room was big and quiet with good heating in the room (bathroom was freezing), but it didn't live up to my expectations which is a shame. Also, why the credit card surcharge? This makes me so mad. It's a cost of doing business - if we paid in cash that would have to be handled which would be a cost. If it were a travelodge or something I'd understand but not in a hotel of this nature. Internet is expensive also. A refurb, a few policy adjustments and some staff who are trained properly could remedy this.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Megan396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Megan396,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us following your recent stay at The Windsor.

We contact all of our guests following their departure asking for this type of feedback so I must really thank you for bringing a number of items to my attention, it is clear that some improvements can be made and I will endeavor to look into your stay with the management team with the aim of avoiding such problems in the future.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Windsor is an olde world charming hotel and we enjoyed our stay there. The rooms are lovely and the service excellent. We will be back there when next in Melbourne and wanting to stay at the eastern end of the City.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Howard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Howard T,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Windsor.

It is simply fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be returning when next in Melbourne.

The pleasure was of course all ours and we look forward to the pleasure of your company once more.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Absolutely lovely couldn't recommend it highly enough. Close proximity to the city tourist sights and eateries, it was soooo wonderful to finely stay somewhere that is better value for money than what you pay. When I am next in Melbourne I will definately be staying at the Windsor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leeann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Leeann M,

Thank you so much for your kind words following your recent stay with us at The Windsor.

The pleasure was of course all ours and we look forward to welcoming you back when next in Melbourne.

Until next time we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had a 2 nighter here, per a Discount Voucher setup. Upgraded to a suite for extra, which was very pleasant. From the Doorman, to Check In staff, it was a very much a well run show.
Obviously, The Hotel in its heyday was the place to be, but, in spots it is now showing its age. The passages were a tad drab, and whilst the room was spotlessly clean, it was ageing...gracefully in spot...others not so. Showers via the bath don't excite us much. The windows didn't open and the room we had facing Parliament House was surprisingly hot from morning sun...and couldn't get the aircon cool enough to be comfortable over night. Bed was great, choices of pillows. Access to the City Circle tram was perfect...railway stations, shopping and Theatres was perfect. Would come back again...but wasn't overwhelmed.

Room Tip: Ask the staff to unlock windows, if you like some fresh air in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Gary D,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us following your recent stay.

I would like to thank you for your comments relating to the service your received during your stay which is simply fantastic to hear however I must also thank you for your honest feedback relating to the aging condition of some some parts of the hotel.

A planned refurbishment in the coming year will see our hotel rejuvenated, however until then we aim to offer the highest levels of service and cleanliness, which from your kind words we are clearly achieving.

Once again thank you and we look forward to the pleasure of your company when next in Melbourne.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It's nice to have a place which shows character in the midst of lots of business options. The character extends to personality and quality of the service, and not just the building. It's my preferred hotel in Melbourne.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Stuart P,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

It was of course our pleasure to welcome you as our guest and we look forward to your company when next in Melbourne.

Until next time we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Was sceptical at first glance because I prefer more modern accommodation, but I was beyond pleased with The Hotel Windsor. The location was convenient and everyone went out of their way to help and provide directions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ange M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick M, Rooms Division Manager at The Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Ange M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleasantly surprised once staying with us. We are an historic hotel, quite different to most new modern hotels so it is a great thing to hear that we were able to "convert" you.

Until next time we do as always remain at your service.

With our kindest regards,
Nick

Nick McLennan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 162 in Melbourne
5,693 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 162 in Melbourne
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,772 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Windsor

Address: 111 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#21 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £117 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Windsor is Australia’s most loved and recognised grand hotel. Built in 1883 during the Victorian era and pre-dating other notable hotels such as The Savoy, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz Paris and The Plaza Hotel, it set a benchmark for style, elegance, sophistication and charm which remains ever present today. The hotel is located in Melbourne’s most central and fashionable district. Its location is in close proximity to the corporate, financial and designer heart of Melbourne. Many of the city’s best theatres, landmark attractions and sporting venues are within a comfortable walking distance. The hotel is located 20km from Melbourne’s Domestic and International Airport, with a traveling time of between 20-45 minutes. Parliament train station and tram stops including the City Circle route are located at the hotel’s doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing